Skip navigation

Subject Retriever: Media & Communications Studies

34 Media & Communications Studies resources found!

Legend: place your cursor over an icon to identify:   Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff Free online resource CD-ROM: ask at Reference Desk Library use only available in Special Collections Learn how to use this resource

Article Databases

Back to Subject Retriever

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffAcademic Search Complete (Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffAlternative Press Index [API] (EBSCO) Learn how to use this resource
API is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. Coverage begins in 1991.
Paper index available from 1971- 1991 in Reference. UMBC holds the Alternative Press backfile in Special Collections.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffBusiness Source Premier (Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource
Business Source Premier indexes over 3300 journals and magazines on all aspects of business going back to 1896, providing full text on over 2200, including almost 1100 peer reviewed titles.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffCommunication Source (Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource
Full text for more than 800 titles, and indexing and abstracting for more than 1000 titles. Covered subjects include: communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffCQ (Congressional Quarterly) Weekly
In-depth reports on issues looming in Congress, along with a complete wrap up of the previous week's news; includes the status of bills in play, behind the scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates, and roll-call votes.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffHistorical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2008) (Proquest)
New York Times full page and article images (.pdfs) from 1851-2008. Includes indexing and abstracting with fully searchable text back to the first issue.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffHumanities International Complete (Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database providing full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. The database includes more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records with full text for more than 1,200 journals.

Free online resourceJournalist's Resource (Harvard Kennedy School)
The Journalist's Resource project is run by the Harvard Kennedy School. It offers access to scholarly reports and papers of interest to media practitioners, educators, students and others. Included material is empirically based, peer-reviewed, published, and the product of a major university, government body, or nonpartisan research organization.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffLexisNexis Academic Learn how to use this resource
Includes NEWS: major U.S. and world newspapers, broadcast transcripts, foreign language publications, premium blogs and Twitter® feeds, and foreign language publications; LEGAL: law reviews and journals, Federal and State cases and statutes, and Shepard’s Citation Service; and BUSINESS: company profiles and dossiers, and SEC documents.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffNational Newspapers (Proquest)
Indexes, abstracts and provides full text for the following:
Baltimore Sun: 1990 - present
Christian Science Monitor: 1988 - present
New York Times + Book Review & Magazine: 1999 - present
Wall Street Journal: 1984 - present
Washington Post: 1987 - present
Does not include pictures or graphics


Free online resourceRand Abstracts
Indexes Rand policy reports on national defense, education and training, health care, criminal and civil justice, labor and population, science and technology, community development, international relations, and regional studies.

Digital collections

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceAd*Access
Ad*Access provides images and information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911-1957 in five main subject areas: Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II. Provided by Duke University Libraries.

Free online resourceC-Span Video Library
The C-SPAN Archives includes all C-SPAN programming aired since 1987, and can be viewed online for free. The Archives records all three C-SPAN networks seven days a week, twenty-four hours a day. Duplicate copies of most programs that have aired since 1987 can be obtained and used for education, research, review or home viewing purposes.

Free online resourceJournalist's Resource (Harvard Kennedy School)
The Journalist's Resource project is run by the Harvard Kennedy School. It offers access to scholarly reports and papers of interest to media practitioners, educators, students and others. Included material is empirically based, peer-reviewed, published, and the product of a major university, government body, or nonpartisan research organization.

Free online resourceLIFE photo archive (hosted by Google)
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.

Free online resourceOpen CRS: CRS Reports for the People
American taxpayers spend nearly $100 million a year to fund the Congressional Research Service, a "think tank" that provides reports to members of Congress on a variety of topics relevant to current political events. Yet, these reports are not made available to the public in a way that they can be easily obtained. A project of the Center for Democracy & Technology, Open CRS provides citizens access to CRS Reports that are already in the public domain and encourages Congress to provide public access to all CRS Reports.

