Skip navigation

Subject Retriever: Ancient Studies

53 Ancient Studies resources found!

Legend: place your cursor over an icon to identify:   Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff Free online resource CD-ROM: ask at Reference Desk Library use only available in Special Collections Learn how to use this resource

Article Databases

Back to Subject Retriever

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffAcademic Search Premier (Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more.

Free online resourceArchaeological Sites in Israel
A cumulative index to full-text descriptions of archeological sites in Israel. Each record provides a historical context and important features of the site. Also available are links to excavation sites and the Israeli antiquities authority.

Free online resourceBibliography of the History of Art
The Getty Research Institute offers access to both RILA (1975-1989) and BHA (covering 1990-2007) including citations to books, articles, proceedings, catalogs, reviews, and dealers' catalogs about European and American visual arts from late antiquity to present. [Not linked to Find It. Use the catalog or A-to-Z to check holdings.]

Free online resourceDiotima: Materials for the Study of Women & Gender in the Ancient World
This site focuses on the study of women and gender in the ancient world, and includes bibliography, images and biblical studies.

Free online resourceEtana / ABZU: Electronic Tools and Near East Archives.
Abzu is a guide to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world. It includes websites, full text articles, reviews of books, more.

Free online resourceGnomon Bibliographic Database
The Gnomon Bibliographic Database covers almost half a million publications in the fields of Ancient History, Archaeology and Philology, including a thesaurus and search engine. Included are monthly updates of citations to reviews, monograph studies,anthologies, and articles in periodicals.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffHumanities International Complete (Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database providing full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. The database includes more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records with full text for more than 1,200 journals.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffJSTOR
Electronic archive of selected core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of all titles indexed from Volume 1 to most current available (embargo periods apply). UMBC subscribes to Arts & Science I - X; Health & General Science; Ecology & Botany; and Life Sciences.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffL'Année philologique
L'Année philologique on the Internet is a database of classical bibliography. Coverage starts with volume 1 (1924-1926) and is available through the current volume. Published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique.

Free online resourceNestor: bibliography of the Aegean and related areas
Nestor is an international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields concerning the Aegean: all of Greece, Albania, and Cyprus, the southern area of Bulgaria, and the western and southern areas of Turkey. The database searches issues 1959-2010, later issues may be searched individually.

Free online resourceORB: The Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies
ORB is an academic site, written and maintained by medieval scholars for the benefit of their fellow instructors and serious students. ORB provides access to full length textbooks, encyclopedia articles, bibliographies and primary source materials.

Free online resourcePerseus Online
A digital library of resources for studying the ancient world. The library's materials include ancient texts and translations, philological tools, maps, extensively illustrated art catalogs, and images.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffProject Muse
Searchable full-text of select journals in the humanities and social sciences. UMBC subscribes to its Basic Undergraduate Collection.

Access Free Sample Books on Project MUSE Beta Site



Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffSocial Sciences Citation Index®
Social Sciences Citation Index (ISI Web of Science) provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 2,100 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines, plus individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,500 of the world's leading science and technology journals.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffWeb of Knowledge
Multidisciplinary database covering the Arts & Humanities, Sciences, and Social Sciences. Indexes over 8,000 high impact research journals, many of them peer-reviewed, and provides access to cited and citing references. Additional searchable resources on the Web of Knowledge homepage through the "Additional Resources" tab.

EndNote Web citation management software also available through Web of Knowledge

Free online resourceWebsite Attica
Website Attica complements and enhances the published volumes of Persons of Ancient Athens. [REF DF 16.P47 1994] The addenda et corrigenda to the published volumes are updated at this site. Searches may be made:see the website for details.

Bibliography

Back to Subject Retriever

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffOxford Bibliographies Online
Current subscription to bibliographies for: Atlantic History, Classics, Social Work. Bibliographies can be searched individually or collectively. Topic entries include an overview plus resources with OCLC links for locating. No abstracts for individual resources.

Citation Searching

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceNational Archaeological Database
The National Archeological Database, Reports module, is an expanded bibliographic inventory of over 350,000 reports on archeological investigation and planning, mostly of limited circulation. This "gray literature" represents a large portion of the primary information available on archeological sites in the U.S.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceEncyclopaedia Iranica
The Encyclopædia Iranica is dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia and the Indian Subcontinent. The academic reference work will eventually cover all aspects of Iranian history and culture as well as all Iranian languages and literatures, facilitating the whole range of Iranian studies research from archeology to political sciences.

Free online resourceEncyclopedia Mythica
Over 4500 mythical figures from all religions.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffJacoby Online
Jacoby Online provides a revised edition of the Greek texts of Felix Jacoby’s Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker where relevant. It includes several new authors and many fragments of existing authors that were either unknown to Jacoby or excluded by him. It also gives commentaries in those cases where Jacoby failed to do so. Brill's New Jacoby presents facing English translations of the Greek fragments, a new, critical commentary, and a brief encyclopedia-style entry about each historian’s life and works, with a select bibliography.

Free online resourceLewis and Short Latin Dictionary
Dictionary of ancient Latin.

Free online resourceLiddell-Scott-Jones Lexicon of Classical Greek
Dictionary of ancient Greek. Includes terms from classics and mythology.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffNew Pauly Online
Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopedia of the Ancient World Online features the complete sets of Brill's New Pauly (in English) and Metzler's Der Neue Pauly (in German). The online version includes both sets of the print edition: Antiquity (factual articles on topics of ancient Greece, Rome and the greater Mediterranean world) and Classical Tradition (historical and contemporary scholarship on the influence of the Classical world).

