Skip navigation

Subject Retriever: Business and Economics

35 Business and Economics resources found!

Legend: place your cursor over an icon to identify:   Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff Free online resource CD-ROM: ask at Reference Desk Library use only available in Special Collections Learn how to use this resource

Article Databases

Back to Subject Retriever

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffAcademic Search Complete (Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffBusiness Source Premier (Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource
Business Source Premier indexes over 3300 journals and magazines on all aspects of business going back to 1896, providing full text on over 2200, including almost 1100 peer reviewed titles.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffEconLit (Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource
Subject indexing and abstracts of journals, books, collective volumes, dissertations, and working papers in Economics.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffEconomics Research Network (ERN)
SSRN community for economics scholars, practitioners, and policymakers throughout the world. Includes job listings and links to NBER working papers. New users join here.

Free online resourceIDEAS: Economic and Finance Research
Free bibliographic database dedicated to Economics. Includes working papers, articles, chapters, books, and software.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffJSTOR
Electronic archive of selected core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of all titles indexed from Volume 1 to most current available (embargo periods apply). UMBC subscribes to Arts & Science I - X; Health & General Science; Ecology & Botany; and Life Sciences.
JSTOR eBOOKS are now available. Use Advanced Search and Narrow by = Books. Full text of complete works are available as chapter downloads (pdfs).

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffNational Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers
Full-text of working papers from NBER, a private, nonpartisan research organization. Research is conductied by more than 500 university professors around the country. Papers are listed by topic under "PROGRAMS"

Free online resourceNational Technical Information Service (NTIS) Gateway
Search the largest, central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today. Note: full reports are not available online. Please contact a librarian if you wish to acquire one.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffPublic Affairs Information Service (PAIS International) (ProQuest)
PAIS International indexes citations to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature and research reports back to 1972. PAIS Archive contains the records from PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin 1915-1976.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffSocial Sciences Citation Index®
Social Sciences Citation Index (ISI Web of Science) provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 2,100 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines, plus individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,500 of the world's leading science and technology journals.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffValue Line Investment Survey (Standard Edition)
Investment resource containing (1) Ratings and Reports: weekly selection of full-page stock reports with updated analysis on approximately 130 stocks in a handful of industries, presented on a rotating basis (2) Summary & Index: summary information on all stocks in the Investment Survey, plus statistics (3) Selection & Opinion: current economic and market statistics and forecasts, examinations of various “story stocks,” and news and commentary on markets and economies.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffWeb of Science
Multidisciplinary database incorporating the Science Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and the Social Science Citation Index. Indexes over 8,000 high impact research journals, many of them peer-reviewed, and provides access to cited and citing references. Additional searchable resources on the Web of Science homepage through the "Additional Resources" tab.

EndNote Basic citation management software also available through Web of Science

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceEH. Net Encyclopedia
EH.Net Encyclopedia of Economic and Business History is designed to provide students and laymen with high quality reference articles in the field. Articles for the Online Encyclopedia are written by experts, screened by authorities, and carefully edited.

Handbooks

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceOccupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook includes detailed profiles of hundreds of occupations and describes: What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes BLS employment projections for the 2010–20 decade.

News Sources

Back to Subject Retriever

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffRegional Business News (Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource
Comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications, more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Statistics

Back to Subject Retriever

Library use onlyCompustat Research Insight
Compiled by S & P, Compustat contains 20 years of financial statements and market summaries on 11,000 North American companies. Only available at the Reference Desk during working hours. The Reference Desk is on the first floor of the Library.

