Anthropology Subject Guide
- Article Databases
- Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Professional Organizations
- Websites
- Networking
- News
Off-campus access: UMBC Students, Faculty, & Staff only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Joanna Gadsby
email: gadsby@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-2358
Article Databases
Search tools for finding journal articles and other types of resources on your subject.
American Museum of Natural History Research Library
This collection includes full-text PDFs of current and back issues of AMNH scientific series in the areas of zoological systematics, paleontology, geology, evolution, and anthropology.
Anthropology Plus (OCLC)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Anthropology Plus Provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies. Coverage from early 19th century.
Anthrosource (Blackwell)
Coverage: Full Text
AnthroSource offers full-text results from a searchable database containing past, present and future AAA publications, including more than 250,000 articles from AAA journals, newsletters, bulletins and monographs
Archaeology Odyssey: The Archive
Coverage: 1998-2003
Full-text articles and photographs from Archaeology Odyssey magazine. Focus is on the history and archaeology of the ancient world from Spain to Persia.
Art Abstracts (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Art Abstracts provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts for more than 450 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Indexing spans from 1984 to the present.
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more.
Humanities International Complete (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database providing full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. The database includes more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records with full text for more than 1,200 journals.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (CSA)
Coverage: Index Only
LLBA indexes and abstracts articles on the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Also includes comprehensive coverage of descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association - Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
MLA International Bibliography offers detailed records of journal articles, books and dissertations dating back to the 1920's. The bibliography contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.
SocIndex with Full Text (EBSCO)
Coverage: Some Full Text
SocINDEX features sociology research with indexing for more than 2.1 million records. Full text is available for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908, full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
top of page
All Online Anthropology Resources

