Find Databases by Title
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z View All more search optionsFound 50 Databases beginning with "S"
SAGE Reference Online
15 authoritative and award-winning encyclopedias in many subject areas.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps [Library of Congress]
Coverage: Some Full Text
The Sanborn map collection consists of a uniform series of large-scale maps, dating from 1867 to the present and depicting the commercial, industrial, and residential sections of some twelve thousand cities and towns in the United States, Canada, and Mexico.
ScanGrants
Facilitates the search for funding sources to enhance individual and community health. Includes funding sources for medical researchers, social workers, nurses, students, community-based health educators, academics and others. Funding sources include private foundations, corporations, businesses, and not-for profit organizations.
Scholarly Electronic Publishing Bibliography
Coverage: 1990-2005
The Scholarly Electronic Publishing Bibliography (SEPB) presents selected English-language articles, books, and other printed and electronic sources that are useful in understanding scholarly electronic publishing efforts on the Internet.
Scholarly Societies Web Site on Linguistics
This provides a listing of societies devoted to linguistics along with a ranking of the stability of the url links. This listing is international in scope.
School District Demographics
Coverage: 2000
Social, financial, and administrative data for each of the 15,274 school districts in the US for 2000. From the National Center for Education Statistics.
Science Accelerator (OSTI)
Search the information resources of the U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE's) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI). These resources contain the results of DOE research and development (R&D) projects and programs, descriptions of R&D projects under way or recently completed, major R&D accomplishments, and recent research of interest to DOE.
Science Citation Index™ Expanded
Coverage: 1998-
Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI Web of Science) provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in approximately 7,100 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines.
Science in the Nineteenth-Century Periodical [index]
Coverage: 1800-1900
The Science in the Nineteenth-Century Periodical (SciPer) index provides an scholarly synopsis of the material relating to science, technology, and medicine appearing in sixteen non-scientific periodicals published in Britain between 1800 and 1900.
Science Watch
Track hot or emerging fields as well as national and international trends in basic research.
Science.gov
Science.gov contains reliable government resources selected by the respective agencies as their best science information. Developed by an interagency working group of 17 scientific and technical information organizations from 12 major science agencies.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier Journals Online)
Search or browse over 2,500 science, technology, and medicine journals (1,700 currently subscribed). Full text is available ONLY for those titles subscribed to by UMBC. Abstracts and bibliographic information is available for all other titles.
SciFinder
Coverage: Index Only
You must create an account using your @umbc.edu email address to use SciFinder.
SciFinder is a research discovery tool which provides access to research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, and more. Includes peer-reviewed articles, patents, chemical structures, chemical properties, chemical reactions, and much more. NOTE: Use of SciFinder Scholar is limited to current UMBC students, faculty, and staff ONLY.
Scitable (by Nature Education)
Coverage: current
A free science library by Nature Publishing Group, the world's leading publisher of science. Scitable currently concentrates on genetics, the study of evolution, variation, and the rich complexity of living organisms.
Scorecard: the Pollution Information Site
Search for information about hazardous chemicals and pollution in your community, including toxic chemical releases, air pollutants, and water pollutants.
Search It! Science (Children's Science Collection)
Coverage: Index Only
Catalogs 3270 highly recommended children's trade books, of which UMBC holds 2600, for K-8 students. These books were chosen by a national panel of librarians and experts in science and education. Collection Located on the 4th Floor.
SEC Filings & Forms (EDGAR)
Coverage: varies
Electronic archive of reports filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission by publicly traded companies.
SIAM Journals Online
Coverage: varies
Browse or search the full-text of SIAM journals online.
Sibley Music Library: Musical Scores
Scores and books in the public domain. Many of these are unique to the Sibley Music Library collection.
SIC Code Index
Coverage: current
Index to Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) codes.
SIPRI: Stockholm International Peace Research Institute
Coverage: 1990 - present
Search the databases of the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute. Databases include: Facts on International Relations and Security Trends, SIPRI Arms Industry Database, SIPRI Arms Transfers Database, SIPRI Multilateral Peace Operations Database, SIPRI Military Expenditure Database.
Slavery & Abolition in the US
Slavery and Abolition in the US: Select Publications of the 1800s is a digital collection of books and pamphlets that demonstrate the varying ideas and beliefs about slavery in the United States as expressed by Americans throughout the nineteenth century. The collection includes more than 15,000 individual pages of printed text and corresponding searchable transcriptions.
Slide Library Search
Coverage: current
Index to slides held at UMBC's Slide Library.
Social Psychology Network
Coverage: varies
Gateway to links on psychology and social psychology. Includes links to electronic forums, ranking of PhD programs in clinical, psychology and social psychology.
Social Sciences Citation Index®
Coverage: 1998-
Social Sciences Citation Index (ISI Web of Science) provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 2,100 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines, plus individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,500 of the world's leading science and technology journals.