News Sources

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceFreedom of the Press
Index to statistics, news and commentary on press freedom in the world. Online editions available from 2002-, historical data from 1980.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffHistorical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2008) (Proquest)
New York Times full page and article images (.pdfs) from 1851-2008. Includes indexing and abstracting with fully searchable text back to the first issue.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffLexisNexis Academic Learn how to use this resource
Includes NEWS: major U.S. and world newspapers, broadcast transcripts, foreign language publications, premium blogs and Twitter® feeds, and foreign language publications; LEGAL: law reviews and journals, Federal and State cases and statutes, and Shepard’s Citation Service; and BUSINESS: company profiles and dossiers, and SEC documents.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffNational Newspapers (Proquest)
Indexes, abstracts and provides full text for the following:
Baltimore Sun: 1990 - present
Christian Science Monitor: 1988 - present
New York Times + Book Review & Magazine: 1999 - present
Wall Street Journal: 1984 - present
Washington Post: 1987 - present
Does not include pictures or graphics


Primary source collections

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceAmateur Press Publications: Fantasy & Science Fiction
Search for individual issues of science fiction and fantasy fanzines held in Special Collections. Search by keyword or browse by title.

Free online resourceInternet Archive
The Internet Archive focuses on preservation and providing access to digital cultural artifacts. Collections include text, visual, and audio files in a variety of formats, including archived web pages and sites.

Free online resourceMedia History Digital Library
The Media History Digital Library digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. Collections include: Fan Magazines, Early Cinema, Broadcasting, Technical Journals, and more.

Free online resourceThe Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials 1952-2008
The Living Room Candidate contains more than 300 commercials, from every presidential election since 1952.Credits, transcripts and descriptive text available.

Web Sites

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceCongress.org
Directory of congressional members (House and Senate) and their committee assignments, biographical information and contact information.

Free online resourceCritical Theory and Cultural Studies
It is offered by the EServer, an arts and humanities e-publishing co-op, based at Iowa State University where hundreds of writers, editors and scholars publish their works. Contains texts in sociology, literary theory, film/video studies, and cultural anthropology.

Free online resourceDialogue
Dialogue is an award-winning weekly radio program that explores the world of ideas through conversations with renowned public figures, scholars, journalists, and authors. This site includes streaming audio of all Dialogue programs since 1998, searchable by subject and year. Presented by the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffGallup Brain [Gallup Poll News Service]
Current and historical data from one of the leading public opinion research firms.

Free online resourceLegistalker: online activity of members of Congress
very day, Congress relies more and more on the Internet to communicate with the world. Legistalker makes it easy for you to stay on top of what your elected officials say and how they vote. The ever-growing database is updated every 20 seconds, and relies on data from Twitter, YouTube, Capitol Words, literally hundreds of different news sources, and others.

Free online resourceNational Urban League Archive
Full text archive of selected speeches, articles and columns from NUL publications and press releases from the National Urban League.

Free online resourceOpenSecrets.org from the Center For Responsive Politics
The Center for Responsive Politics is a non-partisan, non-profit research group based in Washington, D.C. that tracks money in politics, and its effect on elections and public policy. Campaign finance issues, PACS information, debate info, more.

Free online resourcePublic Agenda
Public Agenda is a nonprofit organization that explores public opinion and produces citizen education materials. Their goal is to provide polling and other data to clarify public attitudes about complex policy issues.

Free online resourcePugwash Online: Conferences on Science & World Affairs
The purpose of the Pugwash Conferences is to bring together, from around the world, influential scholars and public figures concerned with reducing the danger of armed conflict and seeking cooperative solutions for global problems. This site offers the full text of Pugwash Conference Reports (1998-), newletters, statements and histories.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffUlrich's International Periodicals Directory
Information on over 240,000 serials, including details on almost 55,000 ceased titles. Records include information on serials' subscription information, publisher, indexing sources, and refereed/non-refereed status.

Back to Subject Retriever
Have Questions?
Ask a Librarian

Research Help

Subject Guides

Research Guides & Tutorials

Ask a Librarian

Contact a Subject Librarian

Information Literacy

Glossary of Library Terms

Database Webinars

FAQs