Subject Guides - Africana Studies
Use catalogusmai
Find Electronic Journals:Use Research Port
Off Campus Access: Borrow From Other Libraries: Contact YOUR Librarian:General and Multidisciplinary Databases
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) 
Provides full-text for over 3,400 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education, sciences, and more. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
MasterFILE Premier (Ebsco) Indexes 3,100+ magazines covering general subjects. Includes full-text for over 1,000 journals.
PsycINFO (Ebsco) 
Indexes 1,300 Psychology journals from nearly 50 countries. Also includes abstracts for dissertations, books and book chapters. Same coverage as PsycLit.
Social Services Abstracts 
Indexes and abstracts current research focused on social work and human services, including social welfare, social policy, community development, crisis intervention, gerontology, poverty and homelessness. Includes Social Work Abstracts.
Biographical, Geographical, and Historical Databases
African American Biographical Database (AABD) Biographical information on thousands of African Americans, assembled from biographical dictionaries and other sources. Initial content was drawn from Chadwyck-Healey's Black Biographical Dictionaries 1790-1950. Provided by the Bell endowment.
America: History & Life 
America: History and Life (AHL) indexes the historical literature on North America and Canda.
Country Studies In-depth studies of countries' political, economic, social, cultural, and national security systems and institutions. Many photographs, maps, and charts. Formerly called Area Handbooks - US Army
Human Rights - Country Reports from US Dept. of State Submitted annually to the US Congress; covers internationally recognized individual, civil, political, and worker rights, as set forth in the [United Nations'] Universal Declaration of Human Rights.
Human Rights Watch World Report The web page for the International human rights organization. Includes full text of the Human Rights World Report for 1999 and 2000 plus other full text reports, maps, country information and human rights initiatives.
United Nations InfoNation Comparative economic, demographic, geographic, and social data for every country in the world. Includes source citations.
International Databases
Use these databases to search for materials with an international focus
Historical Abstracts 
Historical Abstracts indexes journals covering world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Currently over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered.
PAIS - Public Affairs Information Service 
Indexes journals, books, and government documents in the fields of political science, policy, public administration, society. Includes backfile in July 05 through June 06.
Catalogs: Books, Theses, Dissertations
Use these resources to search for and order books or other materials from outside the USM system. Use catalogusmai for works owned by the USM libraries.
Dissertation Abstracts (Proquest Digital Dissertations) Indexes U.S., Canadian, British, and other European dissertations and theses; dissertations abstracted since 1980, theses abstracted since 1988. Full Dissertations published since 1997 (1991 from UMBC) are available in PDF digital format.
WorldCat Records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.
Selected UMBC Primary Source Collections
The majority of these collections are on microfilm or microfiche. Accompanying guides and texts are included if owned by UMBC Library- Black Abolitionist Papers, 1830-1865. Sanford, NC, USA: Microfilming Corporation of America, 1981. [UMBC Serials - Microform]
Description: 17 microfilm reels; 4 in., 35 mm. + 1 guide. - James R. Grossman, editor. Black Workers in the Era of the Great Migration, 1916-1925. Frederick, MD, USA: University Publications of America, 1985. [UMBC Serials - Microform]
Description: 25 microfilm reels; 35 mm. - Civil rights during the Johnson Administration, 1963-1969: A Collection from the Lyndon Baines Johnson Library, Austin, TX. Frederick, MD, USA: University Publications of America, 1984. [UMBC Serials - Microform]
Description: 21 microfilm reels; 35 mm. + 1 guide. Pt. 1. The White House central files (15 reels) -- Pt. 2. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission: administrative history (3 reels) -- Pt. 3. Oral histories (3 reels). - David J. Garrow and Robert Lester (compiled guide). The Martin Luther King, Jr., FBI File. Frederick, MD, USA: University Publications of America, 1984. [UMBC Serials - Microform]
Description: 16 microfilm reels; 35 mm. - John B. Kirby, Robert Lester, and Dale Reynolds. New Deal Agencies and Black America in the 1930s. Frederick, MD, USA: University Publications of America, 1983. [UMBC Serials - Microform]
Description: 25 microfilm reels; 25 mm. + guide. - Slavery. Sanford, NC, USA: University Publications of America, 1984. [UMBC Reference - Microform - HT861 .S62 1983]
Description: 6720 microfiche; 11 x 15 cm. Includes primary sources on American slavery, Latin American and Caribbean slavery, and the British and French slave trades from the 16th through the 19th centuries. UMBC Collection incomplete. - Henry Barnard, editor. Slavery, a Bibliographic Guide to the Microfiche Collection. Sanford, NC, USA: Microfilming Corp. of America, 1983. [UMBC Reference - HT861 S6 1983]
- Sterling Lecater Bland, Jr., editor. African American Slave Narratives: An Anthology. Westport, Conn., USA: Greenwood Press, 2001. [UMBC Reference - E444 A23 2001]
Description: 3 v. - Schomburg Collection of Negro Literature and History. Dictionary Catalog. Boston, MA, USA: G.K. Hall, 1962. [UMBC Reference - Z881 N592 S35]
Description: 9 v. (8473 p.) 37 cm. - Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. Bibliographic Guide to Black Studies. Boston, USA: G.K. Hall, 1975-. [UMBC Reference - Z881 N596 S331]
Description: Supplement to Schomburg Collection of Negro Literature and History. Dictionary catalog.
