Aging Services & Gerontology Subject Guide
- Article Databases
- Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Professional Organizations
- Websites
Off-campus access: UMBC Students, Faculty, & Staff only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Katy Sullivan
email: sullivan@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-3604
Article Databases
Search tools for finding journal articles and other types of resources on your subject.
SocIndex with Full Text (EBSCO)
Coverage: Some Full Text
SocINDEX features sociology research with indexing for more than 2.1 million records. Full text is available for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908, full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
PsycINFO (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
PsycINFO abstracts scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in the behavioral sciences and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with journal coverage starting in the 1800s includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals.
Social Services Abstracts (CSA)
Coverage: Index Only
Indexes and abstracts current research on social work and human services, including social welfare, social policy, community development, crisis intervention, gerontology, poverty and homelessness.
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more.
CINAHL (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
CINAHLŽ provides indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health dating back to 1981. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
Medline (EBSCO)
Coverage: Some Full Text
MEDLINE provides authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
All Online Aging Studies & Gerontology Resources

