Subject Guides - Ancient Studies
Use catalogusmai
Find Electronic Journals:Use Research Port
Off Campus Access: Borrow From Other Libraries: Contact YOUR Librarian:Online Catalogs
These Resources will provide access to book titles held in libraries throughout the United States
WorldCat Records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.
Dissertations
These resources will provide access to dissertations from 1861 to present,including those submitted at UMBC
Dissertation Abstracts (Proquest Digital Dissertations) Indexes U.S., Canadian, British, and other European dissertations and theses; dissertations abstracted since 1980, theses abstracted since 1988. Full Dissertations published since 1997 (1991 from UMBC) are available in PDF digital format.
UMBC Dissertations & Theses Find Masters' degree theses and PhD dissertations submitted by UMBC doctoral candidates.
top of page
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
This is only a representative listing of sources and will give background and general information on topics and aspects of ancient studies. Additional sources may be found by using catalogusmai or see: New Resources
Charles Russell Coulter and Patricia Turner. Encyclopedia of Ancient Deities, 2000.[REF BL473 .C67 2000]
All of the known ancient gods, obscure or known only from mythological literature, are included. Included are their origins, histories, and functions. People who believed in each deity are identified, along with alternate names or spellings both old and modern. Described are the functions, origins and physical nature of the deities. Entries include other deities, often in other societies or cultures, that are similar. Cross references are provided for alternate spellings and names.
Oxford Dictionary of Classical Myth and Religion. 2004, REF BL715.O94 2004.[Simon Price and Emily Kearns, editors]
Included in this work is Greek and Roman mythology along with religion of of the Graeco-Roman period including Judiasm and Christianity. Work contains maps, thematic index and genealogical tables. Short essays comprise the entries.
Der Neue Pauly: Enzyklopadie der Antike (German). 1996, REF DE5.N48 1996 Vol 1-20.[Hubert Cancik and Helmut Schneider, editors]
Covering all branches of classical studies, from history, philology and archaeology to sciences, oriental studies and linguistics. Foreign-language articles have been translated into German. Illustrations, plates line drawings and stemmata. Articles have bibliographical notes. Persons from the Bible, the orient, late antiquity and Arabia are included. Oriental kings are mentioned as well. The Classical authors are supplemented. Linguistic terms are treated. Ancient cities, including some smaller ones are mentioned. Geography and archeology are connected through topography. Famous art has its own entry. Anonymous artists are mentioned. All articles on gods and mythological characters are supplemented with iconographic information. Included is a treatment of ancient religion. Articles mostly deal with oriental gods and festivals. See 2002 English edition for equivalent through held volumes.
Brill's New Pauly of the Ancient World 20 volumes. English edition. 2002, REF DE5.N4813 2002 Vol 1-9. Additional volumes on order.[Hubert Cancik and Helmut Schneider, editors]
The Oxford Classical Dictionary. 2003, REF DE5.O9 2003.[Simon Hornblower and Anthony Spawforth, editors]
An authorative one-volume guide to all aspects of the ancient world. Includes bibliographies.
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites. REF DE59 P7, 1976.[Richard Stillwell, et alia]
This work shows remains from the Classical period. Time frame is from the 8th century B.c. to sixth century of the Christian era though fourth and fifth centuries are not shown. Geographical area covered is from the expansion of Classical culture to the west to eastern shore of the Aegean.
New Topographical Dictionary of Ancient Rome. REF DG68.R5 1992, 1992.[L. Richardson Jr.]
Topographical illustrations of buildings and locations in Rome, along with notation of where they were cited in literature and their use.
Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece. DF16.E52 2006, 2006.[Nigel Wilson, editor]
Provides a guide to themes of politics, cultural, social life of the Greeks. Articles explain regions, ethnic groups, and religious history, while including the lives of politicians, scholars, poets, philosophers, historians and artists. Coverage is from antiquity to the founding of Constaniople. Articles are cross-referenced.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt. 2001, REF DT58 .O94 2001.[Donald B. Redford, editor in chief]
More than 600 original articles covering archaelology, history, religion, language, literature and social life. Includes social, political, religious, cultural and artistic legacy of Egyptian civilization. Themes and issues such as new theories of the origins of complex society in the Nile Valley, new findings from the Nile Delta, new discoveries about Greco-Roman Egypt, and new developments in literature, religion, linguistics and other fields, are included. The debates about Egypt's African legacy are also included.
Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World. 2001, REF HQ1127.S25 2001.[Joyce E. Salisbury]
Includes biographies with general themes on the lives of women in ancient world cultures as well as cross cultural perspective. Also includes mythological or lengendary women and goddesses. Includes bibliography.
NTC's Dictionary of Latin and Greek Órigins. 1997, REF PE1582.L3 M66 1997.[Bob Moore and Maxine Moore]
This collection of Latin and Greek roots presents English words with example sentences along with an index which details the origins of a particular English word.
top of page
Online Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Credo Reference (formerly Xrefer plus) It includes 100 general reference titles, covering the spectrum from arts, business, biography, geography, history, language & linguistics, social sciences, science and technology, law, literature. Now includes Britannica and other encyclopedias.
Encyclopedia Mythica Over 4500 mythical figures from all religions.
Liddell-Scott-Jones Lexicon of Classical Greek Dictionary of ancient Greek. Includes terms from classics and mythology.
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL) TLL attempts to comprehend the entire Latin language, including both literary texts and documentary evidence (inscriptions, etc.). TLL is the authoritative starting point for all research involving Latin.
top of page
Handbooks and Atlases
Handbook to Life in Ancient Greece. REF DF77.A35 2005, 2005.[Lesley Adkins and Roy Adkins]
Contains brief history detailing population, government, law along with sections on rulers and leaders, military affirs, geography of the world at that time, economy, trade and transport, towns and countryside, written evidence of the culture, religion and mythology, art, science and philosophy and aspects of everyday life.
