Skip navigation

Subject Retriever: Asian Studies

22 Asian Studies resources found!

Legend: place your cursor over an icon to identify:   Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff Free online resource CD-ROM: ask at Reference Desk Library use only available in Special Collections Learn how to use this resource

Article Databases

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceCiNii Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator
Provide access to bibliographic and some full-text (free or fee-based) information of papers, theses, books, and magazines, as well as other specialized academic information. Some contents are in English. Instruction for using the database can be found at http://www.fas.harvard.edu/~ncc/eresources/guides/cinii.pdf

Free online resourceHong Kong Journals Online
It is a database covering selected academic and professional journals (see http://sunzi1.lib.hku.hk/hkjo/browse.jsp for the list), both in English and Chinese. It is provided by the University of Hong Kong Libraries.

Free online resourceJAIRO (Japanese Institutional Repositories Online)
Developed at the National Institute of Informatics, JAIRO provides partial free full text access to millions of academic resources, including journal/conference articles, theses and dissertations, research reports, books, from hundreds of research institutions in Japan.

Free online resourceNational Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations in Taiwan
The national digital library in Taiwan provides open access to the index of thesis and dissertations published by universities in Taiwan.

Free online resourceNational Taiwan University press database
It provides free access to selective articles from their periodicals, covering literature, social science, arts and science etc..

Digital collections

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceAozora Bunko
This site provides text files of thousands of out of copyright Japanese novels. Some files include rubi pronunciation guides.

Free online resourceCornell Modern Indonesia Project
This site was initiated in the 1950s by faculty members in Cornell's Southeast Asia Program, online access to Project publications - Interim reports, Translations, Monographs and Bibliographies - 75 titles currently available.

Free online resourceCrossAsia
The East and Southeast Asia Virtual Library - CrossAsia - offers access to research information in East and Southeast Asian studies, a portal to digital resources, online journals and databases.

Free online resourceDensho: The Japanese American Legacy Project
Densho uses digital technology to preserve and make accessible primary source materials on the World War II incarceration of Japanese Americans. The Densho Digital Archive contains more than 1,400 hours of interviews, visual histories of Japanese Americans and others affected by the World War II incarceration. Also included are over 12,000 historical images documenting Japanese American history.

Free online resourceDigital Library from the Meiji Era
This database from the National Diet Library of Japan provides full-text access to works from the Meiji (1868-1912) and Taisho (1912-1926) periods. Generally, only the bibliographic information and table of contents are searchable.

Free online resourceDigital Library of India
This site is dedicated to digitizing and making freely available "one million books, predominantly in Indian languages, on science, arts, culture, music, movies, traditional medicine, palm leaves and many more." Books included are from 1850 to present and may be searched by time blocks, subject, language, author/title or keyword. As of 2008, over 25,000 titles are in English.

Free online resourceDigital South Asia Library
It provides digital materials for reference and research on South Asia to scholars, public officials, business leaders, and other users.

Free online resourceHong Kong LIS Dissertations and Theses Collections (DTC)
Dissertations and Theses Collections (DTC) is an online union collection of Hong Kong postgraduate studentsí doctoral and master dissertations and theses indexed in the online catalogs of seven university libraries in Hong Kong. Includes some online full text.

Free online resourceKobe University Library Newspaper Clippings Collection
It provides indexes and some full texts of selective newspaper articles that were published in Japan and Japanese colonies from the late Meiji Period to Showa 45 (1970).

Free online resourceMahatma Gandhi University Online Theses Library
This Online Digital Theses library created by the Mahatama Gandhi University (Kerala, India) provides access to more than 1,000 Ph.D theses in English, Hindi, Malayalam and Sanskrit.

Free online resourceNational Taiwan University press database
It provides free access to selective articles from their periodicals, covering literature, social science, arts and science etc..

Free online resourceNaver News Archive Service (1920-1999)
It provides full text search by date and subject of these three newspaper archives: Kyonghyang Sinmun, Tonga Ilbo, and Maeil Kyongje.

Free online resourceSoutheast Asia Digital Library
This collaborative project created free online access to digitized books, photographs, oral history, manuscripts and video footage from across Southeast Asia.

Free online resourceThe Vietnam Center and Archive, Texas Tech University [Virtual Vietnam Archive]
The mission of the Vietnam Project at Texas Tech University is to support research & education regarding all aspects of the history of the American Vietnam experience. Materials include full text documents, maps, oral histories, diaries, videos, other.

Free online resourceVidyanidhi - Digital Library and E-Scholarship Portal
Vidyanidhi is "a portal of resources, tools and facilities for doctoral research in India". Vidyanidhi is envisioned to evolve as a national repository and a consortium for e-theses through participation and partnership with universities, academic institutions and other stake holders.

Primary source collections

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceDensho: The Japanese American Legacy Project
Densho uses digital technology to preserve and make accessible primary source materials on the World War II incarceration of Japanese Americans. The Densho Digital Archive contains more than 1,400 hours of interviews, visual histories of Japanese Americans and others affected by the World War II incarceration. Also included are over 12,000 historical images documenting Japanese American history.

Statistics

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceChina Data Online
It includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development, statistical databases about China's population and economy at the county and city level, and financial indicators of more than 568 industrial branches. Also includes statistical yearbooks, industrial and marketing surveys, and an atlas of China

Back to Subject Retriever
Have Questions?
Ask a Librarian

Research Help

Subject Guides

Research Guides & Tutorials

Ask a Librarian

Contact a Subject Librarian

Information Literacy

Glossary of Library Terms

Database Webinars

FAQs