Find Databases by Title
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z View All more search optionsFound 56 Databases beginning with "P"
PAL: Perspectives in American Literature
Coverage: varies
The major movements and various authors in American literature. Nearly 400 authors, major and minor, are included. Primary works, extensive selected bibliographies, and sometimes major themes, summaries of relevant articles. Includes appendixes.
PapersFirst (OCLC)
Coverage: Index Only
Indexes papers from every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre, 1993-.
Parallel History Project on Cooperative Security (PHP)
Coverage: 1946-
The PHP is a database of full-text materials on cold war international relations, area studies, international business, security and military studies, comparative studies, and human rights; it includes declassified NATO documents and documents from the archives in Eastern and Central Europe plus full text journal articles, analyses, more.
Perry Hall Improvement Association (PHIA) records
Coverage: 1945-1986
Includes the documents on the founding and organization of the Association, projects undertaken, membership lists, newspaper clippings and zoning regulations from the period.
Perseus Online
Coverage: Full Text
A digital library of resources for studying the ancient world. The library's materials include ancient texts and translations, philological tools, maps, extensively illustrated art catalogs, and images.
Pharmacy School Admission Requirements
Coverage: current
The PSAR© is designed to provide the most up-to-date information about each school, including specifics about admission requirements, selection factors, and educational costs for students entering pharmacy school.
Philip M. Wagner papers
Coverage: 1839-1995, bulk 1942-1989
This collection contains the documents relating to the life and work of Philip M. Wagner (1904-1996). Wagner served as a columnist and editor at the Baltimore Sun from 1930-1964. The materials are organized into series which reflect the major areas of life & work: personal, Sun Papers & Boordy Vineyards.
Philo of Alexandria: Resource Pages for Biblical Studies
Documents pretaining to Philo of Alexandria including encyclopedia articles, online texts, journals devoted to the subject, research conferences and projects, book reviews on Philo studies and more
PhiloBiblon
PhiloBiblon is a project to construct a bio-bibliographical database of early texts produced in the Iberian Peninsula, designed to catalog the primary sources of a given corpus of texts along with relevant bibliographic and authority files.
Philosopher's Index (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
A current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy featuring author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published since 1940. Does not include book reviews.
Philosophy Pages
Coverage: varies
Western philosophers are include along with a dictionary, listing of major figures in philosophy, timeline, history of western philosophy and logic. Most entries have short bibliographies.
Philosophy Portal - Philosophy Online
A guide to authoritative, academic philosophy sites on the web. Includes: philosophy movements, great philosophers, and the history of philosophy.
PhilPapers
PhilPapers is a comprehensive directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers. They monitor journals in many areas of philosophy, as well as archives and personal pages. Some features require you to create a free account.
PhilSci Archive
Coverage: varies
An electronic archive for preprints in the philosophy of science. It is offered as a free service to the philosophy of science community.
Photographers & Collections Index (UMBC)
Coverage: current
A browsing index to the photography holdings in Special Collections with links to the image records in the Digital Collections.
Photonics Directory
Coverage: current
Searchable glossary of terms related to photonics, a branch of physics that deals with the properties and applications of photons, especially as relates to telecommunications. Includes buyer's guide, corporate guide, and society and university guide.
Phrase Finder
Provides access to phrases and sayings, their meanings and origins, euphemisms, quotes from Shakespeare, proverbs and more.
Physical Constants
Coverage: current
CODATA Recommended Values of the Fundamental Physical Constants, via National Institute of Standards and Technology.
PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress
(ProQuest)
Indexes and abstracts the literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, with both current and retrospective coverage.
PLANTS National Database
Coverage: current
Includes scientific and common names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, plant links, references, crop information, and automated tools. Provided by the USDA.
Poetry Portal
Coverage: Full Text
This gateway covers the writing of poetry, interpretation of it, theoretical issues of and connections to other art forms or ideas.
Poetry Society of America
Coverage: varies
Includes access to 'Crossroads' the publication of PSA, and links to resources for readers and writers. Listing of MFA programs, writers' conferences.
Political Dictionary
Coverage: current
Dictionary of political terms, including some economic and military terms. Also covers the news media, major organizations, and systems of government.
Political Science Complete (EBSCO)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Provides abstracts and indexing, and some full text, to political science journals, reference books, monographs, and conference papers. Subject coverage includes comparative politics, international relations, political theory, law and legislation, and more.
Pollution Abstracts (ProQuest)
Indexes and abstracts pollution literature from conference proceedings and journals. Includes coverage of scientific research and government policies relating to atmosphere, emissions, mathematical models, effects, and environmental action. A subset of Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management.
President's Office records, University Archives.
Coverage: 1951-1985, bulk 1966-1976
The President's Office records is the first campus record collection processed in the UMBC University Archives. The records contain documents relating to all aspects of campus including the development of acedemic programs, growth of the faculty and staff, events and issues affecting the student body, and the relationship between other University System of Maryland colleges and the Board of Regents with UMBC's administration. This collection will be updated as additional materials are transferred from the President's Office.
Presidential Papers Infobase
Includes Messages and papers of the Presidents, Washington through Taft, and the Public papers of the Presidents of the United States, Hoover through George H.W. Bush; George H.W. Bush to present available online.
