Find Databases by Title
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z View All more search optionsFound 57 Databases beginning with "A"
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents & Debates
Coverage: Full Text
A Century of Lawmaking brings together the records and acts of Congress from the Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention through the 43rd Congress, including the first three volumes of the Congressional Record, 1873-75. Included are the Journals of Congress, statutes and and documents, debates of Congress, Congressional Record, more.
ABA Family Legal Guide
Coverage: Full Text
American Bar Association guide to the legal system written for the general public.
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more.
AcademicInfo: Subject Guides & Online Degree Programs
Coverage: Full Text
An independent online resource center providing information and resources on distance learning and online degrees from accredited institutions. Includes information for finding degree programs, courses, financial aid, and other online resources.
ACM Digital Library
Coverage: Some Full Text
Search across Journals, Magazines, Transactions, Proceedings (including USENIX), Newsletters and Special Interest Groups (SIGs) in the ACM Digital Library. Now includes indexing for non-ACM publications: use Find It for full text availability.
Acronym Finder
Coverage: Full Text
Dictionary of over 1,000,000 acronyms, abbreviations, and initalisms. Also provides over 850,000 USA and Canadian postal codes.
ACS Electronic Journals
Coverage: Full Text
Search all 35 peer-reviewed journals and other publications of the American Chemical Society. Journals cover 7 core chemistry categories plus 8 additional categories. Topics: chemistry, biochemistry, chemical neuroscience, industrial & engineering chemistry, physical chemistry, food chemistry, inorganic chemistry, and medicinal chemistry.
Ad*Access
Coverage: Full Text
Ad*Access provides images and information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911-1957 in five main subject areas: Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II. Provided by Duke University Libraries.
Aesopica: Aesop's Fables in English, Latin and Greek
Coverage: Full Text
Index to and English translations of Aesop's Fables from Latin and Greek along with detailed information on historical editions of the published fables.
Africa Knowledge Project
Coverage: Full Text
The Africa Knowledge Project (AKP)disseminates Africa-centered, evidence-based knowledge on Africa and the global African diaspora by providing access to full text e-journals, news, literature and music databases.
African American Biographical Database (AABD)
Coverage: Full Text
Biographical information on thousands of African Americans 1790-1950, assembled from biographical dictionaries and other sources. Includes photos, illustrations, and the complete digitized text of the biographical reference sources. Provided by the Bell endowment.
Agricola
Coverage: Some Full Text
Online index of the National Agriculture Library. Locate journal articles, conference papers, books, audiovisuals, and other resources covering all aspects of agriculture and related science, including: laws & regulations, crops, livestock, research & technology, food & nutrition, marketing, trade, and more.
Alternative Press Index [API] (EBSCO)
Coverage: Some Full Text
API is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. Coverage begins in 1991.
Paper index available from 1971- 1991 in Reference. UMBC holds the Alternative Press backfile in Special Collections.
Amateur Press Publications: Fantasy & Science Fiction
Coverage: Index Only
Search for individual issues of science fiction and fantasy fanzines held in Special Collections. Search by keyword or browse by title.
America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being
Coverage: Full Text
Annual report presenting a statistical overview of the well-being of America's children. Content includes key indicators in seven domains: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education, and health.
America: History & Life (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
America: History and Life (AHL) indexes the historical literature on North America (US and Canada) from antiquity to the present. Includes articles, book reviews, links to full text sources.
American Cultural History: 19th Century
Coverage: Full Text
Webpage highlighting developnments in American culture in the 19th century, arranged by decade. Provides text and links to other websites on the development of art, business, economics, literature, society, and science and technology.
American Cultural History: 20th Century
Coverage: Full Text
Webpage highlighting developnments in American culture in the 20th century, arranged by decade. Provides text and links to other websites on the development of art, business, economics, literature, society, and science and technology.
American FactFinder
American FactFinder is the Census Bureau’s online tool for accessing a wide variety of population, economic, geographic, and housing information about the United States.
American Heritage Dictionary
Coverage: Full Text
The online American Heritage Dictionary provides free access to definitions and variants.
American Institute of Physics Journals Online
Coverage: Some Full Text
Search Scitation, an online database of scholarly journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and other special publications. Includes full-text of some journals published by the American Institute of Physics.
American Memory Collection [Library of Congress]
Selected digitized full text and image files from the Library of Congress collections. Includes selections from Presidential papers, Congressional documents, maps, pamphlets music and photographs from significant social, cultural and political movements.
American Museum of Natural History DSpace Digital Repository
Coverage: Full Text
The digital repository includes full-text PDFs of AMNH scientific publications,manuscripts, papers and more.
American National Biography Online
Coverage: c.975-
American National Biography [ANB] offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women whose lives have shaped the nation. The online edition of the ANB is updated quarterly with additions and revisions.
American Presidency Project
The American Presidency Project archives contain 87,393 documents related to the study of the Presidency. It has both current information and a document archive of primary sources including the papers of the presidents, State of the Union addresses, election statistics, speeches, more.
American School of Classical Studies at Athens: Digital Library
Since 1881 the American School has amassed a large collection of books, journals, photographs, notebooks, personal papers, maps, and scientific data sets relating to archaeological projects. This webiste provides a central point of access to these major digital resources and is organized both thematically and by department.
American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB) records
Coverage: 1906-2005
This collection of records of the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB) documents the society from its founding in 1906 through the present. This collection includes meetings, publications, correspondence, committees.