Free online resourceCountry Studies
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world. Formerly called US Army Area Handbooks

Free online resourceCounty Business Patterns
Annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. Useful for studying the economic activity of small areas, analyzing economic changes over time, and as a benchmark for statistical series and surveys between economic censuses.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffInternational Historical Statistics (Palgrave)
IHS is a collection of statistical data from around the world, covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. The collection includes 260 years of rich data, collected between 1750-2010 on the Americas and Europe, Africa, Asia and Oceania. It is a valuable resource to those researching and studying Business, Economics, Environmental Studies, Geography, History, Politics, Sociology and Statistical Studies. Data tables can be downloaded as ePDFs and/or Excel files.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffLiterary Marketplace
LiteraryMarketPlace.com brings the power of automated searching to the world's largest, most complete database of the book publishing industry. Find publishers by subject and/or type of publication, by size of market or number of publications; find literary agents and other industry information.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffOECD iLibrary [formerly SourceOECD]
OECD's Online Library of Statistical Databases, Books and Periodicals. Access statistics and articles on member countries individually or by region.

Free online resourceU.S. International Trade Statistics
U.S. trade statistics by country and by product (SITC codes). Data is available by month and cumulatively by year since 1996. Definitions of terms are available at linked websites.

Free online resourceUNdata
Official statistics and country profiles. Topics covered include: agriculture, crime, education, employment, energy, environment, health, HIV/AIDS, human development, industry, information and communication technology, national accounts, population, refugees, tourism, and trade. Provided by the United Nations Statistics Division.

Free online resourceWorld Bank: Data
The resources available on the World Bank site are extensive, and include an Open Knowledge Repository (this went active in July of 2012), several research, teaching, and learning tools, news, live sessions with experts, widgets to push data to user websites, API downloads for developers, and the Data Catalog of available World Bank datasets.

Web Sites

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceAvalon Project at Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History, & Diplomacy
The Avalon Project provides digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. Coverage includes documents from ancient history to the present.

Free online resourceBack Stage: The Actor's Resource
A comprehensive resource for actors. BackStage.com addresses all aspects of the entertainment industry. Includes casting notices, film & TV production listings, production & industry interviews, audition coverage, and other features of interest to both working actors and aspiring actors.

Free online resourceCountry Studies
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world. Formerly called US Army Area Handbooks

Free online resourceGlassdoor - Company Salaries, Reviews, and Interview Questions
A comprehensive career resource with information on thousands of companies. Glassdoor includes salary and bonuses and details for specific jobs at specific companies, as well as actual interview questions and hiring process details. Also included are reviews written by employees that highlight the pro's and con's of working for a particular employer.

Free online resourceGlobalSpec - the Engineering Search Engine
The world's largest collection of online supplier catalogs searchable by specification. Some parts of the site require free registration.

Free online resourceMaryland Department of Assessments and Taxation: Taxpayer Services Division
The Division is the custodian of records (both foreign and domestic) of corporations, limited liability companies, limited liability partnerships, limited partnerships, limited liability limited partnerships, and trade names for other businesses. It also maintains records on the filing of security interests (UCC filings) and the assessment of taxable personal property for these businesses. Rate Stabilization Property Notices for electric companies are filed with this office. Includes information on existing businesses and has forms for starting a business or altering an existing one.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffOECD iLibrary [formerly SourceOECD]
OECD's Online Library of Statistical Databases, Books and Periodicals. Access statistics and articles on member countries individually or by region.

Free online resourceSEC Filings & Forms (EDGAR)
Electronic archive of reports filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission by publicly traded companies.

Free online resourceSIC Code Index
Index to Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) codes.

Free online resourceThomasNet (formerly Thomas Register)
ThomasNet is the most comprehensive online resource for finding companies and products manufactured in North America. Includes product, company, and brand name searching and access to industry specific searching. No login needed.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffValue Line Investment Survey (Standard Edition)
Investment resource containing (1) Ratings and Reports: weekly selection of full-page stock reports with updated analysis on approximately 130 stocks in a handful of industries, presented on a rotating basis (2) Summary & Index: summary information on all stocks in the Investment Survey, plus statistics (3) Selection & Opinion: current economic and market statistics and forecasts, examinations of various “story stocks,” and news and commentary on markets and economies.

Back to Subject Retriever
Have Questions?
Ask a Librarian

Research Help

Subject Guides

Research Guides & Tutorials

Ask a Librarian

Contact a Subject Librarian

Information Literacy

Glossary of Library Terms

Database Webinars

FAQs