Art/Visual Art Subject Guide
- Article Databases
- Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Catalogs & Dissertations
- Museums
Off-campus access: UMBC Students, Faculty, & Staff only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Eric Jeitner
email: ejeitner@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-2964
Course Guides
Article Databases
Art Abstracts (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Art Abstracts provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts for more than 450 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Indexing spans from 1984 to the present.
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more.
ArticleFirst (OCLC)
Coverage: Index Only
A multidisciplinary index of articles published 1990-, from the contents pages of over 16000 journals. Results show full citation and holding libraries (no abstracts).
JSTOR
Coverage: Full Text
Electronic archive of selected core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of all titles indexed from Volume 1 to most current available (embargo periods apply). UMBC subscribes to Arts & Science I, II, III; General Science; Ecology & Botany.
Web of Knowledge
Coverage: Index Only
Multidisciplinary database covering the Arts & Humanities, Sciences, and Social Sciences. Indexes over 8,000 high impact research journals, many of them peer-reviewed, and provides access to cited and citing references. Additional searchable resources on the Web of Knowledge homepage through the "Additional Resources" tab.
EndNote Web citation management software also available through Web of Knowledge
Music & Performing Arts Online
Coverage: Full Text
Indexes, abstracts and provides full text from the International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) and the International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA), covering music, theatre, dance, television, film, and other performing arts.
All Online Art/Visual Art Resources

