Skip navigation

Subject Retriever: Chemistry & Biochemistry

90 Chemistry & Biochemistry resources found!

Legend: place your cursor over an icon to identify:   Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff Free online resource CD-ROM: ask at Reference Desk Library use only available in Special Collections Learn how to use this resource

Article Databases

Back to Subject Retriever

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffAcademic Search Complete (Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffACS Electronic Journals
Search all 35 peer-reviewed journals and other publications of the American Chemical Society. Journals cover 7 core chemistry categories plus 8 additional categories. Topics: chemistry, biochemistry, chemical neuroscience, industrial & engineering chemistry, physical chemistry, food chemistry, inorganic chemistry, and medicinal chemistry.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffAnnual Reviews
Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 29 focused disciplines within the Biological, Medical, Physical, and Social Sciences. All Annual Reviews series are ranked within the top ten publications for their respective disciplines.

Free online resourceBioMed Central
Search the journals of BioMed Central, an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research. Some features require free registration.

Free online resourcebioRxiv: Preprint server for biology (Cold Springs Harbor Laboratory)
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. Articles are not peer-reviewed, edited, or typeset before being posted online. However, all articles undergo a basic screening process for offensive and/or non-scientific content. bioRxiv accepts preprints of articles covering all aspects of research in the life sciences but does not accept clinical studies or clinical trials.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffChemical Abstracts (via STNEasy)
Online access to Chemical Abstracts 5PM - 5AM. No login / password is needed. Click the "Start Your Session" button to begin searching.

Free online resourceChemical Sciences Article Repository (Royal Society of Chemistry)
The Chemical Sciences Repository offers free-to-access chemistry publications and integrated data. The repository functions as a central point through which users can access the Royal Society of Chemistry's open access articles, whether they are funded immediate open access articles, or articles that must be made open access after an embargo period, such as those funded by RCUK, the Wellcome Trust or NIH.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffComputers and Applied Science Complete (Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource
CASC provides indexing and abstracting for academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources in the engineering disciplines, computer theory and technology, including material concerning business and social implications of new developments.

Free online resourceE-Print Network (OSTI)
A searchable gateway to full-text preprints in physics, materials, and chemistry, and some biology, environmental sciences and nuclear medicine. For full-text R&D grey literature see DOE's Information Bridge.

Free online resourceEnergy Citations Database
Bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research and Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC).

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffEnvironmental Sciences & Pollution Management (ProQuest)
Provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 4000 scientific journals and thousands of other sources including conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books, and government publications.

Free online resourceETDE World Energy Base (ETDEWEB)
Searchable database of documents in the field of energy. Topics include environmental impact of energy production & use, including climate change, energy R&D, energy policy, and nuclear, coal, hydrocarbon, and renewable energy technologies.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffIndustrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A) (ProQuest)
Indexes and abstracts findings and practical applications in agricultural, food and beverage, chemical, and pharmaceutical industries. A subset of Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffMedline (EBSCO) Learn how to use this resource
MEDLINE provides authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.

Free online resourceNational Technical Information Service (NTIS) Gateway
Search the largest, central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today. Note: full reports are not available online. Please contact a librarian if you wish to acquire one.

Free online resourceOffice of Scientific & Technical Information (DOE)
OSTI provides searchable access to scientific and technical information in the physical sciences and other disciplines of concern to the Department of Energy (DOE). It provides access (full-text and/or citations) to research by, for, or of interest to the DOE including e-prints, pre-prints, grey lit, research reports and technical reports. Its key databases include Information Bridge, E-print Network, Science Conference Proceedings and so on.

Free online resourcePubChem Project
PubChem is a search tool for chemical information, divided into three areas: Compounds, substances and Bio Assays. Full entries provide information on molecular weigh and formula, structure, properties and links to additional information

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffPubMed (Free Medline)
PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Includes peer-reviewed articles, case reports, clinical trials, and much more. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffReaxys
Reaxys is a web-based interface for three chemical information databases: CrossFire Beilstein, CrossFire Gmelin, and Patent Chemistry Database (PCD). It provides quality, authoritative information in organic, inorganic and organometalic chemistry. Reaxys includes property data, preparation and reaction data, structure information, and much more.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffRoyal Society of Chemistry E-Journals
Search all journals published by the Royal Society of Chemistry. Full-text is available only for journals subscribed to by UMBC.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffScience Citation Index™ Expanded
Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI Web of Science) provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in approximately 7,100 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffScienceDirect (Elsevier Journals Online)
Search or browse over 2,500 science, technology, and medicine journals (1,700 currently subscribed). Full text is available ONLY for those titles subscribed to by UMBC. Abstracts and bibliographic information is available for all other titles.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffSciFinder
You must create an account using your @umbc.edu email address to use SciFinder.
SciFinder is a research discovery tool which provides access to research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, and more. Includes peer-reviewed articles, patents, chemical structures, chemical properties, chemical reactions, and much more. NOTE: Use of SciFinder Scholar is limited to current UMBC students, faculty, and staff ONLY. Account allows for a maximum of three concurrent users.
Need help? View a SciFinder tutorial.