American Society for Cell Biology (ASCB) records
Coverage: 1960-1994
The records of the ASCB document the history of the society beginning with its initial organization in 1961. Correspondence, meeting minutes, agendas, reports, accounting & membership files provide a view of the Society's interests and activities.
American Society for Microbiology (ASM) Archives
The ASM archives house the records of the Society from its founding in 1899 to the present and various collections relating to the history of microbiology.
AMS Electronic Journals
Coverage: varies
Search or browse select journals from the American Mathematical Society.
Analytical Sciences Digital Library (ASDL)
The ASDL is a peer-reviewed digital library for the analytical sciences. Sections include analytical techniques, applications, teaching resources, experiments, tutorials, and much more.
Annual Reviews
Coverage: 1996 - present
Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 29 focused disciplines within the Biological, Medical, Physical, and Social Sciences. All Annual Reviews series are ranked within the top ten publications for their respective disciplines.
Anthropology Plus (EBSCO)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Anthropology Plus Provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies. Coverage from early 19th century.
Anthrosource (Blackwell)
Coverage: Full Text
AnthroSource offers full-text results from a searchable database containing past, present and future AAA publications, including more than 250,000 articles from AAA journals, newsletters, bulletins and monographs
Antibodypedia
Antibodypedia is a searchable database of antibodies against human proteins developed through collaboration between Antibodypedia AB and the Nature Publishing Group. It aims to provide the research community with information on the effectiveness of specific antibodies in specific applications—to help scientists select the right antibody for the right application.
Aozora Bunko
Coverage: Full Text
This site provides text files of thousands of out of copyright Japanese novels. Some files include rubi pronunciation guides.
Archaeological Sites in Israel
A cumulative index to full-text descriptions of archeological sites in Israel. Each record provides a historical context and important features of the site. Also available are links to excavation sites and the Israeli antiquities authority.
ArchiveGrid (OCLC)
Coverage: current
ArchiveGrid is a database for searching through historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world. Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions. Records include collection descriptions, content notes, links to Finding Aids (if available) and contact information.
Archives of Maryland Online
Coverage: Full Text
Archives of Maryland Online currently provides access to over 471,000 historical documents that form the constitutional, legal, legislative, judicial, and administrative basis of Maryland's government.
ArchNet
Coverage: Some Full Text
ArchNet serves is a WWW Virtual Library for Archaeology. It provides access to archaeological resources available on the Internet. Information is categorized by geographic region and subject.
ARIBIB [ARI Bibliographical Database for Astronomical References]
Coverage: Index Only
ARIBIB is an online bibliographic database for astronomical references. Search astronomy literature from 1898 through the middle of the year 2000.
Art Abstracts (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Art Abstracts provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts for more than 450 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Indexing spans from 1984 to the present.
Art History Resources on the Web
Coverage: Index Only
Index to art history websites with access to images. Includes art from from the various continents, prehistoric to contemporary times, as well as prints and photography. Created and maintained by Art History Prof. Cristopher L.E.C. Whitcombe.
Artcyclopedia
A search engine for artists and images. Provides access thousands of artworks from museum sites, image archives and other online resources Also provides biographical information on artists and entries on artistic movements.
ArticleFirst (OCLC)
Coverage: Index Only
A multidisciplinary index of articles published 1990-, from the contents pages of over 16000 journals. Results show full citation and holding libraries (no abstracts).
ArtLex Dictionary of Art
Coverage: Some Full Text
Includes over 3600 visual arts terms with definitions, illustrated and heavily cross-referenced with links to image files where possible. Also includes biographical and topical entries and indexes.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index®
Coverage: 1998-
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (ISI Web of Science) provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in nearly 1,200 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals, plus individually selected, relevant items from approximately 6,000 of the world's leading science and social sciences journals.
ArtSource
Online art jobs database. Access restricted to current UMBC students, faculty and staff. Login required.
ARTstor Digital Library
The ARTstor Digital Library is an online resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
ARTSYS: The articulation system [USM transfer credit evaluation]
Designed for evaluating credit equivalencies for Maryland colleges (2 yr and 4 yr) and univeristies. Viewing the online tutorial before use is highly recommened.
arXiv.org e-Print archive
Coverage: Full Text
Open access e-prints in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology.
ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality (ProQuest)
Coverage: Index Only
Indexes and abstracts articles devoted exclusively to research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers, and estuaries. A subset of Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management.
ASTM Standards on Disc
Coverage: Full Text
Ask at the Reference Desk for full-text on DVD-ROM. Full text of 12,000+ standards for metals, petroleum, construction, the environment and more. Disc must be used at the Reference Desk.
Australasian Digital Theses Program
Coverage: 2000-
The aim of the ADT program is to establish a distributed database of digital versions of theses produced by the postgraduate research students at Australian universities. The theses will be available worldwide via the web. The ideal behind the program is to provide access to, and promote Australian research to the international community.
AuthorMapper
AuthorMapper, an online tool for visualizing scientific research, enables document discovery based on author locations and geographic maps. AuthorMapper searches the Springer Journals collection and offers access to nearly one hundred fifty years’ of articles from more than 1,900 journals available on SpringerLink. Comprehensive coverage includes both current and archival content in all major subject areas including life science, medicine, engineering, mathematics, computer science, business, and law. Use the "MORE OPTIONS" feature for focused searches.
Avalon Project at Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History, &
Diplomacy
The Avalon Project provides digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. Coverage includes documents from ancient history to the present.
AWOL: The Ancient World Online
The primary focus of the blog will be notice and comment on open access material relating to the ancient world, but I will also include other kinds of networked information as it comes available.


