Find Databases by Title
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z more search options
E-Print Network (OSTI) Coverage: current
A searchable gateway to full-text preprints in physics, materials, and chemistry, and some biology, environmental sciences and nuclear medicine. For full-text R&D grey literature see DOE's Information Bridge.
Early Modern Women Database Coverage: 1500 to ca. 1800
Provides links to resources useful for the study of women in early modern Europe and the Americas. Coverage 1500 to 1800. Includes links to Web sites about the Medieval period and 19th Century. Resources have been selected by librarians of the University of Maryland Libraries. The database includes bibliographic databases to full-text resources, images, and sound recordings. Most of the resources are free.
Easton's Bible Dictionary Coverage: 1897 edition
Online version of the 1897 work. About 3800 terms.
EBSCO Animals 
EBSCO's Encyclopedia of Animals offers in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals. The database consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals.
ECHO: Exploring & collecting history online Coverage: earliest-current
Since 2001 the Echo project has used the Internet to collect and present the recent history of science, technology, and industry. Echo provides a centralized guide and portal for those seeking websites on the history of science and technology.
EcoCyc Coverage: current
Encyclopedia of Escherichia coli K12 Genes and Metabolism: a searchable database describing the genome and the biochemical machinery of E. coli K-12.
Ecology Abstracts 
Coverage: 1982 - present
Focuses on how organisms of all kinds interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment.
EconLit (Ebsco) 
Coverage: 1969 - present
Subject indexing and abstracts of journals, books, collective volumes, dissertations, and working papers in Economics.
Economics Research Network (ERN) Coverage: varies
SSRN community for economics scholars, practitioners, and policymakers throughout the world. Includes job listings and links to NBER working papers. New users join here.
ECS (Electrochemical Society) Digital Library Coverage: 1996 - present
The Digital Library (DL) provides searchable online access to the various journals, books, and other collections published by The Electrochemical Society. Includes the Journal of the Electrochemical Society and Electrochemical & Solid-State Letters.
Education Abstracts Coverage: 1983 - present
Indexes/abstracts articles from major education journals. Topics include administration, teaching methods and curriculum, literacy, government funding, and more.
Educator's Reference Desk Coverage: current
Full text of lesson plans and curriculum materials. Replaces the access ERIC Website.
EH. Net Encyclopedia EH.Net Encyclopedia of Economic and Business History is designed to provide students and laymen with high quality reference articles in the field. Articles for the Online Encyclopedia are written by experts, screened by authorities, and carefully edited.
EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements 
Coverage: 1985 - present
Provides indexing and detailed abstracts for all environmental impact statements issued by the federal government each year. EIS extracts key issues, project descriptions, legal mandates, positive impact and negative consequences.
Electronic Collections Online (ECO) Coverage: 1995 - present
Over 100 searchable, full-text journals in many different fields.
Elemental Data Index Select an element in the periodic table to display: atomic weight, ionization energy, ground-state level, and ground-state configuration. Also provides links to atomic spectra, x-ray and gamma ray data, and other nuclear physics data. Provided by NIST.
EMCI Chemical References Coverage: current
Search the full text of the Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA's) Major Program Systems webpages. Data on hazardous materials and their manufacturers.
Encyclopedia Mythica Coverage: current
Over 4500 mythical figures from all religions.
Encyclopedia of American Studies Online, searchable, full text encyclopedia covering a variety of topics from a range of disciplines describing the cultures of the U.S. Incorporates comparative studies of Canada and Latin America and the global impact of American culture.
Encyclopedia of Earth The Encyclopedia is a free, fully searchable collection of articles about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society.
Encyclopedia of Graphic Symbols Coverage: current
Online version of Carl G Liungman's Thought Signs. Over 2600 Western symbols.
Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) The Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) is an ambitious project to organize and make available via the Internet virtually all information about life present on Earth. At its heart lies a series of Web sites—one for each of the approximately 1.8 million known species. Each site is constantly evolving and features dynamically synthesized content ranging from historical literature and biological descriptions to stunning images, videos and distribution maps. Sign up for a login name and password to access all areas of the site.
