Africana Studies Subject Guide
Simmona E. Simmons
email: simmons@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-3587
Selected UMBC Primary Source Collections
The majority of these collections are on microfilm or microfiche. Accompanying guides and texts are included if owned by UMBC Library
Black Abolitionist Papers, 1830-1865.
Sanford, NC, USA: Microfilming Corporation of America, 1981.
Location: UMBC Serials - Microform
17 microfilm reels; 4 in., 35 mm. + 1 guide
Black Workers in the Era of the Great Migration, 1916-1925.
James R. Grossman, editor. Frederick, MD, USA: University Publications of America, 1985.
Location: UMBC Serials - Microform
25 microfilm reels; 35 mm
Civil rights during the Johnson Administration, 1963-1969: A Collection from the Lyndon Baines Johnson Library, Austin, TX.
Frederick, MD, USA: University Publications of America, 1984.
Location: UMBC Serials - Microform
21 microfilm reels; 35 mm. + 1 guide. Pt. 1. The White House central files (15 reels) -- Pt. 2. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission: administrative history (3 reels) -- Pt. 3. Oral histories (3 reels)
The Martin Luther King, Jr., FBI File.
David J. Garrow and Robert Lester (compiled guide). Frederick, MD, USA: University Publications of America, 1984.
Location: UMBC Serials - Microform
16 microfilm reels; 35 mm
New Deal Agencies and Black America in the 1930s.
John B. Kirby, Robert Lester, and Dale Reynolds. Frederick, MD, USA: University Publications of America, 1983.
Location: UMBC Serials - Microform
25 microfilm reels; 25 mm. + guide
Slavery.
Sanford, NC, USA: University Publications of America, 1984.
Location: UMBC Reference - Microform - HT861 .S62 1983
6720 microfiche; 11 x 15 cm. Includes primary sources on American slavery, Latin American and Caribbean slavery, and the British and French slave trades from the 16th through the 19th centuries. UMBC Collection incomplete.
Related Guides and Texts:- Slavery, a Bibliographic Guide to the Microfiche Collection. Henry Barnard, editor. 1983.
Location: REF HT861 S6 1983 - African American Slave Narratives: An Anthology. Sterling Lecater Bland, Jr., editor. 2001.
Location: REF E444 A23 2001
- Slavery, a Bibliographic Guide to the Microfiche Collection. Henry Barnard, editor. 1983.
Schomburg Collection of Negro Literature and History. Dictionary Catalog.
Boston, MA, USA: G.K. Hall, 1962.
Location: UMBC Reference - Z881 N592 S35
9 v. (8473 p.) 37 cm.
Related Text:- Bibliographic Guide to Black Studies. Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. Supplement to Schomburg Collection of Negro Literature and History. Dictionary catalog. 1975-.
Location: REF Z881 N596 S331
- Bibliographic Guide to Black Studies. Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. Supplement to Schomburg Collection of Negro Literature and History. Dictionary catalog. 1975-.
top of page
All Online Africana Studies Resources