Free online resourceThe Virtual Technical Reports Center
The institutions listed here provide either full-text reports, or searchable extended abstracts of their technical reports on the World Wide Web.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffToxicology Abstracts (ProQuest)
Indexes and abstracts the literature for toxicology studies of industrial and agricultural chemicals, household products, pharmaceuticals, the effects of alcohol and smoking, drug abuse, hydrocarbon studies, nitrosamines, radiation and radioactive materials, more. A subset of Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffToxline (ProQuest)
Indexes and abstracts all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. This version does not contain information from CAS, BIOSIS, or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts. A subset of Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffWeb of Science
Multidisciplinary database incorporating the Science Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and the Social Science Citation Index. Indexes over 8,000 high impact research journals, many of them peer-reviewed, and provides access to cited and citing references. Additional searchable resources on the Web of Science homepage through the "Additional Resources" tab.

EndNote Basic citation management software also available through Web of Science

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceEcoCyc
Encyclopedia of Escherichia coli K12 Genes and Metabolism: a searchable database describing the genome and the biochemical machinery of E. coli K-12.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffScience Reference Center (Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource
Topics covered in the Science Reference Center include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

Free online resourceScience.gov
Science.gov contains reliable government resources selected by the respective agencies as their best science information. Developed by an interagency working group of 17 scientific and technical information organizations from 12 major science agencies.

Handbooks

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 26 million structures from hundreds of Internet data sources. Provided by the Royal Society of Chemistry, it aggregates structures, spectra, properties, suppliers, syntheses, and other information into a single searchable repository with links back to the original sources.

Free online resourceMatWeb: Your Source for Materials Information
MatWeb is a searchable database of material data sheets, including property information on polymers and metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys, and ceramics. Properties include: density, hardness, tensile strength, thermal conductivity, electrical resistance, and more.

CD-ROM: ask at Reference DeskMolecular Conceptor
A multimedia course, based on thousand of articles and books, that teaches drug design and molecular modeling. Contains 1500 pages and features more than 1200 3D illustrations.

Free online resourceThermoDex
ThermoDex, maintained by the University of Texas, Austin, is a searchable directory focusing on thermodynamic properties. The search form also allows specification of classes of materials and specific compounds in combination with desired properties. A few publicly available Web sites are included in addition to the print sources. NOTE: ThermoDex lists resources available at UT Austin. Use catalogUSMAI to see if these resources are available at UMBC.

News Sources

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourcePubChem Project
PubChem is a search tool for chemical information, divided into three areas: Compounds, substances and Bio Assays. Full entries provide information on molecular weigh and formula, structure, properties and links to additional information

Patents

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceesp@cenet (European Patent Office)
Searchable databases provided by the European Patent Office including: Patent Abstracts of Japan, European Patents (EP), and The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). Includes English translations of patent descriptions.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffSciFinder
You must create an account using your @umbc.edu email address to use SciFinder.
SciFinder is a research discovery tool which provides access to research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, and more. Includes peer-reviewed articles, patents, chemical structures, chemical properties, chemical reactions, and much more. NOTE: Use of SciFinder Scholar is limited to current UMBC students, faculty, and staff ONLY. Account allows for a maximum of three concurrent users.
Need help? View a SciFinder tutorial.

Free online resourceUSPTO Web Patent Database
Full text of all US patents issued since January 1, 1976 and full-page images every US patent issued since 1790. Note: Patents issued between 1790 and 1976 are searchable only by patent number and current US classifications. Use patent fetcher to convert tiff files to pdf.

Web Sites

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceAmerican Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB) records
This collection of records of the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB) documents the society from its founding in 1906 through the present. This collection includes meetings, publications, correspondence, committees.

Free online resourceAmerican Society for Microbiology (ASM) Archives
The ASM archives house the records of the Society from its founding in 1899 to the present and various collections relating to the history of microbiology.

Free online resourceAnalytical Sciences Digital Library (ASDL)
The ASDL is a peer-reviewed digital library for the analytical sciences. Sections include analytical techniques, applications, teaching resources, experiments, tutorials, and much more.

Free online resourceBioethics Resources on the Web
Annotated links to resources providing background information and various positions on issues in bioethics. Includes case studies, tutorials, policies, educational resources, and much more. Provided by the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Free online resourceBiological Macromolecule Crystallization Database (BMCD)
Crystal data and crystallization conditions for over 40,000 molecules, including proteins and nucleic acids, various complexes, and viruses. Provided by NIST.

