Africana Studies Subject Guide
- Article Databases
- Catalogs & Dissertations
- Primary
Sources - Archives & Manuscripts
- Digitized
Projects - Websites
Simmona E. Simmons
email: simmons@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-3587
Selected Archive and Manuscript Collections
- The Amistad Research Center
(Tulane University) - The Center's collections include art, manuscripts, research guides and bibliographies, and exhibitions, and digital collections on America's ethnic history, the African Diaspora, human relations, and civil rights.
- Archives of African American Music and Culture (AAAMC)
(Indiana University, Bloomington), is a repository of materials covering various musical idioms and cultural expressions from the post-World War II era.
- Maryland State Archives--African American Resources
The Maryland State Archives are colonial and State executive, legislative, and judicial records; county probate, land, and court records; and State publications and reports. Non government materials include personal letters, diaries, photographs, maps, and manuscript documents.
- Moorland-Spingarn Research Center
(Howard University) - One of the world's largest and most comprehensive repositories for the documentation of the history and culture of people of African descent in Africa, the Americas, and other parts of the world, this collection includes bound volumes, serials, manuscript and archival collections, audio tapes, artifacts, prints, photographs and maps, and other graphic items.
- Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
(New York Public Library) - National research library, with holdings in excess of 5,000,000 items, devoted to collecting, preserving and providing access to resources documenting the experiences of peoples of African descent throughout the world.
- Vivian G. Harsh Research Collection of Afro-American History and Literature
(Chicago Public Library) - The largest African American history and literature collection in the Midwest, the Harsh Collection contains a wealth of precious documentation of the Black experience, including books, periodicals, microfilm research collections, and manuscripts.
Related Text
The Dictionary Catalog of the Vivian G. Harsh Collection of Afro-american History and Literature.
Chicago Public Library. Boston, USA: G.K. Hall, 1978.
Location: UMBC Reference - E185 C49 1978
4 v., includes indexes
All Online Africana Studies Resources

