Subject Guides - Athletics
Use catalogusmai
Find Electronic Journals:Use Research Port
Off Campus Access: Borrow From Other Libraries: Contact YOUR Librarian:Online Catalogs
These resources will provide access to book titles held in libraries throughout the United States
WorldCat Records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.
Dissertations
These resources will provide access to dissertations from 1861 to present,including those submitted at UMBC
Dissertation Abstracts (Proquest Digital Dissertations) Indexes U.S., Canadian, British, and other European dissertations and theses; dissertations abstracted since 1980, theses abstracted since 1988. Full Dissertations published since 1997 (1991 from UMBC) are available in PDF digital format.
UMBC Dissertations & Theses Find Masters' degree theses and PhD dissertations submitted by UMBC doctoral candidates.
top of page
Indexes and Abstracts
These resources will provide access to scholarly journal and popular magazine articles, some of which will be full-text
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) 
Provides full-text for over 3,400 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education, sciences, and more. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
MasterFILE Premier (Ebsco) Indexes 3,100+ magazines covering general subjects. Includes full-text for over 1,000 journals.
SPORT Discus (Ebsco) 
From the Sport Information Resource Centre. Indexes sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, active living, recreation, history, facilities and equipment.
top of page
Online Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
These resources will provide you with background information and definitions
Credo Reference (formerly Xrefer plus) It includes 100 general reference titles, covering the spectrum from arts, business, biography, geography, history, language & linguistics, social sciences, science and technology, law, literature. Now includes Britannica and other encyclopedias.
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks
These resources will provide background and definitions to topics, aspects and terms in the area of athletics and physiology
Richard Cox, Grant Jarvie, Wray Vamplew, editors. Encyclopedia of British Sport, 2000.[REF GV605 .E53 2000]
A comprehensive overview of British sports, past and present within a broad social, economic and political context. A history of each sport is given and how it is played along with the scoring and rules. Includes bibliography for further reading along with references and websites.
Paula Edelson. A to Z of American Women in Sports, 2002.[REF GV697.A1E28 2002]
The very best athletes in a given sport, including world record holers and Olympic champions are include in this work along with trailblazers and women of diverse race and and time periods. Includes bibliography for further reading.
Mike McGovern. Encyclopedia of Twentieth Century Athletes, 2001.[REF GV697.A1M355 2001]
The best professional athletics who rank in their individual sport Hall of Fame. Entries are brief, citing birth and death dates along with overview of their career.
John Zumerchik, editor. Encyclopedia of Sports Science, 1997.[REF GV558.E53 1997]
Each entry of each sport includes historical information and basic science concepts as measured by laws of physics and capabilities of the human anatomy. A description of equipment particular to a sport is included.
Marcia K. Anderson. Fundamentals of Sports Injury Management, 2003.[REF RD97.A527 2003]
Mechanisms of injury, legal responsibility for treatment, types of injury to various body sections and symptoms, three phases of healing along with wound care are treated in this work. Illustrations of the injuried anatomy enhance description of how injuries occur.
R. Charles Bull, editor. Bull's Handbook of Sports Injuries, 2004.[REF RD97.H36 2004]
On Order. Covers the relevant anatomy, diagnostic considerations, management, complications and prevention of the most common sports injuries in a variety of sports. Organization focuses on the sport, then moves to area of injury, and then on to rehabilitation, bracing, conditioning and physiotherapy. Simple line drawings and images highlight the coverage. As a special feature, in each sport and anatomical area, a brief list of operations and their potential benefit with risks and alternatives aids the primary care provider in deciding whether or not to refer to a specialist.
Morris B. Mellion, editor. Team Physican's Handbook, 2002.[REF RC1211 .T43 2002]
Medical supervision of the athlete, including special populations, conditioning and consideration of the physical environment in which sports are played are covered. Behavioral and psychological problems associated with sports, general medical problems, injury prevention, diagnosis and treatment is included along with typical injuries occurring to particular sports, and their prevention and treatment.
The above are only examples of the types of reference resources that are available. For additional titles search catalogusmai or see: New Resources
top of pageAlmanacs
top of page
Professional Organizations
These organizations may help you in whatever you're doing.- America East Conference (UMBC's Conference as of 2003)
- Collegiate Athletic Conference
- Cyberspace Healthclinic.co.uk
- NCAA Online
- United States College Athletic Association
- University of Iowa Health Care: Health Information Topics for Sports Medicine
top of page