Encyclopedia of Psychology Coverage: varies
Included are the categories on careers, environment behavior relationships, organizations, paradigms and theories, people and history, publications, resources, and underlying reductionistic machinery.
Energy Citations Database Coverage: 1948 - present
Bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research and Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC).
EnergyFiles Coverage: current
Over 500 databases and Web sites containing information and resources pertaining to science and technology of interest to the Department of Energy, with an emphasis on the physical sciences.
Engineering Problem Solving - A Classical Perspective This free e-book fills in many of the gaps in engineering education by showing students and professionals the historical background of problem solving.
English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) Coverage: 1450-1800
the English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) provides bibliographic records for all known British printed material before 1801, held by the British Library and over 2000 institutions worldwide. The file will be made freely available to researchers as of Oct.
Enhanced British Parliamentary Papers on Ireland [Queen's University, Belfast] Coverage: 1801-1922
EPPI Project features a comprehensive searchable database of Parliamentary Papers relating to Ireland 1801-1922, with bibliographic information, Library of Congress subject descriptors and, for a significant selection of items, abstracts of contents.
Entrez, the Life Sciences Search Engine Coverage: varies
Searchable databases including: Nucleotide Sequence (GenBank, RefSeq, and PDB), Protein Sequence, Genome, Structure, Taxonomy, and many more. From the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
Environmental Engineering Abstracts 
Coverage: 1990 - present
Covers the world literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production.
Environmental Research Web Covers environmental research, from biodiversity to clean energy, from pollution to economics, from environmental legislation to sustainability, and from human health issues to risk assessment. Login for most complete access.
Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management (CSA) 
Coverage: 1967 - present
Provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 4000 scientific journals and thousands of other sources including conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. It contains many sub-databases such as Health and Safety Science Abstract, Risk Abstract, Pollution Abstract, Water Resource Abstract, Environmental Engineering Abstract and more.
Enzyme Database - BRENDA BRENDA is the main collection of enzyme functional data available to the scientific community. Contents include: nomenclature, reaction & specificity, functional parameters, enzyme structure, isolation & preparation, and more.
EPA Science Inventory Coverage: current
The Science Inventory (SI) is a searchable database of EPA science activities and scientific/technical work products.
Episteme Link: Philosophy Resources on the Internet Over 16,500 categorized links to philosophy resources on the Internet, including encyclopedia entries, e-texts, and bibliographies, philosphers, topics/subjects. Searchable by time period.
ERIC (EBSCO) 
Coverage: 1966 - present
Indexes Current Journals in Education (CIJE) and Resources in Education (RIE). NOTE: ERIC Documents may be available online through EDRS or available on microfiche in the Library. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
Ernest Kempe collection Coverage: 1865-1953
This collection, compiled and collected by Ernest Kempe, includes a series of scrapbook pages from twenty binders and a ledger with clippings dealing with Baltimore, Maryland.
esp@cenet (European Patent Office) Coverage: 1920-present
Searchable databases provided by the European Patent Office including: Patent Abstracts of Japan, European Patents (EP), and The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). Includes English translations of patent descriptions.
Essential Practices for Managing Chemical Reactivity Hazards This free e-book is useful for safety managers, chemists and engineers alike to identify, address and manage chemical reactivity hazards.
Essential Science Indicators - Special Topics Coverage: 2001-present
Citation analyses and commentary for selected scientific research areas that have experienced notable recent advances or are of special current interest. Includes citation rankings for scientists, institutions, nations, and journals.
ETDE World Energy Base (ETDEWEB) Searchable database of documents in the field of energy. Topics include environmental impact of energy production & use, including climate change, energy R&D, energy policy, and nuclear, coal, hydrocarbon, and renewable energy technologies.
Ethnologue: Languages of the World Standard directory of languages of the world numbering over 6,700 languages.
ETS Test Collection Database Coverage: current
Descriptions of over 10,000 psychometric instruments. Includes journal references and availability information.
Etymology of First Names Coverage: current
Origins of common first names in many languages. Includes 50 most popular names.
European Library Coverage: current
Search the national libraries of 31 European countries, including: Austria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania , Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russia - Moscow, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom
Europeana Multi-lingual online collection of more than 4 million digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections. Funded by the European Commission and the member states.
