American Studies Subject Guide
- Article Databases
- Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Electronic Archives
- Primary Sources & Newspapers
- Special Collections
Full-text Online Archives
**Pay careful attention to holdings information
Avalon Project at Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History, & Diplomacy Coverage: BCE- current
The Avalon Project will mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. Coverage includes documents from ancient history to the present.
Historic Government Publications from World War II: a digital library Coverage: 1939-1946
SMU Central University Libraries, part of GPO's Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP), have digitized hundreds of historical World War II publications and photographs and made them available to the public.
National Security Archive at George Washington University Coverage: current
The National Security Archive is an independent non-governmental research institute and library that collects and publishes declassified documents, providing access to critical declassified records on national security, military history, foreign policy
Probing the Past: Virginia and Maryland Probate Inventories, 1740-1810 Coverage: 1740-1810
Probate records provide valuable information about the lifestyles of people during the colonial and early national periods.Included in the database are 325 inventories of the household items that provide insight into furnishings, dining habits & behavior
All Online American Studies Resources
