Subject Guides - Art/Visual Art
Use catalogusmai
Find Electronic Journals:Use Research Port
Off Campus Access: Borrow From Other Libraries: Contact YOUR Librarian:Catalogs
These resources will provide access to book titles held at libraries throughout the United States
WorldCat Records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.
Indexes and Abstracts
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) 
Provides full-text for over 3,400 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education, sciences, and more. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
Art Abstracts (Ebsco) 
Indexes and abstracts international English-language arts publications covering advertising, archaeology, crafts, folk art, graphic arts, design, video, film, architecture and art history.
ArticleFirst Indexes journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
Dissertations
These resources will provide access to dissertations from 1861 to present,including those submitted at UMBC
Dissertation Abstracts (Proquest Digital Dissertations) Indexes U.S., Canadian, British, and other European dissertations and theses; dissertations abstracted since 1980, theses abstracted since 1988. Full Dissertations published since 1997 (1991 from UMBC) are available in PDF digital format.
UMBC Dissertations & Theses Find Masters' degree theses and PhD dissertations submitted by UMBC doctoral candidates.
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks
The following will provide background information, biographies, and definitions of terms and techniques. This is only a representative listing of titles held by the Library.- Dictionary of Art
- A 34-volume encyclopedic dictionary providing comprehensive coverage of the visual arts, including architecture, photography, decorative arts, painting, sculpture, performance art, and multimedia installations. The 45,000 entries vary in length from a few paragraphs to hundreds of pages and are supplemented by bibliographies of related works.
REF N31.D5 1996, v.1-34- The World's Master Paintings
- A comprehensive listing of works by 1300 painters from the early Renaissance to the present day and a complete guide to their locations worldwide. Also includes brief biographies of and bibliographies to works about the artists.
REF ND40.W75 1992, v.1-2- Oxford Companion to Art
- A non-specialist introduction to the fine arts; information given in articles provides an overview of an artist's work and includes a guide to further study.
REF N33.O9
- Praeger Encyclopedia of Art
- Contains nearly 4000 articles about artists and artistic styles, movements, and schools. Articles conclude with brief bibliographies on the entry topic.
REF N33.P68, v.1-4
- International Dictionary of Art and Artists: Artists
- Records for each artist the essential facts of his or her career, important public and private collections of works, a bibliography, and a critical essay about the artist.
REF N7425.I67 1990 v.1
- International Dictionary of Art and Artists: Art
- Discusses more than 500 individual works of art, arranged in approximate chronological order.
REF N7425.I67 1990 v.2- The Yale Dictionary of Art and Artists
- This work deals with aspects of western art from 1300 to present. It provides in information on movements, schools, terminology, technical processing. Entries vary by length as warranted by merit.
REF N33.L353 2000- Artcyclopedia. A search engine for art images to access thousands of artworks from museum sites, image archives and other online resources. Specializes in painting and sculpture; other types of media (e.g., photography, architecture) are also available.
- ArtLex Dictionary of Art. Over 2600 visual arts terms, illustrated and heavily cross-referenced.
- New Resources
- A 34-volume encyclopedic dictionary providing comprehensive coverage of the visual arts, including architecture, photography, decorative arts, painting, sculpture, performance art, and multimedia installations. The 45,000 entries vary in length from a few paragraphs to hundreds of pages and are supplemented by bibliographies of related works.
Museums
These organizations may help you in whatever you're doing. They are only a sampling of type of sources available on the web.- Baltimore Museum of Art
- Guggenheim Museum, New York, Balboa, Venice, Berlin, Las Vegas
Search the collection or view the directory sorted by artist, title of work, date movement, medium or concept. See Collection Online
- Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York
- National Gallery of Art, Washington
- National Museum of American Art, Washington
- State Hermitage Museum, St. Petersburg, Russia
- Tate Gallery, London
- Visionary Art Museum, Baltimore
Definition of visionary art and how it differs from folk art. Events, exhibitions and
- Walter Art Museum
The Walters Art Museum is internationally renowned for its collection, which presents an overview of world art from pre-dynastic Egypt to 20th-century Europe. Located at 660 N. Charles St. in Baltimore
