American Studies Subject Guide
Off-campus access: UMBC Students, Faculty, & Staff only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Simmona E. Simmons
email: simmons@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-3587
Course Guides
Alerts
- New db: Baltimore City History
Article Databases - Arts & Culture
Art Abstracts (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Art Abstracts provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts for more than 450 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Indexing spans from 1984 to the present.
American Cultural History: 19th Century
Coverage: Full Text
Webpage highlighting developnments in American culture in the 19th century, arranged by decade. Provides text and links to other websites on the development of art, business, economics, literature, society, and science and technology.
American Cultural History: 20th Century
Coverage: Full Text
Webpage highlighting developnments in American culture in the 20th century, arranged by decade. Provides text and links to other websites on the development of art, business, economics, literature, society, and science and technology.
CAIRSS Music Index
Coverage: Index Only
Indexes the research literature on music education, music psychology, music therapy, and music in medicine containing citations to every article published in 18 primary journals, additional citations to selected articles from more than one thousand journals. Produced by the faculty and staff of the University of Texas at San Antonio.
Music & Performing Arts Online
Coverage: Full Text
Indexes, abstracts and provides full text from the International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) and the International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA), covering music, theatre, dance, television, film, and other performing arts.
Humanities International Complete (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database providing full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. The database includes more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records with full text for more than 1,200 journals.
top of page
Article Databases - Business & Economics
Business Source Premier (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Business Source Premier indexes over 3300 journals and magazines on all aspects of business going back to 1896, providing full text on over 2200, including almost 1100 peer reviewed titles.
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more.
EconLit (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Subject indexing and abstracts of journals, books, collective volumes, dissertations, and working papers in Economics.
Home Economics Archive: Research Tradition History (HEARTH)
Coverage: 1850-1950
HEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines published between 1850 and 1950. The full text of these materials is freely accessible on this site.
top of page
Article Databases - Census Data
County and City Databook: 2007
Coverage: Full Text
demographic and vital statistics; employment, education, government, housing, production and weather data for states, counties, and all cities of 25,000+. Older editions in print.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (US Census version)
Coverage: 1881-present
Basic summary statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the U.S., various regions, the states, MSAs, and cities of 100,000 or more residents. Also includes historical statistics under "Earlier Editions."
Historical US Census Data
Coverage: 1790 - 1970
Population, demographics, and economic data for all states and counties, from the United States decennial census, 1790 - 1970.
America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being
Coverage: Full Text
Annual report presenting a statistical overview of the well-being of America's children. Content includes key indicators in seven domains: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education, and health.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Coverage: current
Online version of Bureau of Justice Statistics annual publication. Includes data on crime, criminals, victimization, courts, corrections, law enforcement, and more. Print version in 1st floor GovDocs, call# J29.9/6:
top of page
Article Databases - Communications & Mass Media
Communication & Mass Media Complete (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
CMMC offer indexing and abstracts for more 770 titles, including full text for over 480 journals dating as far back as 1915. CMMC also contains a Communication Thesaurus and comprehensive reference browsing.
Alternative Press Index [API]
Coverage: Some Full Text
API is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. Coverage begins in 1991.
Paper index available from 1971-1991 in Reference. UMBC holds the Alternative Press backfile in Special Collections.
Gallup Brain [Gallup Poll News Service]
Coverage: 1930 - present
Current and historical data from one of the leading public opinion research firms.
top of page
Article Databases - Education
ERIC (EBSCO)
Coverage: Some Full Text
ERIC indexes Current Journals in Education (CIJE)and Resources in Education(RIE), containing more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
top of page
Article Databases - History & Biography
America: History & Life (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
America: History and Life (AHL) indexes the historical literature on North America (US and Canada) from antiquity to the present. Includes articles, book reviews, links to full text sources.
American National Biography Online
Coverage: c.975-
American National Biography [ANB] offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women whose lives have shaped the nation. The online edition of the ANB is updated quarterly with additions and revisions.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Coverage: Full set
Indexes current and retrospective reference works containing multiple biographies. 10 million+ entries.
African American Biographical Database (AABD)
Coverage: Full Text
Biographical information on thousands of African Americans 1790-1950, assembled from biographical dictionaries and other sources. Includes photos, illustrations, and the complete digitized text of the biographical reference sources. Provided by the Bell endowment.
Making of America (MOA)
Coverage: 19th c. books and aricles
Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Subject areas include education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
Maryland State Archives
The Maryland State Archives is the historical agency for Maryland and serves as the central depository for government records of permanent value. Records date from the founding of the colony in 1634 to the 1990s. Open to the public. Located in Annapolis.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Coverage: 1600-2000
Database of books, documents, images, scholarly essays, commentaries and bibliographies of all aspects of American Women's public lives and political activities.
Maryland History and Culture Bibliography
The Maryland History and Culture Bibliography consists of citations to articles, books, and doctoral dissertations about various aspects of Maryland's history and culture, divided into a set of standard subject categories. The citations are gathered from scholarly journals, local and state history-related newsletters and magazines, subject indexes to monographs and journals, publishers' catalogs, and electronic databases, among other sources.
History Cooperative
A joint venture of the American Historical Assn., Org. of American Historians, U. of Illinois Press and Nat'l Academy Press. Includes full-text journals & information on member organizations. No login needed, use Search or go to journals
Attention: Not all journals in this database are accessible full-text. Ask your librarian if you have trouble accessing them.
top of page
Article Databases - Science & Technology
Compendex (via Engineering Village 2)
Coverage: Index Only
Indexes the entire spectrum of engineering, in depth, with abstracts from over 5,000 international journals, conference papers and technical reports. You may set up a profile, save searches, and have search results emailed bi-weekly.
Ecology Abstracts (CSA)
Coverage: Index Only
Indexes and abstracts articles on current ecology research: habitats, food chains, erosion, land reclamation,ecosystems management and modeling, climate, water resources, environmental problems. A subset of Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management
NASA History Division
NASA History Division serves two key functions: to disseminate aerospace information as widely as possible and help NASA managers benefit from the study of past accomplishment and difficulties. Pages include both documents, photographs and links.
top of page
All Online American Studies Resources