Primary Search (Ebsco)
Coverage: Full Text
Primary Search provides full text as far back as 1990 for more than 70 popular magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles)
Princeton Dante Project
Coverage: varies
The Princeton Dante Project combines a traditional approach to the study of Dante's Comedy with new techniques of compiling and consulting data, images, and sound.
Probing the Past: Virginia and Maryland Probate Inventories, 1740-1810
Coverage: Full Text
Probate records provide valuable information about the lifestyles of people during the colonial and early national periods.Included in the database are 325 inventories of the household items that provide insight into furnishings, dining habits & behavior
Proceedings (OCLC)
Coverage: Index Only
Indexes every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre, 1993-. Contained in each record is a list of the papers presented at each conference.
Professional Development Collection (Ebsco)
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles.
Project Bartleby
Coverage: Varies
Bartleby provides access to full text collections of fiction, poetry, nonfiction and reference tools.
Project Gutenberg
Coverage: See Index
Project Gutenberg provides full-text online copies of out-of-copyright works (published pre-1923). Classic books from the start of this century and previous centuries.
Project Muse
Searchable full-text of select journals in the humanities and social sciences. UMBC subscribes to its Basic Undergraduate Collection.
Access Free Sample Books on Project MUSE Beta Site
ProQuest Congressional
Coverage: Some Full Text
Provides indexing and some full text for Congressional hearings, legislation, public laws, and legal research. Includes congressional publications, legislative histories (1970-present), and bills. Contains the US Code, voting records, congressional documents, the Congressional Record,the Federal Register (1980 - present) and the CFR. (Formerly LexisNexis Congressional)
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (formerly Digital Dissertations)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Indexes and abstracts dissertations and theses primarily from the U.S and Canada, some international; dissertations abstracted since 1980, theses abstracted since 1988. Full text available for dissertations published since 1997 (1991 from UMBC) are available as PDFs. (Online version of Dissertation Abstracts from UMI)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2008)
Coverage: Full Text
New York Times full page and article images (.pdfs) from 1851-2008. Includes indexing and abstracting with fully searchable text back to the first issue.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Coverage: Full Text
Provides full text documents and statistical information in tabular formats. Sources include U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. (Formerly LexisNexis Statistical)
ProtectedPlanet
Search the World Database on Protected Areas in any language to find information about individual protected areas. Explore the worlds national parks, wilderness areas and world heritage sites.
Protein Data Bank
Worldwide depository of information about the three-dimensional structures of large biological molecules, including proteins and nucleic acids.
PsycArticles (Ebsco)
Full text of 51 journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations. Funded by the UMBC Psychology Department.
PsychCentral
Psychology and mental health resources. Offers descriptions of symptoms and treatments of major psychological disorders.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
This database provides nearly 575 full text publications, including nearly 550 peer-reviewed titles for a broad range of topics in the fields of psychology and behavioral sciences. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO.
PsycINFO (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
PsycINFO abstracts scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in the behavioral sciences and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with journal coverage starting in the 1800s, including international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals.
PubChem Project
Coverage: current
PubChem is a search tool for chemical information, divided into three areas: Compounds, substances and Bio Assays. Full entries provide information on molecular weigh and formula, structure, properties and links to additional information
Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS International) (ProQuest)
Coverage: Index Only
PAIS International indexes citations to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature and research reports back to 1972. PAIS Archive contains the records from PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin 1915-1976.
Public Agenda
Public Agenda is a nonprofit organization that explores public opinion and produces citizen education materials. Their goal is to provide polling and other data to clarify public attitudes about complex policy issues.
Public Library of Law
Coverage: varies
Free legal site: Maryland case law from 1997. Supreme Court cases from 1754, most Federal Circuit Courts from 1950 and state appellate cases from 1997. Keyword searching but no citation searching. Includes links to statutes, codes and constitutions, and paid sites and document packages.
Public Library of Science
Coverage: 2003-present
Searchable, open-access, peer-reviewed journals in Biology and Medicine. Published monthly since October 2003 (Biology), 2004 (Medicine).
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
Coverage: 1991 - present
President Clinton's 1996 and 1997 Public Papers. Subsequent Presidential papers, as well as volumes covering previous administrations, will be added on an incremental basis.
PubMed (Free Medline)
Coverage: Index Only
PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Includes peer-reviewed articles, case reports, clinical trials, and much more. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Pugwash Online: Conferences on Science & World Affairs
Coverage: 1957
The purpose of the Pugwash Conferences is to bring together, from around the world, influential scholars and public figures concerned with reducing the danger of armed conflict and seeking cooperative solutions for global problems. This site offers the full text of Pugwash Conference Reports (1998-), newletters, statements and histories.
Pulps: Adventure, Mystery and Detective Fiction
Coverage: c.1930-1950
A title index to the holdings of adventure/mystery pulps in Special Collections. Browse by title or search for a specific story title or author. The index includes approx. 2,500 story titles/authors with new records to be added periodically.
Pulps: Science Fiction & Fantasy
Coverage: 1930s - present
Holdings of science fiction and fantasy "pulp" serials held in Special Collections. Includes currently received publications.
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Coverage: current
The Purdue Writing Lab offers over 200 free resources including: Writing and Teaching Writing, Research, Grammar and Mechanics, Style Guides, ESL (English as a Second Language), Job Search and Professional Writing


