Anthropology
Use catalogusmai
Find Electronic Journals:Use Research Port
Off Campus Access: Borrow From Other Libraries: Contact YOUR Librarian:Databases
Search tools for finding journal articles and other types of resources on your subject.
American Museum of Natural History Research Library This collection includes full-text PDFs of current and back issues of AMNH scientific series in the areas of zoological systematics, paleontology, geology, evolution, and anthropology.
Anthropology Plus An index of bibliographic materials in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture; and interdisciplinary studies. Covers all core periodicals in the field.
Anthrosource AnthroSource provides online access to the current issues of 15 of AAA's peer-reviewed publications also serves as an electronic archive, with more than 100 years of anthropological material online, for all of AAA's 33 journals, newsletters and bulletins.
Archaeology Odyssey: The Archive Full-text articles and photographs from Archaeology Odyssey magazine. Focus is on the history and archaeology of the ancient world from Spain to Persia.
Art Abstracts (Ebsco) 
Indexes and abstracts international English-language arts publications covering advertising, archaeology, crafts, folk art, graphic arts, design, video, film, architecture and art history.
Humanities International Complete (Ebsco) 
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other reference sources in the humanities. The database contains bibliographic records from a multitude of U.S. and international journals, books and reference works.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) 
Indexes/Abstracts articles on the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Also includes comprehensive coverage of descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association - Ebsco) 
Indexes 4,000+ journals in the areas of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, rhetoric, dramatic arts, printing and publishing.
SocIndex with Full Text (EBSCO) 
This sociology and social sciences index features more than 1,300,000 records including full text for 242 "core" journals dating back to 1895, 72 "priority" journals, 547 books and monographs, and 6,711 conference papers.
Websites
General and subject-specific websites related to anthropology.- Search across all of these sites:
Selective, established index of news, academic programs, topical pages, museums, and more.
Rich resource on anthropology from the Smithsonian Institution.
Nationwide consortium of university departments and programs with resources for career and training opportunities.
Website includes worldwide programs, teaching resources, a database of indigineous organizations, publications, and more.
Worldwide independent network of scholars in the human sciences, offering anthropological fieldwork and studies.
Extensive archaeology resource maintained by the Archaeological Research Institute at Arizona State University. Arranges web resources by topic and region.
A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Produced by the Human Relations Area Files, Inc. at Yale University.
Extensive index to web resources maintained by the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress.
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks, and Almanacs
These standard reference books provide extensive descriptions of key concepts in anthropology, statistics related to the field, and bibliographies of more resources.
Barfield, Thomas. The Dictionary of Anthropology, 2000.[Online]
Login required for off-campus access.
Barnard, Alan. Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology, 1998.[Online]
Login required for off-campus access.
Birx, James. Encyclopedia of Anthropology, 2006.[REF GN11 .E63]
Ember, Melvin. Countries and Their Cultures, 2001.[Online]
Login required for off-campus access.
Levinson, David. Ethnic Groups Worldwide: A Ready Reference Handbook , 1998.[REF GN325.L46] [Online]
Login required for off-campus access.
Peregrine, Peter. Encyclopedia of Prehistory, 2001.[REF GN 710.E53]
Rapport, Nigel. Social and Cultural Anthropology: The Key Concepts, 2000.[Online]
Login required for off-campus access.
Skutsch, Carl. Encyclopedia of the World's Minorities, 2005.[REF GN495.4.E63]
Wilbert, Johannes. Encyclopedia of World Cultures, 1994.[REF GN307.E53]
E-Books
Browse (and search) electronic books on a variety of anthropology topics.Associations
Associations provide extensive resources for professionals, including professional development opportunities and job resources, research resources and current events in the field.- American Anthropololgical Association
- American Folklore Society
- Archaeological Institute of America
- National Association of Student Anthropologists
- The Society of Applied Anthropology
- World Council of Anthropological Associations
Networking Resources
Make connections with others interested in the field of anthropology through discussion boards, listservs, and newsgroups.- NASA List
E-mail list for the National Association for Student Anthropologists.
- Society for Applied Anthropology Community Network
An interactive site for those interested in sharing information about their interests, research, expertise, and work.
Anthropology in the News
Read recent news articles pertaining to anthropolgical topics.- Anthropology in the News
RSS feed of anthropology news stories published on the Web. Maintained by the Anthropology Department at Texas A & M University.
- Archaeology in the News
RSS feed of archaeology news stories published on the Web. Maintained by the Archaeological Institute of America.
- Savage Minds: Notes and Queries in Anthropology
Collective web log devoted to both bringing anthropology to a wider audience as well as providing an online forum for discussing the latest developments in the field. Moderated by a group of anthropology professors and PhD students.