Handbook to Life in Ancient Rome. REF DG75.A35 2004, 2004.[Lesley Adkins]
This work contains an overview of the Republic and Empire including dates of events, prominent people, social structure, government, taxes and finance laws, as well as sections on military affairs, geography of the empire, towns and countrysides, travel and trade, written evidence, religion economy and industry and everyday life.
Handbook to Life in Ancient Egypt. REF DT83.D23 2003, 2003.[Rosalie, David A.]
Contains maps of Ancient Lower, Middle Upper Egypt, Nubia and the Sudan, Thebes, The Plateau and the Near East, and illustrations of artifacts. Commentary on historical background, geography, society and government, religion, funerary beliefs and customs, architecture and building, written evidence, army and navy, foreign trade and transport, economy and industry, and everyday life.
Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman world. ATLAS G1033.B3 2000, 2000.[Richard J.A. Talbert, in collaboration with Roger S. Bagnall [et al., editors]
This atlas includes overview maps of the Mediterrean, Hibernia-Scadinavia, Asia Occidentalis, Arabia-Azania, India, and Asia-Orientalis. Also includes Europea Septentrionalis, Hispania-Libya, Italia, Graecia-Asia Minor, Syria Meroe, Ponts Euxinus-Persicus Sinus-Bactria, and Provinces of the Roman Empire. A gazetteer is at the end of this important work.
top of page
Online Atlases and Maps
- Perseus Online
Contains digital library of resources for studying the ancient world. The library's materials include maps. Made possible by the Taliaferro endowment.
- Perry-Cassaneda Library.
Maps of regions around the world, including historical maps. Maps can be displayed on the screen, printed, and saved to disk. Link to 'Historical Maps or 'Maps of Other Web Sites'
top of page
Indexes and Abstracts
These resources will provide access to scholarly journal articles, some of which will be full-text.
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) 
Provides full-text for over 3,400 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education, sciences, and more. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
ArticleFirst Indexes journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
Humanities International Complete (Ebsco) 
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other reference sources in the humanities. The database contains bibliographic records from a multitude of U.S. and international journals, books and reference works.
JSTOR Electronic archive of selected core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years. UMBC subscribes to Arts & Science I, II, III, General Science, Ecology & Botany.
Perseus Online A digital library of resources for studying the ancient world. The library's materials include ancient texts and translations, philological tools, maps, extensively illustrated art catalogs, and images. Made possible by the Taliaferro endowment.
Project Muse Searchable full-text of select journals in the humanities and social sciences. UMBC subscribes to its Basic Undergraduate Collection.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) TLG is an electronic data bank of ancient Greek literature from Homer (8th century B.C.) to 600 A.D. with historiographical, lexicographical and scholiastic texts from between 600 and 1453 A.D.
TOCS-IN (Table of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists) This site provides the table of contents from a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals. It searches both the University of Toronto and the French Language site Louvain.
Web of Science The Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers approximately 8,700 high impact research journals and provides access to cited and citing references. Additional searchable resources on the Web of Knowledge homepage (select from dropdown menu).
Website Attica Website Attica complements and enhances the published volumes of Persons of Ancient Athens. [REF DF 16.P47 1994] The addenda et corrigenda to the published volumes are updated at this site. Searches may be made:see the website for details.
top of page
Bibliographies.
These resources will identify articles in scholarly sources and book titles- See also the title L'Année Philologique shelved at:
- REF PA51.A55
Websites of Note
These sites may help you in your research- Ancient Greece
From Washington State University. Includes all aspects of Greek life: art, architecture, drama history, language, literature, music, philosophy, religion, science. Bibliographies are also included
- Athena Review
A listing of primary information across time, cultures and countries
- Center for Ancient Studies
University of Pennsylvania
- Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women & Gender in the Ancient World
The searchable bibliography includes links to full-text copies of articles in the JSTOR archive as available. UMBC is an institution listed among the American and international subscribers. The 'What's New' page includes a section for relevant websites spotted elsewhere on the web
- Egyptological Societies and Institutes
From Geocites.
- Galaxy site for Ancient History
Subjects and countries are varied in coverage
- Resources for Greek Art and Archeology
University of Pennsylvania listing of Atlases and Geography, Related Museum Collections, Associations and Centers
- Web Resources for Classical and Ancient Studies
- Websites from the UMBC Ancient Studies Homepage
Includes Ancient Languages, Ancient Literature, Archaeology, Art and Architecture, History and Culture, Modern Languages
Mythology Sites
- Aesop's Fables
Full-text online.
- Bulfinch's Mythology
Full-text online.
- Classical Myth: Ancient Sources
Included are Olympian gods, timeline of Greek history and literature and a limited full-text bibliography of the works by Hesiod, Homer, Aeschylsu,Euripides, Sophocles, as applicable for course work at University of Victoria, B.C.
- Encyclopedia Mythica
Encyclopedia of mythology, folklore and legend.
- GodChecker
Genealogical listing of gods in mythology in all cultures.
- Greek Mythology Link
The Greek Mythology Link is a collection of the Greek myths written on line by Carlos Parada, author of the book 'Genealogical Guide to Greek Mythology'.
- MythNet
Access to Olympians gods, great heroes, and genealogical charts.
- MythWeb
'Dedicated to heroes, gods and monsters of Greek mythology'.
- Oxford Classical Mythology Online
Companion to Morford and Lenardon's 'Mythology'. Included are online maps.
- Mythology in Western Art
Mythological iconography throughout the history of art. 'Mythmedia' was prepared in the Library of The University of Haifa and the Department of Art History.
