Skip navigation

Subject Retriever: American Studies

87 American Studies resources found!

Legend: place your cursor over an icon to identify:   Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff Free online resource CD-ROM: ask at Reference Desk Library use only available in Special Collections Learn how to use this resource

Article Databases

Back to Subject Retriever

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffAcademic Search Complete (Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffAfrican American Biographical Database (AABD)
Biographical information on thousands of African Americans 1790-1950, assembled from biographical dictionaries and other sources. Includes photos, illustrations, and the complete digitized text of the biographical reference sources. Provided by the Bell endowment.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffAlternative Press Index [API] (EBSCO) Learn how to use this resource
API is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. Coverage begins in 1991.
Paper index available from 1971- 1991 in Reference. UMBC holds the Alternative Press backfile in Special Collections.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffAmerica: History & Life (Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource
America: History and Life (AHL) indexes the historical literature on North America (US and Canada) from antiquity to the present. Includes articles, book reviews, links to full text sources.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffAmerican National Biography Online
American National Biography [ANB] offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women whose lives have shaped the nation. The online edition of the ANB is updated quarterly with additions and revisions.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffArt Abstracts (Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource
Art Abstracts provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts for more than 450 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Indexing spans from 1984 to the present.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffBiography and Genealogy Master Index
Indexes current and retrospective reference works containing multiple biographies. 10 million+ entries.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffBusiness Source Premier (Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource
Business Source Premier indexes over 3300 journals and magazines on all aspects of business going back to 1896, providing full text on over 2200, including almost 1100 peer reviewed titles.

Free online resourceCatalog of U.S. Government Publications
This catalog provides access to U.S. government publications in full-text and other forms, and identifies locations for other forms of documents which are not full-text.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffCINAHL (Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource
CINAHL® provides indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health dating back to 1981. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffColumbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings and journal articles.

Free online resourceCultural policy and the Arts National Data Archive
An interactive digital archive of data on the arts and cultural policy in the U.S., available for research and statistical analysis, with data on artists, arts and cultural organizations, audiences, and funding for arts and culture.

Free online resourceDiotima: Materials for the Study of Women & Gender in the Ancient World
This site focuses on the study of women and gender in the ancient world, and includes bibliography, images and biblical studies.

CD-ROM: ask at Reference DeskDISCovering multicultural America
A combined source for information on significant people, places, documents, organizations, events and issues concerning ethnic and native Americans.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffERIC (EBSCO) Learn how to use this resource
ERIC indexes Current Journals in Education (CIJE)and Resources in Education(RIE), containing more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffHistorical Abstracts (Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource
Historical Abstracts indexes journals covering world history from 1450 to the present (for the United States and Canada use America: History & Life). Currently over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffHistorical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2008) (Proquest)
New York Times full page and article images (.pdfs) from 1851-2008. Includes indexing and abstracting with fully searchable text back to the first issue.

Free online resourceHome Economics Archive: Research Tradition History (HEARTH)
HEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines published between 1850 and 1950. The full text of these materials is freely accessible on this site.

Free online resourceHoover Institution on War, Revolution and Peace [Archive]
The Hoover Institution, Stanford University, is a public policy research center devoted to advanced study of politics, econ-omics, domestic and foreign political economy & international affairs. Search for full-text articles from the publications

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffHumanities International Complete (Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database providing full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. The database includes more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records with full text for more than 1,200 journals.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffJSTOR
Electronic archive of selected core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of all titles indexed from Volume 1 to most current available (embargo periods apply). UMBC subscribes to Arts & Science I - X; Health & General Science; Ecology & Botany; and Life Sciences.
JSTOR eBOOKS are now available. Use Advanced Search and Narrow by = Books. Full text of complete works are available as chapter downloads (pdfs).

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffLeft Index (Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource
A complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Coverage from the 1980's on.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffLION (Literature Online Complete)
Includes more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key criticism and reference resources. Includes the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature 1920-present.

Free online resourceMaking of America (MOA)
Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Subject areas include education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffMilitary & Government Collection (Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource
The Military & Government Collection offers current news and historical analysis pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Sources include periodicals, academic journals, and other content.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffMLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association - Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource
Subjects within the MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. Indexed materials include journal articles, books and dissertations dating back to the 1920's.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffNational Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers
Full-text of working papers from NBER, a private, nonpartisan research organization. Research is conductied by more than 500 university professors around the country. Papers are listed by topic under "PROGRAMS"

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffNational Newspapers (Proquest)
Indexes, abstracts and provides full text for the following:
Baltimore Sun: 1990 - present
Christian Science Monitor: 1988 - present
New York Times + Book Review & Magazine: 1999 - present
Wall Street Journal: 1984 - present
Washington Post: 1987 - present
Does not include pictures or graphics


Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffPublic Affairs Information Service (PAIS International) (ProQuest)
PAIS International indexes citations to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature and research reports back to 1972. PAIS Archive contains the records from PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin 1915-1976.

