Athletics Subject Guide
- Article Databases
- Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Catalogs & Dissertations
- Professional Organizations
Online Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
These resources will provide you with background information and definitionsEncyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks
These resources will provide background and definitions to topics, aspects and terms in the area of athletics and physiology
Encyclopedia of British Sport.
Richard Cox, Grant Jarvie, Wray Vamplew, editors. 2000.
Location: REF GV605 .E53 2000
A comprehensive overview of British sports, past and present within a broad social, economic and political context. A history of each sport is given and how it is played along with the scoring and rules. Includes bibliography for further reading along with references and websites
A to Z of American Women in Sports.
Paula Edelson. 2002.
Location: REF GV697.A1E28 2002
The very best athletes in a given sport, including world record holers and Olympic champions are include in this work along with trailblazers and women of diverse race and and time periods. Includes bibliography for further reading
Encyclopedia of Twentieth Century Athletes.
Mike McGovern. 2001.
Location: REF GV697.A1M355 2001
The best professional athletics who rank in their individual sport Hall of Fame. Entries are brief, citing birth and death dates along with overview of their career
Encyclopedia of Sports Science.
John Zumerchik, editor. 1997.
Location: REF GV558.E53 1997
Each entry of each sport includes historical information and basic science concepts as measured by laws of physics and capabilities of the human anatomy. A description of equipment particular to a sport is included
Fundamentals of Sports Injury Management.
Marcia K. Anderson. 2003.
Location: REF RD97.A527 2003
Mechanisms of injury, legal responsibility for treatment, types of injury to various body sections and symptoms, three phases of healing along with wound care are treated in this work. Illustrations of the injuried anatomy enhance description of how injuries occur
Bull's Handbook of Sports Injuries.
R. Charles Bull, editor. 2004.
Location: REF RD97.H36 2004
On Order. Covers the relevant anatomy, diagnostic considerations, management, complications and prevention of the most common sports injuries in a variety of sports. Organization focuses on the sport, then moves to area of injury, and then on to rehabilitation, bracing, conditioning and physiotherapy. Simple line drawings and images highlight the coverage. As a special feature, in each sport and anatomical area, a brief list of operations and their potential benefit with risks and alternatives aids the primary care provider in deciding whether or not to refer to a specialist
Team Physican's Handbook.
Morris B. Mellion, editor. 2002.
Location: REF RC1211 .T43 2002
Medical supervision of the athlete, including special populations, conditioning and consideration of the physical environment in which sports are played are covered. Behavioral and psychological problems associated with sports, general medical problems, injury prevention, diagnosis and treatment is included along with typical injuries occurring to particular sports, and their prevention and treatment
The above are only examples of the types of reference resources that are available. For additional titles search catalogusmai or see: New Resources
top of pageAll Online Athletics Resources

