Asian Studies Subject Guide
- Article Databases
- Reference Books
- Newspapers
- Internet Resources
- Professional Organizations
Off-campus access: UMBC Students, Faculty, & Staff only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Shu Qian
email: qian@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-1783
Course Guides
Alert
General Reference & Interdisciplinary Databases
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more.
Historical Abstracts (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Historical Abstracts indexes journals covering world history from 1450 to the present (for the United States and Canada use America: History & Life). Currently over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered.
WorldCat (OCLC)
Coverage: Index Only
Worldcat holds the records of all materials cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Search for specific titles or authors or do general searches by subject or keyword. Results display formats, holding institutions, and links to full text if available.
JSTOR
Coverage: Full Text
Electronic archive of selected core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of all titles indexed from Volume 1 to most current available (embargo periods apply). UMBC subscribes to Arts & Science I, II, III; General Science; Ecology & Botany.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Coverage: 1975-current
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations and public administration / policy.
Foreign Relations of the United States
The Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. Published by the Department of State. Select volumes.
Humanities International Complete (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database providing full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. The database includes more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records with full text for more than 1,200 journals.
Web of Knowledge
Coverage: Index Only
Multidisciplinary database covering the Arts & Humanities, Sciences, and Social Sciences. Indexes over 8,000 high impact research journals, many of them peer-reviewed, and provides access to cited and citing references. Additional searchable resources on the Web of Knowledge homepage through the "Additional Resources" tab.
EndNote Web citation management software also available through Web of Knowledge
Dissertations & Theses
ProQuest Digital Dissertations
Coverage: Some Full Text
Indexes and abstracts dissertations and theses primarily from the U.S and Canada, some international; dissertations abstracted since 1980, theses abstracted since 1988. Full text available for dissertations published since 1997 (1991 from UMBC) are available as PDFs. (Online version of Dissertation Abstracts from UMI)
Hong Kong LIS Dissertations and Theses Collections (DTC)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Dissertations and Theses Collections (DTC) is an online union collection of Hong Kong postgraduate students’ doctoral and master dissertations and theses indexed in the online catalogs of seven university libraries in Hong Kong. Includes some online full text.
National Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations in Taiwan
Coverage: Index Only
The national digital library in Taiwan provides open access to the index of thesis and dissertations published by universities in Taiwan.
Mahatma Gandhi University Online Theses Library
Coverage: Full Text
This Online Digital Theses library created by the Mahatama Gandhi University (Kerala, India) provides access to more than 1,000 Ph.D theses in English, Hindi, Malayalam and Sanskrit.
Digital Collections
The Vietnam Center and Archive, Texas Tech University [Virtual Vietnam Archive]
The mission of the Vietnam Project at Texas Tech University is to support research & education regarding all aspects of the history of the American Vietnam experience. Materials include full text documents, maps, oral histories, diaries, videos, other.
China Academic Journals (CAJ) at EastView
Coverage: Index Only
Provide access to China academic journals in various humanities and social science areas. Some journals have early issues back to 1915. English citations are searchable as well. A list of core journals from CAJ can be viewed at https://webfiles.uci.edu/yingz/Serial_core_chinese_CAJ?uniq=-cxtntl. And a tutorial for using the database can be found at http://www.lib.uci.edu/services/tutorials/CAJ/CAJ.htm
The Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services (TEPS)
Coverage: Index Only
It contains more than 650 Taiwan periodicals or serials of different subjects from 1991 to current, depending on the titles. The alternative titles in English also are searchable.
Hong Kong Journals Online
Coverage: Index Only
It is a database covering selected academic and professional journals (see http://sunzi1.lib.hku.hk/hkjo/browse.jsp for the list), both in English and Chinese. It is provided by the University of Hong Kong Libraries.
CiNii Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator
Coverage: Some Full Text
Provide access to bibliographic and some full-text (free or fee-based) information of papers, theses, books, and magazines, as well as other specialized academic information. Some contents are in English. Instruction for using the database can be found at http://www.fas.harvard.edu/~ncc/eresources/guides/cinii.pdf
JAIRO (Japanese Institutional Repositories Online)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Developed at the National Institute of Informatics, JAIRO provides partial free full text access to millions of academic resources, including journal/conference articles, theses and dissertations, research reports, books, from hundreds of research institutions in Japan.
Aozora Bunko
Coverage: Full Text
This site provides text files of thousands of out of copyright Japanese novels. Some files include rubi pronunciation guides.
Digital Library from the Meiji Era
Coverage: Full Text
This database from the National Diet Library of Japan provides full-text access to works from the Meiji (1868-1912) and Taisho (1912-1926) periods. Generally, only the bibliographic information and table of contents are searchable.
Digital South Asia Library
Coverage: Some Full Text
It provides digital materials for reference and research on South Asia to scholars, public officials, business leaders, and other users.
Digital Library of India
Coverage: Full Text
This site is dedicated to digitizing and making freely available "one million books, predominantly in Indian languages, on science, arts, culture, music, movies, traditional medicine, palm leaves and many more." Books included are from 1850 to present and may be searched by time blocks, subject, language, author/title or keyword. As of 2008, over 25,000 titles are in English.
Vidyanidhi - Digital Library and E-Scholarship Portal
Coverage: Some Full Text
Vidyanidhi is "a portal of resources, tools and facilities for doctoral research in India". Vidyanidhi is envisioned to evolve as a national repository and a consortium for e-theses through participation and partnership with universities, academic institutions and other stake holders.
CrossAsia
Coverage: Index Only
The East and Southeast Asia Virtual Library - CrossAsia - offers access to research information in East and Southeast Asian studies, a portal to digital resources, online journals and databases.
Southeast Asia Digital Library
Coverage: Some Full Text
This collaborative project created free online access to digitized books, photographs, oral history, manuscripts and video footage from across Southeast Asia.
National Taiwan University press database
Coverage: Full Text
It provides free access to selective articles from their periodicals, covering literature, social science, arts and science etc..
top of page
All Online Asian Studies Resources

