Skip navigation

American Studies Subject Guide



Contact YOUR Librarian:

Drew Alfgren
email: alfgren@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-3608

Online Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

  • Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff Encyclopedia of American Studies

    Online, searchable, full text encyclopedia covering a variety of topics from a range of disciplines describing the cultures of the U.S. Incorporates comparative studies of Canada and Latin America and the global impact of American culture.

  • Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff Gale Virtual Reference Library [GVRL]

    Gale Virtual Reference Library offers online access to reference sources including encyclopedias, almanacs, series and more. UMBC titles cover biography, business, law, public health, economic history, and multicultural studies.


Encyclopedias, Handbooks, Indexes

The Reference Collection (first floor of the library) holds a variety of encyclopedias and handbooks on relevant topics. Use catalogusmai to find specific titles, or use the New Titles search in the UMBC catalog for a comprehensive list of additions to the collection.
Some recently acquired titles:
  • Encyclopedia of witchcraft: the Western tradition [Call Number: BF1566.E56 2006 v. 1-4]
  • Encyclopedia of science and religion [BL240.3.E53 2003 v.1-2]
  • New dictionary of the history of ideas [CB9.N49 2005 v.1-6]
  • A dictionary of contemporary world history: from 1900 to the present day [D419.P32 2003]
  • Greenwood library of American war reporting [D5.G84 2005 v.1-8]
  • Encyclopedia of American History E174.E53 2003
  • Encyclopedia of presidential campaigns, slogans, issues, and platforms [E176.1.R6 2004]
  • Iberia and the Americas: culture, politics, and history: a multidisciplinary encyclopedia [E18.75.I24 2006 v.1-3]
  • Americans at war: society, culture, and the homefront [E181.A453 2005 v.1-4]
  • Statistical handbook on racial groups in the United States [E184.A1H417 2000]
  • Historical statistics of the United States: earliest times to the present [HA202.H57 2006 v.1-5]
  • Atlas of poverty in America: one nation, pulling apart, 1960-2003 [HC110.P6G543 2006]
  • Forensic science : an encyclopedia of history, methods, and techniques [HV8073.T55 2006]
  • The almanac of American politics [JK271.B343 2006]
  • Greenwood encyclopedia of rock history [ML3534.G754 2006 v.1-6]
  • 100 Anime [NC1766.J3B76 2005]
  • New keywords: a revised vocabulary of culture and society [PE1580.N49 2005]
  • Historical dictionary of African-American television [PN1992.8.A34F43 2006]
  • The film encyclopedia: the most comprehensive encyclopedia of world cinema in a single volume [PN1993.45.K34 2005]
  • First Hollywood sound shorts, 1926-1931 [PN1998.B64 2005]
  • Renewable energy handbook: a guide to rural independence, off-grid and sustainable living [TJ808.3.K44 2005]
  • Internet: a historical encyclopedia [TK5105.875.I57I5372 2005 v.1-3]
All Online American Studies Resources

Subject Guides

Subject Guides Home

A

Africana Studies

Aging Services & Gerontology

American Studies

Ancient Studies

Anthropology

Art/Visual Art

Athletics

B

Biological Sciences

Business & Economics

C

Career Resources

Chemistry & Biochemistry

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Computer Science & Electrical Engineering (CSEE)

D

Dance

E

Education

English

F

Film Reviews

G

Gender & Women's Studies

Geography & Environmental Systems

H

History

I

Information Systems

L

Literary Criticism & Author Biography

M

Mathematics & Statistics

Mechanical Engineering

Medicine & Health

Modern Language & Linguistics

Music

P

Philosophy

Physics

Political Science

Primary Sources

Psychology

Public Policy

R

Religious & Judaic Studies

S

Social Work

Sociology

T

Theatre

Related Resources

Research Guides & Tutorials