Find Databases by Title
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z View All more search optionsFound 48 Databases beginning with "N"
NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
Coverage: Index Only
Abstracts for over 4 million journal articles, conference proceedings, NASA reports, newsletters and theses in astronomy, astrophysics, geophysics, physics and instrumentation.
NASA History Division
NASA History Division serves two key functions: to disseminate aerospace information as widely as possible and help NASA managers benefit from the study of past accomplishment and difficulties. Pages include both documents, photographs and links.
National Academies Press
Coverage: Some Full Text
The National Academies Press (NAP) was created by the National Academies to publish the reports issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council. More than 4,000 titles are available as PDF files for free download.
National Archaeological Database
The National Archeological Database, Reports module, is an expanded bibliographic inventory of over 350,000 reports on archeological investigation and planning, mostly of limited circulation. This "gray literature" represents a large portion of the primary information available on archeological sites in the U.S.
National Archives and Records Administration
NARA is an independent Federal agency that helps preserve our nation's history by overseeing the management of all Federal records. Our mission is to ensure access to the essential evidence of citizen's rights, Federal actions & the national experience
National Archives Records [on Footnote]
Coverage: Full Text
Digitized collections from the National Archives. Collections are varied: Continental Congress, Civil War pensions, FBI documents, Southern Claims Commission, Brady photographs, others. see also http://www.nara.gov/
National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP)
Coverage: current
"The Nation's Report Card." Trends in achievement for all major subjects, grades K-12, by state. From National Center for Education Statistics.
National Atlas
An atlas and mapping tool that gathers and presents information designed to help us understand continental-scale environmental issues has been released by the Commission for Environmental Cooperation (CEC). The North American Environmental Atlas is intended for use by both environmental scientists and the citizens of the United States, Canada, and Mexico. Its maps and services are designed to help the public visualize environmental topics at a continental scale. For professional users of geographic information, this Atlas offers basic cartographic and environmental data for the continent at no cost.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers
Coverage: March 1998 - present
Full-text of working papers from NBER, a private, nonpartisan research organization. Research is conductied by more than 500 university professors around the country. Papers are listed by topic under "PROGRAMS"
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences, is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
Coverage: current
Select FASTATS, Data Warehouse, or Frequently Asked Questions for quick access to the most-requested data. Source citations are included.
National Conference of State Legislatures
Coverage: varies
The National Conference of State Legislatures is a bipartisan organization that serves the legislators and staffs of the nation's 50 states, its commonwealths and territories.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database
Coverage: varies
Contains summaries of more than 140,000 criminal justice publications, including Federal, State, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research.
National Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations in Taiwan
Coverage: Index Only
The national digital library in Taiwan provides open access to the index of thesis and dissertations published by universities in Taiwan.
National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)
The National Historical Geographic Information System provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2010.
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
Full content of Environmental Health Perspectives, EHP Supplements, NTP Technical Reports and NTP Toxicity Reports from 1997, Report on Carcinogens 9th Edition and more.
National Institute of Mental Health [NIMH Full-text Publications]
NIMH offers a variety of publications to help researchers, mental health and health care practitioners, people with mental disorders, and the general public gain a better understanding of mental disorders & research programs.
National Library of Medicine
The National Library of Medicine provides access to resources for the public and health professionals. Different databases provide access to current health news, medical literature and encyclopedias, health statistics, current trials and more. The NLM Gateway can be used to search up to 20 of the databases concurrently.
National Newspapers (Proquest)
Coverage: Full Text
Indexes, abstracts and provides full text for the following:
Baltimore Sun: 1990 - present
Christian Science Monitor: 1988 - present
New York Times + Book Review & Magazine: 1999 - present
Wall Street Journal: 1984 - present
Washington Post: 1987 - present
Does not include pictures or graphics
National Science Digital Library (NSDL)
Online library of resources for science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education and research.
National Security Archive at George Washington University
Coverage: current
The National Security Archive is an independent non-governmental research institute and library that collects and publishes declassified documents, providing access to critical declassified records on national security, military history, foreign policy
National Survey on Drug Use & Health (NSDUH)
Coverage: 1994-
SAMHSA's National Survey on Drug Use & Health (NSDUH), formerly called the National Household Survey on Drug Abuse, is the primary source of information on the prevalence, patterns, and consequences of drug and alcohol use and abuse in the general U.S. civilian non institutionalized population, age 12 and older. The following information is available from this major data collection system: data and reports 1994-
National Taiwan University press database
Coverage: Full Text
It provides free access to selective articles from their periodicals, covering literature, social science, arts and science etc..
National Technical Information Service (NTIS) Gateway
Search the largest, central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today. Note: full reports are not available online. Please contact a librarian if you wish to acquire one.
National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC)
Coverage: complete
RLIN and OCLC records of archives and manuscripts holdings
National Urban League Archive
Full text archive of selected speeches, articles and columns from NUL publications and press releases from the National Urban League.
Naver News Archive Service (1920-1999)
Coverage: Full Text
It provides full text search by date and subject of these three newspaper archives: Kyonghyang Sinmun, Tonga Ilbo, and Maeil Kyongje.