Related Guides and Texts
Related Text
Selected Archive and Manuscript Collections
- The Amistad Research Center
(Tulane University) - The Center's collections include art, manuscripts, research guides and bibliographies, and exhibitions, and digital collections on America's ethnic history, the African Diaspora, human relations, and civil rights.
- Archives of African American Music and Culture (AAAMC)
(Indiana University, Bloomington), is a repository of materials covering various musical idioms and cultural expressions from the post-World War II era.
- Maryland State Archives--African American Resources
The Maryland State Archives are colonial and State executive, legislative, and judicial records; county probate, land, and court records; and State publications and reports. Non government materials include personal letters, diaries, photographs, maps, and manuscript documents.
- Moorland-Spingarn Research Center
(Howard University) - One of the world's largest and most comprehensive repositories for the documentation of the history and culture of people of African descent in Africa, the Americas, and other parts of the world, this collection includes bound volumes, serials, manuscript and archival collections, audio tapes, artifacts, prints, photographs and maps, and other graphic items.
- Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
(New York Public Library) - National research library, with holdings in excess of 5,000,000 items, devoted to collecting, preserving and providing access to resources documenting the experiences of peoples of African descent throughout the world.
- Vivian G. Harsh Research Collection of Afro-American History and Literature
(Chicago Public Library) - The largest African American history and literature collection in the Midwest, the Harsh Collection contains a wealth of precious documentation of the Black experience, including books, periodicals, microfilm research collections, and manuscripts.
- Chicago Public Library. The Dictionary Catalog of the Vivian G. Harsh Collection of Afro-american History and Literature. Boston, USA: G.K. Hall, 1978. [UMBC Reference - E185 C49 1978]
Description: 4 v., includes indexes.
Related Text
Selected Digitization Projects
- The African-American Mosaic Exhibition
(Library of Congress) - A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History & Culture. This exhibit marked the publication of The African-American Mosaic: A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History and Culture. Provides a sample of four Colonization, Abolition, Migrations, and the WPA) of the many areas covered in the text.
- Library of Congress. The African American Mosaic: A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History and Culture. Washington, USA: G.P.O., 1993. [UMBC Federal Documents - LC1.6/4:AF 8]
- American Memory Collection
(Library of Congress) - Selected digitized full text and image files from the Library of Congress collections. Includes selections from Presidential papers, Congressional documents, maps, pamphlets, music, and photographs from significant social, cultural and political movements.
- American Slave Narratives: An Online Anthology
(University of Virginia) - Included narratives are transcribed verbatim from the interview transcripts collected by writers of the Works Progress Administration (WPA) in the late 1930s.
- Digital Schomburg: Images of African Americans in the 19th Century
The first of a series of pictorial databases that will be a part of the Digital Schomburg.
- UMBC Special Collections - IMCAT
Database of photographs held in Special Collections. Approximately 18,000 records of the more than 1.8 million photographs held there. Use African Americans as a SUBJECT to locate information about photographs (Descriptive records only, some with linked image files.)
Related Guide
Selected Meta Sites
These sites provide links to a variety of resources on topics including archaeilogy, the arts, museums, culture, religion and spirituality, heath and fitness, history and the Diaspora.- Floyd Ingram's Resources Center
Maintained by College Web Administrator, Benedict College. Updated regularly.
