Ancient Studies Subject Guide
- Article & Text Databases
- Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Catalogs & Dissertations
- Atlases & Maps
- Websites
Off-campus access: UMBC Students, Faculty, & Staff only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Drew Alfgren
email: alfgren@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-3608
Article Databases - Ancient Studies
These resources will provide access to scholarly journal articles with a focus on the ancient world, some of which will be full-text.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Coverage: Index Only
Current subscription to bibliographies for: Atlantic History, Classics, Social Work. Bibliographies can be searched individually or collectively. Topic entries include an overview plus resources with OCLC links for locating. No abstracts for individual resources.
Anthrosource (Blackwell)
Coverage: Full Text
AnthroSource offers full-text results from a searchable database containing past, present and future AAA publications, including more than 250,000 articles from AAA journals, newsletters, bulletins and monographs
Anthropology Plus (OCLC)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Anthropology Plus Provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies. Coverage from early 19th century.
Perseus Online
Coverage: Full Text
A digital library of resources for studying the ancient world. The library's materials include ancient texts and translations, philological tools, maps, extensively illustrated art catalogs, and images.
Gnomon Bibliographic Database
Coverage: Index Only
The Gnomon Bibliographic Database covers almost half a million publications in the fields of Ancient History, Archaeology and Philology, including a thesaurus and search engine. Included are monthly updates of citations to reviews, monograph studies,anthologies, and articles in periodicals.
Nestor: bibliogrpahy of the Aegean and related areas
Coverage: Index Only
Nestor is an international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields concerning the Aegean: all of Greece, Albania, and Cyprus, the southern area of Bulgaria, and the western and southern areas of Turkey. The database searches issues 1959-2010, later issues may be searched individually.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (abridged)
Coverage: Full Text
The abridged version of the Online TLGŪ provides free access to a number of representative works from authors such as Homer, Hesiod, Plato, Aristotle, the Greek tragedians and orators. You may browse and search the materials of this site but you may not download them.
TOCS-IN (Table of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists)
Coverage: Index Only
TOCS-IN provides table of contents from a selection of journals in the Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals. Searching is available in English or French, results are citations only.
Website Attica
Website Attica complements and enhances the published volumes of Persons of Ancient Athens. [REF DF 16.P47 1994] The addenda et corrigenda to the published volumes are updated at this site. Searches may be made:see the website for details.
Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women & Gender in the Ancient World
This site focuses on the study of women and gender in the ancient world, and includes bibliography, images and biblical studies.
Bibliography of the History of Art
Coverage: Index Only
The Getty Research Institute offers access to both RILA (1975-1989) and BHA (covering 1990-2007) including citations to books, articles, proceedings, catalogs, reviews, and dealers' catalogs about European and American visual arts from late antiquity to present. [Not linked to Find It. Use the catalog or A-to-Z to check holdings.]
AWOL: The Ancient World Online
The primary focus of the blog will be notice and comment on open access material relating to the ancient world, but I will also include other kinds of networked information as it comes available.
Article Databases - Multidisciplinary
These resources will provide access to scholarly journal articles in a variety of areas, some of which will be full-text.
Humanities International Complete (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database providing full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. The database includes more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records with full text for more than 1,200 journals.
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more.
Perseus Online
Coverage: Full Text
A digital library of resources for studying the ancient world. The library's materials include ancient texts and translations, philological tools, maps, extensively illustrated art catalogs, and images.
JSTOR
Coverage: Full Text
Electronic archive of selected core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of all titles indexed from Volume 1 to most current available (embargo periods apply). UMBC subscribes to Arts & Science I, II, III; General Science; Ecology & Botany.
Project Muse
Searchable full-text of select journals in the humanities and social sciences. UMBC subscribes to its Basic Undergraduate Collection.
Access Free Sample Books on Project MUSE Beta Site
Web of Knowledge
Coverage: Index Only
Multidisciplinary database covering the Arts & Humanities, Sciences, and Social Sciences. Indexes over 8,000 high impact research journals, many of them peer-reviewed, and provides access to cited and citing references. Additional searchable resources on the Web of Knowledge homepage through the "Additional Resources" tab.
EndNote Web citation management software also available through Web of Knowledge
Classical Texts
Provides access to the full text of classical works.
Classical Latin Texts
Coverage: Full Text
Also known as PHI Latin, this database contains virtually all classical Latin literary texts up to A.D.200.
top of page
All Online Ancient Studies Resources