Naxos Music Library
Coverage: current
Naxos Music Library [NML] offers streaming access to more than 41,340 CDs with more than 592,600 tracks. The library offers the catalogs of more than 50 classical, jazz and world music labels. Resources offered by NML include synopses of over 700 operas, a pronunciation guide for composer and artist names and a glossary of musical terms. A comprehensive online encyclopedia of classical music is in development.
Nestor: bibliography of the Aegean and related areas
Coverage: Index Only
Nestor is an international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields concerning the Aegean: all of Greece, Albania, and Cyprus, the southern area of Bulgaria, and the western and southern areas of Turkey. The database searches issues 1959-2010, later issues may be searched individually.
netLibrary
Coverage: Varies
A collection of E-texts covering topics specifically chosen by Maryland Academic Libraries. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL). Subjects include: computer science, business, international relations, education, environmental science, psychology, civil rights law and history.
Netlingo
Coverage: current
Dictionary of internet and other networking terms.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
The NDLTD Union Catalog contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). Also includes links to other useful ETD search tools.
New Chaucer Society
Coverage: varies
This Washington University site contains material about Chaucer and late medieval literature and culture. Includes links to other Chaucerian resources and an online bibliography of texts, biographical, historical and cultural materials.
New Pauly Online
Coverage: Full Text
Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopedia of the Ancient World Online features the complete sets of Brill's New Pauly (in English) and Metzler's Der Neue Pauly (in German). The online version includes both sets of the print edition: Antiquity (factual articles on topics of ancient Greece, Rome and the greater Mediterranean world) and Classical Tradition (historical and contemporary scholarship on the influence of the Classical world).
New York Times Book Reviews
Coverage: 1981-present
Full-text of book reviews, author interviews and book news published in the New York Times.
Newspaper Holdings in Special Collections [UMBC]
Coverage: c.1840-c.1970
Index to the newspapers (original issues, not microfilm) held in the Special Collections Dept. of the Albin O. Kuhn Library & Gallery. Provides title, city and state of origin, and dates held.
Nineteenth Century in Print: Books and Periodicals
Coverage: 1800-1900
Books: dating mainly from between 1850 and 1880. Currently, approx. 1,500 books are included. The collection is particularly strong in poetry and in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, science & technology. Periodicals: literary and political magazines, as well as 'Scientific American', 'Manufacturer and Builder', and 'Garden and Forest: A Journal of Horticulture', 'Landscape Art', and 'Forestry'. The longest run is for 'The North American Review', 1815-1900.
NIST Atomic Spectra Database
This database provides access and search capability for NIST critically evaluated data on atomic energy levels, wavelengths, and transition probabilities.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Find chemical and physical property data, spectra, etc. Search by chemical formula, name, CAS registry number, and more.
NIST Digital Library of Mathematical Functions
Coverage: current
The NIST Handbook of Mathematical Functions, together with its Web counterpart, the NIST Digital Library of Mathematical Functions (DLMF), is the culmination of a project that was conceived in 1996 at the National Institute of Standards and Technology(NIST). The project had two equally important goals: to develop an authoritative replacement for the highly successful Handbook of Mathematical Functions with Formulas, Graphs, and Mathematical Tables, published in 1964 by the National Bureau of Standards (M. Abramowitz and I. A. Stegun, editors); and to disseminate essentially the same information from a public Web site operated by NIST. The new Handbook and DLMF are the work of many hands: editors, associate editors, authors, validators, and numerous technical experts.
NIST Physical Reference
Physical Constants, Atomic and Molecular Spectroscopic Data, Ionization Data, X-Ray and Gamma-Ray Data, Nuclear Physics Data, Condensed Matter Physics Data, and more.
NIST X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy Database
Searchable database of over 22,000 line positions, chemical shifts, doublet splittings, and energy separations of photoelectron and Auger-electron lines. Provided by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
Nobelprize.org
Coverage: 1901-
Home site of the Nobel Prize, with full lists of recipients and current nominations. Complementary material includes biographical summaries, acceptance speeches, and material on the foundation.
NSA Declassified Documents
Coverage: 1940-current
NSA/CSS periodically releases declassified documents or indexes to these documents to the public. Full text docs listed on this page include those related to Vietnam (Tonkin Gulf) UFO projects, Cuban Missile Crisis, Kennedy assassination, more.
NSA Historical Publications
Coverage: 18th-current
Full-text pamphlets and monographs published by the National Security Agency. Topics range from slavery through Prohibition, World War II, Cold War, Korea, Vietnam, cryptology, misc.
Nuclear Data Dissemination Home Page
Coverage: current
Web-accessible version of the "Table of Isotopes" provides nuclear structure and radioactive decay data
Numdam
Coverage: varies
Search and view digitized versions of older, French journals in mathematics.
Nuremberg Trials Project: A digitial document collection
Coverage: Full Text
Offers access to approx. one million pages of documents relating to the trial of military and political leaders of Nazi Germany before the International Military Tribunal (IMT) and to the twelve trials of other accused war criminals before the United States Nuremberg Military Tribunals (NMT).