Free online resourceRand Abstracts
Indexes Rand policy reports on national defense, education and training, health care, criminal and civil justice, labor and population, science and technology, community development, international relations, and regional studies.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffRILM Abstracts of Music Literature (Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource
RILM is a comprehensive index to music publications from all over the world, including articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, criticism, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, reviews, and more.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffSocial Services Abstracts (ProQuest)
Indexes and abstracts current research on social work and human services, including social welfare, social policy, community development, crisis intervention, gerontology, poverty and homelessness.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffSocIndex with Full Text (EBSCO) Learn how to use this resource
SocINDEX features social sciences research with indexing for more than 2.1 million records. Full text is available for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908, full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.

CD-ROM: ask at Reference DeskThe swords of Armageddon: U.S. nuclear weapons development since 1945
Includes a complete technical glossary;a history of American thermonuclear weaponry; weapons physics; technological innovations in weapons design; individual war-head histories. Full text files on REF workstation, CD available in stacks at U264.S96 1995

Free online resourceThe Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services (TEPS)
It contains more than 650 Taiwan periodicals or serials of different subjects from 1991 to current, depending on the titles. The alternative titles in English also are searchable.

Free online resourceUnited Nations Bibliographic Information System (UNBISNET)
Includes bibliographic records of documents and publications indexed by the UN Libraries, full text voting records of all resolutions which were adopted, and full text speeches made in the various bodies of the UN.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffWeb of Science
Multidisciplinary database incorporating the Science Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and the Social Science Citation Index. Indexes over 8,000 high impact research journals, many of them peer-reviewed, and provides access to cited and citing references. Additional searchable resources on the Web of Science homepage through the "Additional Resources" tab.

EndNote Basic citation management software also available through Web of Science

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffWomen and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (Alexander Street Press)
Database of books, documents, images, scholarly essays, commentaries and bibliographies of all aspects of American Women's public lives and political activities.

Citation Searching

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceThe Digital Archaeological Record (TDAR)
Browsing or searching the tDAR repository enables users to identify digital documents, data sets, images, and other kinds of archaeological data for a number of uses, including research, learning, and teaching.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Back to Subject Retriever

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffCambridge Histories Online
Cambridge Histories Online offers online accessibility to full text titles for any type of historical research or study of a subject that has an historical element. Includes all the latest editions of the print series with automatic updates.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffEncyclopedia of American Studies
Online, searchable, full text encyclopedia covering a variety of topics from a range of disciplines describing the cultures of the U.S. Incorporates comparative studies of Canada and Latin America and the global impact of American culture.

Digital collections

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceAmerican Founders Online: An Annotated Guide to Their Papers and Publications
The digital resources described in this guide provide online access, in varying degrees, to the personal papers and/or publications of the major founders of the American Republic—that is, those men who served in roles of national political leadership between 1765 and 1815—and members of their families.

Free online resourceOpen CRS: CRS Reports for the People
American taxpayers spend nearly $100 million a year to fund the Congressional Research Service, a "think tank" that provides reports to members of Congress on a variety of topics relevant to current political events. Yet, these reports are not made available to the public in a way that they can be easily obtained. A project of the Center for Democracy & Technology, Open CRS provides citizens access to CRS Reports that are already in the public domain and encourages Congress to provide public access to all CRS Reports.

Free online resourceUMBC Digital Collections
UMBC Digital Collections are composed of selected materials from the Albin O. Kuhn Library & Gallery of the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC). Currently, the majority of the digital collections draw upon the rich and unique holdings of the Special Collections and Archives. Items cover a broad range of topics and include photographs, the Retriever Weekly newspaper, electronic theses and dissertations from UMBC candidates, Theatre Department programs, posters, playbills, and other ephemera.

News Sources

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceAmerican Presidency Project
The American Presidency Project archives contain 87,393 documents related to the study of the Presidency. It has both current information and a document archive of primary sources including the Papers of the Presidents, State of the Union addresses, election statistics, speeches, more.

Free online resourceChronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (1880-1922)
Chronicling America allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffHistorical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2008) (Proquest)
New York Times full page and article images (.pdfs) from 1851-2008. Includes indexing and abstracting with fully searchable text back to the first issue.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffNational Newspapers (Proquest)
Indexes, abstracts and provides full text for the following:
Baltimore Sun: 1990 - present
Christian Science Monitor: 1988 - present
New York Times + Book Review & Magazine: 1999 - present
Wall Street Journal: 1984 - present
Washington Post: 1987 - present
Does not include pictures or graphics


Free online resourceRichmond Daily Dispatch (1860-1865)
Searchable full text of 1384 issues of the paper available online, ranging in date from November 1860 through December 1865. Links in the navigation bar above provide access to a brief Civil War period history and chronology.

Primary source collections

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceA Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents & Debates
A Century of Lawmaking brings together the records and acts of Congress from the Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention through the 43rd Congress, including the first three volumes of the Congressional Record, 1873-75. Included are the Journals of Congress, statutes and and documents, debates of Congress, Congressional Record, more.

Free online resourceAmateur Press Publications: Fantasy & Science Fiction
Search for individual issues of science fiction and fantasy fanzines held in Special Collections. Search by keyword or browse by title.