Free online resourceORB: The Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies
ORB is an academic site, written and maintained by medieval scholars for the benefit of their fellow instructors and serious students. ORB provides access to full length textbooks, encyclopedia articles, bibliographies and primary source materials.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffSupplementum Epigraphicum Graecum Online
Brill's Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum systematically collects newly published Greek inscriptions as well as publications on previously known documents. It presents complete Greek texts of all new inscriptions with a critical apparatus; it summarizes new readings, interpretations, and studies of known inscriptions, and occasionally presents the Greek text of these documents.

CD-ROM: ask at Reference DeskThesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL)
TLL attempts to comprehend the entire Latin language, including both literary texts and documentary evidence (inscriptions, etc.). TLL is the authoritative starting point for all research involving Latin.

Digital collections

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceArchaeological Sites in Israel
A cumulative index to full-text descriptions of archeological sites in Israel. Each record provides a historical context and important features of the site. Also available are links to excavation sites and the Israeli antiquities authority.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffARTstor Digital Library
The ARTstor Digital Library is an online resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.

Free online resourceAWOL: The Ancient World Online
The primary focus of the blog will be notice and comment on open access material relating to the ancient world, but I will also include other kinds of networked information as it comes available.

Free online resourceEtana / ABZU: Electronic Tools and Near East Archives.
Abzu is a guide to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world. It includes websites, full text articles, reviews of books, more.

Free online resourceGetty Research Portal
The Getty Research Portal is an online search platform providing global access to digitized art history texts in the public domain. The Portal is comprised of catalog records that link to full, digitized texts held at contributing institutions.

Free online resourceThesaurus Linguae Graecae (abridged)
The abridged version of the Online TLG® provides free access to a number of representative works from authors such as Homer, Hesiod, Plato, Aristotle, the Greek tragedians and orators. You may browse and search the materials of this site but you may not download them.

E-books

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceBulfinch's Mythology
Full text of Bulfinch's Mythology: the Age of Fable, the Age of Chivalry, and Legends of Charlemagne

E-books

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceClassical Latin Texts
Also known as PHI Latin, this database contains virtually all classical Latin literary texts up to A.D.200.

Primary source collections

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceClassical Latin Texts
Also known as PHI Latin, this database contains virtually all classical Latin literary texts up to A.D.200.

Free online resourceThesaurus Linguae Graecae (abridged)
The abridged version of the Online TLG® provides free access to a number of representative works from authors such as Homer, Hesiod, Plato, Aristotle, the Greek tragedians and orators. You may browse and search the materials of this site but you may not download them.

Statistics

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceKOSIS National Statistical Portal
It facilitates access to statistical data (population, employment, inflation, income, education, culture etc.) that are provided by 160 organizations across Korea.

Web Sites

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceAesopica: Aesop's Fables in English, Latin and Greek
Index to and English translations of Aesop's Fables from Latin and Greek along with detailed information on historical editions of the published fables.

Free online resourceAmerican School of Classical Studies at Athens: Digital Library
Since 1881 the American School has amassed a large collection of books, journals, photographs, notebooks, personal papers, maps, and scientific data sets relating to archaeological projects. This webiste provides a central point of access to these major digital resources and is organized both thematically and by department.

Free online resourceArchNet
ArchNet serves is a WWW Virtual Library for Archaeology. It provides access to archaeological resources available on the Internet. Information is categorized by geographic region and subject.

Free online resourceAWOL: The Ancient World Online
The primary focus of the blog will be notice and comment on open access material relating to the ancient world, but I will also include other kinds of networked information as it comes available.

Free online resourceClassical Myth
Included are Olympian gods, timeline of Greek history and literature and a limited full-text bibliography of the works by Hesiod, Homer, Aeschylsu, Euripides, Sophocles, as applicable for course work at University of Victoria, B.C.

Free online resourceGodChecker
This site provides a genealogical listing of gods in mythology in all cultures

Free online resourceGovernment of India Directory of Official Websites
A one-point source to access all Indian Government Websites at all levels and from all sectors.

Free online resourceGreek Mythology Link
The Greek Mythology Link is a collection of the Greek myths written on line by Carlos Parada, author of the book 'Genealogical Guide to Greek Mythology',

Free online resourceInternet History of Science Sourcebook [from Fordham University]
The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use. The History of Science Sourcebook is a subset of the major sourcebooks.

Free online resourceInternet Sacred Text Archive
Includes religion, mythology, legend, folklore, occult and esoteric subjects

Free online resourceLantern Slides of Classical Antiquity
Online slide images. A Center for the Study of Architecture project in cooperation with Bryn Mawr College.

Free online resourceMythNet
Access to Olympians gods, great heross, and genealogical charts.

Free online resourceNestor: bibliography of the Aegean and related areas
Nestor is an international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields concerning the Aegean: all of Greece, Albania, and Cyprus, the southern area of Bulgaria, and the western and southern areas of Turkey. The database searches issues 1959-2010, later issues may be searched individually.

Free online resourceOxford Classical Mythology Online
Companion to Morford and Lenardon's 'Mythology'. Included are online maps.

Free online resourceTOCS-IN (Table of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists)
TOCS-IN provides table of contents from a selection of journals in the Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals. Searching is available in English or French, results are citations only.

Back to Subject Retriever
Have Questions?
Ask a Librarian

Research Help

Subject Guides

Research Guides & Tutorials

Ask a Librarian

Contact a Subject Librarian

Information Literacy

Glossary of Library Terms

Database Webinars

FAQs