Find Databases by Title
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z more search options
CACHE: A Learning Community for Chemical Engineering Computer Aids for Chemical Engineering (CACHE), is a not-for-profit organization whose purpose is to promote cooperation among universities, industry and government in the development and distribution of computer-related and/or technology-based educational aids for the chemical engineering profession.
CAIRSS Music Index Coverage: current
Database of music research literature in music education, music psychology, music therapy, and music medicine. 1,354 different journal titles; 18 of which are indexed cover to cover. Now with a Web interface.
Cambridge Histories Online Cambridge Histories Online offers online accessibility to full text titles for any type of historical research or study of a subject that has an historical element. Includes all the latest editions of the print series with automatic updates.
CAMIO (OCLC) Coverage: current
Catalog of Art Museum Images Online (CAMIO) is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums. CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms. CAMIO is licensed for use by students, faculty, and researchers at subscribing institutions. Images may be used for educational and research purposes if properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed.
Canadian Statistics Coverage: varies
Provides statisitics on Canada on social indicators, including population, agriculture, construction, education, health, justice, labour, trade, transportation and more.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications This catalog provides access to U.S. government publications in full-text and other forms, and identifies locations for other forms of documents which are not full-text.
Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts The Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts offers a simple and straightforward means to discover medieval manuscripts available on the web. Very much a work in progress, the database will initially provide links to hundreds of manuscripts, which we expect quickly to grow to thousands. Basic information about the manuscripts is fully searchable, and users can also browse through the complete contents of the database. As the project develops, a richer body of information for each manuscript, and the texts in these codices, will be provided, where available.
Catholic Encyclopedia Coverage: varies
Designed to present its readers with the full body of Catholic teaching, the Encyclopedia contains not only precise statements of what the Church has defined, but also an impartial record of different views of acknowledged authority on disputed questions.
Center for Biological Sciences Archives Coverage: current
The Center for Biological Sciences Archives holds 15 major biological sciences collections. Included are personal papers, manuscripts and organizational papers.
CERN Document Server Coverage: varies
Over 800,000 records, including over 350,000 full-text documents, in particle physics and related areas. Coverage includes preprints, articles, books, and more. Register to customize interface, save searches and utilize search alert service.
CESAR: Center for Substance Abuse Research Coverage: current
Contains information on nature and extent of substance abuse and related problems in Maryland and the nation.
CFR (Code of Federal Regulations) Coverage: current
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is a codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the Executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government.
ChemExper Coverage: current
Find chemicals in the ChemExper chemical directory. Use advanced search to search for chemicals by boiling point, melting point, density, and more.
ChemFinder Coverage: current
Indexes over 75,000 unique substances. Physical properties, structure, and links to related material on the Web.
Chemical Abstracts (via STNEasy) Online access to Chemical Abstracts 5PM - 5AM. No login / password is needed. Click the "Start Your Session" button to begin searching.
Chemical Scorecard Coverage: current
Search for manufacturing facilities, pollutants and polluters by zip code, regulatory controls, and health effects for hazardous materials in the US. Data from Toxic Release Inventory (TRI).
ChemID plus Coverage: current
A database of over 368,000 chemical records, including over 220,000 with structures. Find synonyms, structures, registry numbers, formulas, and properties. Search by name, structure, chemical property, toxicity, or molecular weight. Provided by NIH
CINAHL & Pre-CINAHL (Ebsco) 
Coverage: 1982 - present
Indexes/abstracts nursing and allied health literature. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
CiteSeer.IST: Scientific Literature Digital Library Coverage: 1990-2004
CiteSeer is a scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science. CiteSeer uses ACI to create a citation index that can be used for literature search and evaluation.
City Population Coverage: current
Population statistics and maps for all areas of the world. Population of countries, cities, and principal agglomerations.
Civil Engineering Databases (CEDB) Coverage: 1973 - present
Indexes/abstracts American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) documents published since 1973. Citations are included from journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines and newsletters.
Civil War Home Page Coverage: 1861-1865
The Civil War Home Page represents one of the largest and most comprehensive collections of Civil War related material available electronically. Includes full text documents, maps, statistics, official records, oral histories, slave narratives, photos.
Clase and Periódica (OCLC) Coverage: Clase:1975-; Periodica:1978-
CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIÓDICA covers journals specializing in science and technology and offers access to more than 300,000 bibliographic citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages.
Classical Language Instruction Project Provides the audible sound clips of Greek and Latin and the text of the passage.
Classical Myth Included are Olympian gods, timeline of Greek history and literature and a limited full-text bibliography of the works by Hesiod, Homer, Aeschylsu, Euripides, Sophocles, as applicable for course work at University of Victoria, B.C.
Classics Collections Page Coverage: varies
Acess indexes and contents pages from nearly all classically related serials. Also includes databases for ancient books, classical mythology, ancient philosophy, classical studies.
CODATA Key Values for Thermodynamics The Committee on Data for Science and Technology (CODATA) table of thermodynamic properties (enthalpy of formation and entropy) for key chemical substances.
Cold Spring Harbor Protocols Coverage: current
Source of new and classic biomedical research techniques. Currently it contains over 700 methods in molecular and cell biology and it covers cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) Coverage: 1991 - present
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings and journal articles.
COMAR (Code of Maryland Regulations) Coverage: current
The official compilation of Maryland State Agency regulations (administrative law). Updates biweekly with regulations proposed but not yet adopted as published in the Maryland Register.