Social Security Administration Archives/Museum
The Social Security Administration Historian's Office, located in Baltimore County, maintains a large website with online finding aids to its Archives, a virtual tour of its Museum, and many online primary source documents, photos, videos and soundclips
Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)
Coverage: Index Only
Indexes and abstracts current research on social work and human services, including social welfare, social policy, community development, crisis intervention, gerontology, poverty and homelessness.
Social Work Abstracts (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. The database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
Society for Developmental Biology records
Coverage: 1939-2008
This collection contains the organizational records for the Society of Developmental Biology, including documents relating to committees, members and membership, finances, meetings and conferences, awards, publications, and affiliated associations.
Society for Industrial Microbiology (SIM) records
Coverage: 1949-2001
This finding aid of the records of the Society for Industrial Microbiology covers the years beginning in 1949, with birth of the Society, through its development and growth up to 2001. Records include correspondence, minutes, reports.
Society of Protozoologists records
Coverage: 1947-1994
The collection documents the development and growth of the Society of Protozoloogists from its founding in 1947 to 1994. The records are organized by Society history, Executive Committee records, membership, meetings, publications & affiliated societies. In 2005 the membership voted to change the name to International Society of Protistologists.
SocIndex with Full Text (EBSCO)
Coverage: Some Full Text
SocINDEX features social sciences research with indexing for more than 2.1 million records. Full text is available for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908, full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Coverage: current
Online version of Bureau of Justice Statistics annual publication. Includes data on crime, criminals, victimization, courts, corrections, law enforcement, and more. Print version in 1st floor GovDocs, call# J29.9/6:
Southeast Asia Digital Library
Coverage: Some Full Text
This collaborative project created free online access to digitized books, photographs, oral history, manuscripts and video footage from across Southeast Asia.
Southern Historical Society papers [on CD]
Full text of 52 volume set was produced by the Historical Society in the late 1880's and early 1900's. CD at the REFERENCE DESK [Reference - Ready Reference | E483.7 .S76 1997 ]
SparkNotes
Study guides for everything from Literature to Physics. Written by Harvard graduates and students who are specialists in their subjects.
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (SDBS)
SDBS is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds, including: electron impact Mass spectra (EI-MS); Fourier transform infrared spectra (FT-IR); 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectra; 13C NMR spectra; laser Raman spectra; electron spin resonance (ESR) spectra. From the National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), Japan
SpectroscopyNOW.com
Free spectroscopy portal covering all aspects of spectroscopy. Includes news, techniques, information, resources, and services.
SPORTDiscus (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
SPORTDiscus offers coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 22,000 dissertations and theses and references to articles in 60 different languages.
Sports Reference
Coverage: historical
A combination of sites providing top notch statistics and resources for sports fans everywhere. Our aim is to be the easiest-to-use, fastest, most complete sources for sports statistics anywhere. Baseball, football, basketball, hockey, olympics
SpringerLink
Coverage: Some Full Text
Provides access from 1997-present to Springer journals and books focusing on science, technology and medicine with some coverage in the humanities and social sciences. NOTE: full-text access is only available on titles subscribed to by UMBC.
Stabler family papers, 1893-1973, bulk 1941-1973
This collection documents the activities of the Stabler family primarily from 1941 to 1973. The Stabler family previously owned the land that is now the UMBC campus. Personal histories including correspondence, photographs, newspaper clippins related to the construction of Spring Grove and UMBC, official family documents, and certificates provide a brief biographical sketch of the members of the Hayes/Stabler family. Ephemera and books are also included.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Coverage: varies
A dynamic, peer-reviewed, open access encyclopedia of philosophy.
State and Local Government on the Net
Coverage: varies
Directory of official state county and local government websites.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (US Census version)
Coverage: 1881-present
Basic summary statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the U.S., various regions, the states, MSAs, and cities of 100,000 or more residents. Also includes historical statistics under "Earlier Editions."
Statistics Canada
Provides statisitics on Canada on social indicators, including population, agriculture, construction, education, health, justice, labour, trade, transportation and more.
STATS at George Mason University
Coverage: 1994-
STATS monitors the media to expose the abuse of science and statistics before people are misled and public policy is distorted. Present focus is on the following policy areas: education, children, drug use, public health, polls & surveys, gender, crime.
Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum Online
Coverage: Full Text
Brill's Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum systematically collects newly published Greek inscriptions as well as publications on previously known documents. It presents complete Greek texts of all new inscriptions with a critical apparatus; it summarizes new readings, interpretations, and studies of known inscriptions, and occasionally presents the Greek text of these documents.
Supreme Court of the United States
Information on the Supreme Court of the United States, biographies of the current and previous justices, history, traditions, procedures, current docket, and full-text of cases & opinions from 1991-.
Sustainability Science Abstracts (ProQuest)
Coverage: Index Only
Indexes the literature on sustainable development, conservation, human population and demography, natural resource management, species diversity, and protection of habitat/ecosystems. A subset of Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management.


