American Studies Subject Guide
- Article Databases
- Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Electronic Archives
- Primary Sources & Newspapers
- Special Collections
- Baltimore & MD Resources
Simmona E. Simmons
email: simmons@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-3587
Course Guides
Alerts
- New db: Baltimore City History
Regional History Online Resources
Maryland History and Culture Bibliography
The Maryland History and Culture Bibliography consists of citations to articles, books, and doctoral dissertations about various aspects of Maryland's history and culture, divided into a set of standard subject categories. The citations are gathered from scholarly journals, local and state history-related newsletters and magazines, subject indexes to monographs and journals, publishers' catalogs, and electronic databases, among other sources.
Local History Resource Wiki
A collection of links relating to regional Maryland history with an emphasis on Baltimore. Includes contact and collection information for libraries, museums, historical societies as well as locations of historical newspapers, oral histories, digital images and illustrations, and online documentary projects.
Maryland State Archives
The Maryland State Archives is the historical agency for Maryland and serves as the central depository for government records of permanent value. Records date from the founding of the colony in 1634 to the 1990s. Open to the public. Located in Annapolis.
Baltimore Neighborhoods Research Guide
From the Enoch Pratt Free Library. This guide will point you to resources you can use to become better acquainted with neighborhoods in Baltimore City.
Comprehensive Guide to the Manuscript Collections at the Maryland Historical Society
Coverage: Index Only
This guide represents a combination of two previously published works: Avril J. M. Pedley, comp., The Manuscript Collections of the Maryland Historical Society (Baltimore, 1968) and Richard J. Cox and Larry E. Sullivan, eds., Guide to the Research Collections of the Maryland Historical Society (Baltimore, 1981).
Probing the Past: Virginia and Maryland Probate Inventories, 1740-1810
Coverage: Full Text
Probate records provide valuable information about the lifestyles of people during the colonial and early national periods.Included in the database are 325 inventories of the household items that provide insight into furnishings, dining habits & behavior
baltimorecityhistory.net: A Guide to Research and Writing about the History of Baltimore City
The purpose of this site is to assist researchers in the study of Baltimore History. Its emphasis is on the public record, although reference will be made to secondary sources and private records in public and private repositories. It is a work in progress and is meant to be instructive as the time and resources of the contributors permit.
top of page
All Online American Studies Resources

