Ancient Studies Subject Guide
- Article Databases
- Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Catalogs & Dissertations
- Atlases & Maps
- Websites
* UMBC Affiliates only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Drew Alfgren
email: alfgren@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-3608
Major Databases
These resources will provide access to scholarly journal articles, some of which will be full-text.
ABZU: A Guide to information related to the study of the Ancient Near East on the web. Coverage: 1994-
Abzu is a guide to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world. It includes full text articles, reviews of books, websites, more.
AWOL: The Ancient World Online The primary focus of the blog will be notice and comment on open access material relating to the ancient world, but I will also include other kinds of networked information as it comes available.
Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women & Gender in the Ancient World This site focuses on the study of women and gender in the ancient world, and includes bibliography, images and biblical studies.
Perseus Online Coverage: current
A digital library of resources for studying the ancient world. The library's materials include ancient texts and translations, philological tools, maps, extensively illustrated art catalogs, and images.
TOCS-IN (Table of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists) Coverage: varies
This site provides the table of contents from a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals. It searches both the University of Toronto and the French Language site Louvain.
Website Attica Website Attica complements and enhances the published volumes of Persons of Ancient Athens. [REF DF 16.P47 1994] The addenda et corrigenda to the published volumes are updated at this site. Searches may be made:see the website for details.
Related Databases
These resources will provide access to scholarly journal articles in related fields, some of which will be full-text.
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) 
Coverage: varies
Provides full-text for over 3,400 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education, sciences, and more. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
ArticleFirst Coverage: 1990 - present
Indexes journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
Humanities International Complete (Ebsco) 
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other reference sources in the humanities. The database contains bibliographic records from a multitude of U.S. and international journals, books and reference works.
JSTOR Coverage: varies
Electronic archive of selected core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years. UMBC subscribes to Arts & Science I, II, III, General Science, Ecology & Botany.
Project Muse Coverage: varies
Searchable full-text of select journals in the humanities and social sciences. UMBC subscribes to its Basic Undergraduate Collection.
top of page
All Online Ancient Studies Resources
