Subject Guides - Aging Studies & Gerontology
Use catalogusmai
Find Electronic Journals:Use Research Port
Off Campus Access: Borrow From Other Libraries: Contact YOUR Librarian:Databases
Search tools for finding journal articles and other types of resources on your subject.
AgeLine Indexes and abstracts current literature on aging.
CINAHL (Ebsco) 
Indexes/abstracts nursing and allied health literature. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
Medline (EBSCO) 
Indexes/abstracts more than 3,200 journals from the biomedical field.
PsycINFO (Ebsco) 
Indexes 1,300 Psychology journals from nearly 50 countries. Also includes abstracts for dissertations, books and book chapters. Same coverage as PsycLit.
Social Services Abstracts 
Indexes and abstracts current research focused on social work and human services, including social welfare, social policy, community development, crisis intervention, gerontology, poverty and homelessness. Includes Social Work Abstracts.
SocIndex with Full Text (EBSCO) 
This sociology and social sciences index features more than 1,300,000 records including full text for 242 "core" journals dating back to 1895, 72 "priority" journals, 547 books and monographs, and 6,711 conference papers.
Government Websites - Federal
Federal Government Websites are a rich resource for consumer information, data, policies, and services.- United States Department of Health & Human Services
Their website includes an extensive section on aging, which links to agency for healthcare research and quality, CDC, NIH, NLM, AOA, Medline, etc. It is the umbrella organization for the following agencies and programs: Administration on Aging, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality: Elderly Care, Health Resource and Services Administration, Medicare, and the National Institute on Aging.
- Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics
Brings together Federal agencies that share a common interest in improving aging-related data.
- Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Statistics and Data
Broad range of quantitative information on Medicare's programs, from estimates of future Medicare and Medicaid spending to enrollment, spending, and claims data. CMS also offers a broad range of consumer research to help its partners and staff.
- National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging
ACDA acquires and preserves data relevant to gerontological research, processing as needed to promote effective research use, disseminates them to researchers, and facilitates their use. Some data is available online and some is available via UMBC's ICPSR subscription.
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks, and Almanacs
These standard print reference tools provide extensive descriptions of key concepts in social work, statistics related to the field, and bibliographies of more resources.
Birren, James Ed.. Encyclopedia of Gerontology: Age, Aging, and the Aged, 2007.[REF RC952.5 .E58]
Ekerdt, David Ed.. Encyclopedia of Aging, 2002.[REF HQ1061 .E534 ]
Schulz, Richard Ed.. The Encyclopedia of Aging: A Comprehensive Resource in Gerontology and Geriatrics, 2006.[REF HQ1061 .E53]
Vierck, Elizabeth. Aging: Lifestyles, Work, and Money, 2005.[REF HQ1064.U5 V493]
E-Books
Browse (and search) electronic books on a variety of aging and gerontology topics.Associations
Associations provide extensive resources for professionals, including professional development opportunities and job resources, research resources and current events in the field.- American Association of Retired Persons
- Alzheimer's Association
- American Society on Aging
- Generations United
- Gerontological Society of America
- National Alliance for Caregiving
- Rosalynn Carter Institute
- Urban Institute: Publications on Aging