Comic Books Index - UMBC Holdings Coverage: 1930-1990
An index to the comic book holdings in Special Collections. Includes some 6,500 issues from the 1930's to the 1990's. The index is in three sections, mainstream comics in "Main", "Underground" comics, and Miscellaneous.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) - Ebsco 
Coverage: varies
Indexes over 700 journals, including National Communication Association journals, as well as major journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias, and handbooks in the area of communications studies. Full-text of over 200 journals.
Communication Abstracts Coverage: 1998
Citations and abstracts for articles in 80+ journals in Communication.
Compendex (via Engineering Village 2) Coverage: 1969 - present
Indexes the entire spectrum of engineering, in depth, with abstracts from over 5,000 international journals, conference papers and technical reports. You may set up a profile, save searches, and have search results emailed bi-weekly.
Complete Works of Charles Darwin Online Coverage: 1840-
This website provides Darwin's complete publications, many handwritten manuscripts and the largest Darwin bibliography and manuscript catalogue ever published. There are also over 170 ancillary textsfrom reference works, reviews, obituaries and more.
Comprehensive Guide to the Manuscript Collections at the Maryland Historical Society This guide represents a combination of two previously published works: Avril J. M. Pedley, comp., The Manuscript Collections of the Maryland Historical Society (Baltimore, 1968) and Richard J. Cox and Larry E. Sullivan, eds., Guide to the Research Collections of the Maryland Historical Society (Baltimore, 1981).
Compustat Research Insight Coverage: varies
Compiled by S & P, Compustat contains 20 years of financial statements and market summaries on 11,000 North American companies. Only available in the Library.
Computational Molecular Biology at NIH Coverage: current
Analytical tools, databases, lab protocols, and reference sources in molecular biology. Provided by the National Institutes of Health (NIH)
Computer Science Index (Ebsco) 
Coverage: 1965 - present
Indexes/abstracts academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources at the highest scholarly and technical levels of computer science. Formerly Computer Literature Index.
Computer Source (Ebsco) 
Coverage: 1985 - present
Indexes 450+ and contains the full-text of 300+ publications in computer science and high technology.
Computers and Applied Science Complete (CASC) 
It covers the spectrum of the applied sciences, representing knowledge on traditional engineering challenges and providing material for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology. CASC provides indexing and abstracting for academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources. Full Text is available for more than 500 periodicals. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines, computer theory, and new technologies.
Conference Papers Index 
Coverage: 1982 - present
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science.
Congress.org Coverage: varies
Directory of congressional members (House and Senate) and their committee assignments, biographical information and contact information.
CONSTITUTION FINDER @ University of Richmond This database offers constitutions, charters, amendments, and other related documents. Nations of the world are linked to their constitutional text posted on the Web. Historical versions are offered where available. Includes states and territories.
Contemporary Women's Issues (CWI) Coverage: 1992 - present
CWI provides full text access to global information on women. Includes journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies, and fact sheets.
Country Studies Coverage: varies
In-depth studies of countries' political, economic, social, cultural, and national security systems and institutions. Many photographs, maps, and charts. Formerly called Area Handbooks - US Army
County and City Databook Coverage: 1988 - present
From the US Census Bureau. Summary demographic and vital statistics; employment, education, government, housing, production and weather data for states, counties, and all cities of 25,000+. See also C3.134/2. Most current ed. On RDYREF.
County Business Patterns Coverage: 1988 - present
Annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. Useful for studying the economic activity of small areas, analyzing economic changes over time, and as a benchmark for statistical series and surveys between economic censuses.
CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Weekly Coverage: 1983-current
In-depth reports on issues looming in Congress, along with a complete wrap up of the previous week's news; includes the status of bills in play, behind the scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates, and roll-call votes.
Critical Theory and Cultural Studies It is offered by the EServer, an arts and humanities e-publishing co-op, based at Iowa State University where hundreds of writers, editors and scholars publish their works. Contains texts in sociology, literary theory, film/video studies, and cultural anthropology.
CrossFire Commander: Beilstein & Gmelin (download/installation instructions) Coverage: 1772 - present
Beilstein covers more than 6 million organic compounds, plus more than 5 million reactions. Find physical and chemical data, spectral information, and more.
Gmelin covers over 1.4 million inorganic compounds, including polymers, ceramics, minerals and alloys. May include: material composition and structural data, preparation and reaction details, condensed phase data, spectroscopy, etc.
Installed on computers on floors 1 - 7.
Cultural policy and the Arts National Data Archive Coverage: current
An interactive digital archive of data on the arts and cultural policy in the U.S., available for research and statistical analysis, with data on artists, arts and cultural organizations, audiences, and funding for arts and culture.
Current Index to Statistics (CIS) Coverage: 1975 - present
As a joint venture of the American Statistical Association and the Institute of Mathematical Statistics, it indexes publications in statistics and related fields from 106 core journals, selected articles from about 1200 additional journals, and about 11,000 books in statistics.
Current Research @ UMBC Coverage: 1991 - present
Full-text of UMBC Dissertations from 1991 to present. Search by keyword (includes subject and abstract), author, or advisor. Subset of Proquest Digital Dissertations.
CyberCemetery [Archive of government websites that have ceased operation] The CyberCemetery is an archive of government websites that have ceased operation (usually websites of defunct government agencies and commissions that have issued a final report). The University of North Texas Libraries and the U.S. Government Printing Office, as part of the Federal Depository Library Program, created a partnership to provide permanent public access to the Web sites and publications of defunct U.S. government agencies and commissions.
