Africana Studies Subject Guide
- Article Databases
- Catalogs & Dissertations
- Primary Sources
- Archives & Manuscripts
- Digitized Projects
- Websites
Selected Digitization Projects
- The African-American Mosaic Exhibition
(Library of Congress) - A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History & Culture. This exhibit marked the publication of The African-American Mosaic: A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History and Culture. Provides a sample of four Colonization, Abolition, Migrations, and the WPA) of the many areas covered in the text.
The African American Mosaic: A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History and Culture.
Library of Congress. Washington, USA: G.P.O., 1993.
Location: UMBC Federal Documents - LC1.6/4:AF 8- American Memory Collection
(Library of Congress) - Selected digitized full text and image files from the Library of Congress collections. Includes selections from Presidential papers, Congressional documents, maps, pamphlets, music, and photographs from significant social, cultural and political movements.
- American Slave Narratives: An Online Anthology
(University of Virginia) - Included narratives are transcribed verbatim from the interview transcripts collected by writers of the Works Progress Administration (WPA) in the late 1930s.
- Digital Schomburg: Images of African Americans in the 19th Century
The first of a series of pictorial databases that will be a part of the Digital Schomburg.
- UMBC Special Collections - IMCAT
Database of photographs held in Special Collections. Approximately 18,000 records of the more than 1.8 million photographs held there. Use African Americans as a SUBJECT to locate information about photographs (Descriptive records only, some with linked image files.)
Related Guide
Selected Meta Sites
These sites provide links to a variety of resources on topics including archaeilogy, the arts, museums, culture, religion and spirituality, heath and fitness, history and the Diaspora.- Floyd Ingram's Resources Center
Maintained by College Web Administrator, Benedict College. Updated regularly.
All Online Africana Studies Resources