Free online resourceCACHE: Computer Aids for Chemical Engineering
Provides computer-related and/or technology-based educational aids for the chemical engineering profession. Teaching resources include course syllabi, software, simulations, and text material.

Free online resourceChemExper
Find chemical suppliers and simple chemical properties in the ChemExper chemical directory. Use advanced search to search for chemicals by structure, boiling point, melting point, density, and more.

Free online resourceChemID plus
A database of over 370,000 chemical records, including over 230,000 with structures. Find synonyms, structures, registry numbers, formulas, properties, and toxicity information. Search by name, structure, CAS Registry Number, chemical property, toxicity, or molecular weight.

Free online resourceChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 26 million structures from hundreds of Internet data sources. Provided by the Royal Society of Chemistry, it aggregates structures, spectra, properties, suppliers, syntheses, and other information into a single searchable repository with links back to the original sources.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffCold Spring Harbor Protocols
Source of new and classic biomedical research techniques. Currently it contains over 700 methods in molecular and cell biology and it covers cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging.

Free online resourceDGR Web (Directory of Graduate Research)
Searchable online version of the American Chemical Society's Directory of Graduate Research - a comprehensive source of information on chemical research and researchers at universities in the U.S. and Canada.

Free online resourceECHO: Exploring & collecting history online
Since 2001 the Echo project has used the Internet to collect and present the recent history of science, technology, and industry. Echo provides a centralized guide and portal for those seeking websites on the history of science and technology.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffECS (Electrochemical Society) Digital Library
The Digital Library (DL) provides searchable online access to the various journals, books, and other collections published by The Electrochemical Society. Includes the Journal of the Electrochemical Society and Electrochemical & Solid-State Letters.

Free online resourceElemental Data Index
Select an element in the periodic table to display: atomic weight, ionization energy, ground-state level, and ground-state configuration. Also provides links to atomic spectra, x-ray and gamma ray data, and other nuclear physics data. Provided by NIST.

Free online resourceEMCI Chemical References
Search the full text of the Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA's) Major Program Systems webpages. Data on hazardous materials and their manufacturers.

Free online resourceEntrez, the Life Sciences Search Engine
Searchable databases including: Nucleotide Sequence (GenBank, RefSeq, and PDB), Protein Sequence, Genome, Structure, Taxonomy, and many more. From the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).

Free online resourceEnzyme Database - BRENDA
BRENDA is the main collection of enzyme functional data available to the scientific community. Contents include: nomenclature, reaction & specificity, functional parameters, enzyme structure, isolation & preparation, and more.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffEssential Practices for Managing Chemical Reactivity Hazards
This free e-book is useful for safety managers, chemists and engineers alike to identify, address and manage chemical reactivity hazards.

Free online resourceEssential Science Indicators - Special Topics
Citation analyses and commentary for selected scientific research areas that have experienced notable recent advances or are of special current interest. Includes citation rankings for scientists, institutions, nations, and journals.

Free online resourceFinding Aid to the Records of the American Association of Immunologists (AAI)
This collection of records of the American Association of Immunologists documents the Association's activities primarily from 1941-1992. The correspondence, reports, minutes, newsletters, programs, etc. provide a view of the Association's later years.

Free online resourceGenBank
Entrez (DNA and protein sequence data, 3D structure data, and associated MEDLINE entries), BLAST (sequence similarity search tool), dbEST (Database of Expressed Sequence Tags), and dbSTS (Database of Sequence Tagged Sites). By NCBI.

Free online resourceGeneral Chemistry Online
Excellent guide for first-year chemistry students. Includes tutorials, simulations, and glossary of chemical terms.

Free online resourceGenetic Analysis Software [North Shore LIJ Research Institute]
Computer software on the following topics are included here: genetic linkage analysis, marker mapping, linkage disequilibrium mapping, and pedigree drawing. Many programs can be downloaded from this site linked to the Linkage & Mapping Software Repository

Free online resourceHuman Mitochondrial Protein Database
Comprehensive data on mitochondrial and human nuclear encoded proteins involved in mitochondrial biogenesis and function. Provided by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).

Free online resourceIUPAC Compendium of Analytical Nomenclature
Online version of the IUPAC Compendium of Analytical Nomenclature "Orange Book"

Free online resourceIUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology
Online version of the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) Compendium of Chemical Terminology "Gold Book"

Free online resourceIUPAC Nomenclature of Organic Chemistry
Online version of the IUPAC Nomenclature of Organic Chemistry "Blue Book".

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffLarge-Scale Adsorption and Chromatography, Volumes 1-2
This book presents a unified, up-to-date development of operating methods used for large-scale adsorption and chromatography.

