Skip navigation

Africana Studies Subject Guide

Journal Articles Quick-Search


* UMBC Affiliates only


Contact YOUR Librarian:

Simmona E. Simmons
email: simmons@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-3587

Article Databases - Biographical, Geographical, & Historical

  • Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff African American Biographical Database (AABD)

    Coverage: 1790-1950
    Biographical information on thousands of African Americans, assembled from biographical dictionaries and other sources. Initial content was drawn from Chadwyck-Healey's Black Biographical Dictionaries 1790-1950. Provided by the Bell endowment.

  • Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff America: History & Life Learn how to use this resource

    Coverage: prehistory - present
    America: History and Life (AHL) indexes the historical literature on North America and Canda.

  • Free online resource Country Studies

    Coverage: varies
    In-depth studies of countries' political, economic, social, cultural, and national security systems and institutions. Many photographs, maps, and charts. Formerly called Area Handbooks - US Army

  • Free online resource Human Rights - Country Reports from US Dept. of State

    Coverage: 1993 - present
    Submitted annually to the US Congress; covers internationally recognized individual, civil, political, and worker rights, as set forth in the [United Nations'] Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

  • Free online resource Human Rights Watch World Report

    The web page for the International human rights organization. Includes full text of the Human Rights World Report for 1999 and 2000 plus other full text reports, maps, country information and human rights initiatives.

  • Free online resource United Nations InfoNation

    Coverage: current
    Comparative economic, demographic, geographic, and social data for every country in the world. Includes source citations.


top of page

Article Databases - International

Use these databases to search for materials with an international focus
  • Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff Historical Abstracts Learn how to use this resource

    Coverage: 1954 - present
    Historical Abstracts indexes journals covering world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Currently over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered.

  • Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff PAIS - Public Affairs Information Service Learn how to use this resource

    Coverage: 1972 - present
    Indexes journals, books, and government documents in the fields of political science, policy, public administration, society. Includes backfile in July 05 through June 06.


top of page

Article Databases - General & Multidisciplinary

  • Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource

    Coverage: varies
    Provides full-text for over 3,400 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education, sciences, and more. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).

  • Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff MasterFILE Premier (Ebsco)

    Coverage: varies
    Indexes 3,100+ magazines covering general subjects. Includes full-text for over 1,000 journals.

  • Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff PsycINFO (Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource

    Coverage: 1887 - present
    Indexes 1,300 Psychology journals from nearly 50 countries. Also includes abstracts for dissertations, books and book chapters. Same coverage as PsycLit.

  • Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff Social Services Abstracts Learn how to use this resource

    Coverage: 1979 - present
    Indexes and abstracts current research focused on social work and human services, including social welfare, social policy, community development, crisis intervention, gerontology, poverty and homelessness. Includes Social Work Abstracts.


top of page

All Online Africana Studies Resources

Subject Guides

Subject Guides Home

A

Africana Studies

Aging Services & Gerontology

American Studies

Ancient Studies

Anthropology

Art/Visual Art

Athletics

B

Biological Sciences

Business & Economics

C

Career Resources

Chemistry & Biochemistry

Computer Science & Electrical Engineering (CSEE)

D

Dance

E

Education

Engineering

English

F

Film Reviews

G

Gender & Women's Studies

Geography & Environmental Systems

H

History

I

Information Systems

L

Literary Criticism & Author Biography

M

Mathematics & Statistics

Medicine & Health

Modern Language & Linguistics

Music

P

Philosophy

Physics

Political Science

Primary Sources

Psychology

Public Policy

R

Religious & Judaic Studies

S

Social Work

Sociology

T

Theatre

Related Resources

Research Help Guides

Tutorials