Free online resourceMaterial Safety Data Sheets (MSDS)
100 free internet sources for MSDS, which contain physical data (melting point, boiling point, flash point etc.), toxicity, health effects, first aid, reactivity, storage, disposal, protective equipment, and spill/leak procedures for many substances.

Free online resourceMatWeb: Your Source for Materials Information
MatWeb is a searchable database of material data sheets, including property information on polymers and metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys, and ceramics. Properties include: density, hardness, tensile strength, thermal conductivity, electrical resistance, and more.

Free online resourceNational Science Digital Library (NSDL)
Online library of resources for science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education and research.

Free online resourceNIST Atomic Spectra Database
This database provides access and search capability for NIST critically evaluated data on atomic energy levels, wavelengths, and transition probabilities.

Free online resourceNIST Chemistry WebBook
Find chemical and physical property data, spectra, etc. Search by chemical formula, name, CAS registry number, and more.

Free online resourceNIST X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy Database
Searchable database of over 22,000 line positions, chemical shifts, doublet splittings, and energy separations of photoelectron and Auger-electron lines. Provided by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)

Free online resourceNuclear Data Dissemination Home Page
Web-accessible version of the "Table of Isotopes" provides nuclear structure and radioactive decay data

Free online resourceOnline Ethics.Org
Online Ethics Center for engineering and science

Free online resourceOrganic Chemistry Portal
The Organic Chemistry Portal offers an overview of recent topics, interesting reactions, and information on the most important chemicals. Includes job market and links to chemical resources and suppliers.

Free online resourcePhysical Constants
CODATA Recommended Values of the Fundamental Physical Constants, via National Institute of Standards and Technology.

Free online resourceProtein Data Bank
Worldwide depository of information about the three-dimensional structures of large biological molecules, including proteins and nucleic acids.

Free online resourcePubChem Project
PubChem is a search tool for chemical information, divided into three areas: Compounds, substances and Bio Assays. Full entries provide information on molecular weigh and formula, structure, properties and links to additional information

Free online resourceScience Accelerator (OSTI)
Search the information resources of the U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE's) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI). These resources contain the results of DOE research and development (R&D) projects and programs, descriptions of R&D projects under way or recently completed, major R&D accomplishments, and recent research of interest to DOE.

Free online resourceScience Watch
Track hot or emerging fields as well as national and international trends in basic research.

Free online resourceScorecard: the Pollution Information Site
Search for information about hazardous chemicals and pollution in your community, including toxic chemical releases, air pollutants, and water pollutants.

Free online resourceSpectral Database for Organic Compounds (SDBS)
SDBS is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds, including: electron impact Mass spectra (EI-MS); Fourier transform infrared spectra (FT-IR); 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectra; 13C NMR spectra; laser Raman spectra; electron spin resonance (ESR) spectra. From the National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), Japan

Free online resourceSpectroscopyNOW.com
Free spectroscopy portal covering all aspects of spectroscopy. Includes news, techniques, information, resources, and services.

Free online resourceThe Biology Project
The Biology Project is an interactive online resource for learning biology, developed at The University of Arizona. Units include: Biochemistry, Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, Mendelian Genetics, and Molecular Biology.

Free online resourceThermoDex
ThermoDex, maintained by the University of Texas, Austin, is a searchable directory focusing on thermodynamic properties. The search form also allows specification of classes of materials and specific compounds in combination with desired properties. A few publicly available Web sites are included in addition to the print sources. NOTE: ThermoDex lists resources available at UT Austin. Use catalogUSMAI to see if these resources are available at UMBC.

Free online resourceToxFAQs: Hazardous Substance Fact Sheets
Frequently asked questions (FAQs) about exposure to hazardous substances found around hazardous waste sites and the effects of exposure on human health. Provided by the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR) Division of Toxicology.

Free online resourceToxicant and Disease Database
Provided by the The Collaborative on Health and the Environment (CHE), the Toxicant and Disease Database is a searchable database that summarizes links between chemical contaminants and approximately 180 human diseases or conditions.

Free online resourceToxNet
Includes Hazardous Substances Data Bank, Toxic Chemical Release Inventory, Integrated Risk Information System, Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances, Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System, Genetic Toxicology, and others.

Free online resourceWebElements
Searchable periodic chart of the elements with in-depth information on each element.

Free online resourceWorldWideScience.org: the global science gateway
WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals. WorldWideScience.org accelerates scientific discovery and progress by providing one-stop searching of databases from around the world.

Back to Subject Retriever
Have Questions?
Ask a Librarian

Research Help

Subject Guides

Research Guides & Tutorials

Ask a Librarian

Contact a Subject Librarian

Information Literacy

Glossary of Library Terms

Database Webinars

FAQs