Free online resourceBaltimore 68: Riots and Rebirth (University of Baltimore)
The University of Baltimore has established a Web presence for the work presented during the conference "Baltimore '68". The site includes over sixty oral histories, digitized newspaper clippings, local government documents, news footage, and numerous photo galleries along with a chronology of events and commentary that provides context for the primary source material.

Free online resourceBaltimore City Directories Online (UMD)
Full text of Baltimore City directories (various publishers) 1810 through the 1920s

Free online resourceHistorical Publications of the United States Commission on Civil Rights
Provides access to digitized copies of United States Commission on Civil Rights publications held in the Library's collection and available on the USCCR Web site.

Free online resourceTelevision scripts
This collection of television scripts spans the 1950s through the 1970s.

Free online resourceWorld Digital Library
The WDL includes manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings from over 190 countries. Items on the WDL may easily be browsed by place, time, topic, type of item, and contributing institution, or can be located by an open-ended search, in several languages. Special features include interactive geographic clusters, a timeline, advanced image-viewing and interpretive capabilities.

Statistics

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceAmerican FactFinder
American FactFinder is the Census Bureau’s online tool for accessing a wide variety of population, economic, geographic, and housing information about the United States.

Free online resourceCity-data.com
Comprehensive data aggregation site for cities large and small. Includes demographic and census data, maps, photos, stats about residents (race, income, ancestries, education, employment, etc.), geographical data, state profiles, crime data, communication resources, more.

Free online resourceCivil War Home Page
The Civil War Home Page represents one of the largest and most comprehensive collections of Civil War related material available electronically. Includes full text documents, maps, statistics, official records, oral histories, slave narratives, photos.

Free online resourceCounty and City Databook: 2007
demographic and vital statistics; employment, education, government, housing, production and weather data for states, counties, and all cities of 25,000+. Older editions in print.

Free online resourceCultural policy and the Arts National Data Archive
An interactive digital archive of data on the arts and cultural policy in the U.S., available for research and statistical analysis, with data on artists, arts and cultural organizations, audiences, and funding for arts and culture.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffHistorical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Ed. Online
This thoroughly revised five-volume reference work, available both in print and electronic editions, reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. The fully searchable and downloadable electronic edition (a single one-time purchase!) will permit users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.

Free online resourceHistorical US Census Data
Population, demographics, and economic data for all states and counties, from the United States decennial census, 1790 - 1970.

Free online resourceOffice of National Drug Control Policy
Provides statistics on drug use in the United States, including high schools in various cities across the United States; international information on drugs is included

Free online resourceUSA Counties
Data on population, crime, economics, health, government, and more, covering all states and counties. Includes comparison reports with output sorted by rank or plotted on a map. 1992 and 1994 publications are on CD-ROM at C 3.134/6: (year).

Web Sites

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceAmerican Memory Collection [Library of Congress]
Selected digitized full text and image files from the Library of Congress collections. Includes selections from Presidential papers, Congressional documents, maps, pamphlets music and photographs from significant social, cultural and political movements.

Free online resourceBaltimore Neighborhoods Research Guide
From the Enoch Pratt Free Library. This guide will point you to resources you can use to become better acquainted with neighborhoods in Baltimore City.

Free online resourceBaltimore Sun financial and selected labor records
Contains information pertaining to Sun finances and Baltimore Newspaper Guild relations. Financial materials include monthly statements, treasurer's reports, tax and payroll records, financial correspondence, and transactional files in both loose and ledger formats. Among the Guild materials are correspondence, meeting minutes, Guild negotiation documents, and newsletters from the late 1930s and early 1940s, many of which were the personal copies of H.L. Mencken.

Free online resourceBiographical Memoirs of the National Academy of Sciences
Biographical Memoirs are brief biographies of deceased National Academy of Sciences members, written by those who knew them or their work. These biographies provide a personal and scholarly view of the lives and work of America's most distinguished scientists and a biographical history of science in the United States.

Free online resourceCivil War Home Page
The Civil War Home Page represents one of the largest and most comprehensive collections of Civil War related material available electronically. Includes full text documents, maps, statistics, official records, oral histories, slave narratives, photos.

Free online resourceDialogue
Dialogue is an award-winning weekly radio program that explores the world of ideas through conversations with renowned public figures, scholars, journalists, and authors. This site includes streaming audio of all Dialogue programs since 1998, searchable by subject and year. Presented by the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars

Free online resourceImages of American Political History
A collection of over 500 public domain images of American political history.

Free online resourceLegistalker: online activity of members of Congress
very day, Congress relies more and more on the Internet to communicate with the world. Legistalker makes it easy for you to stay on top of what your elected officials say and how they vote. The ever-growing database is updated every 20 seconds, and relies on data from Twitter, YouTube, Capitol Words, literally hundreds of different news sources, and others.

Free online resourceMaking of America (MOA)
Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Subject areas include education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.

Free online resourceMaps of Historic Districts in Baltimore City
Maps of historic districts in Baltimore, with detailed descriptions of the architecture and and significance of the area.

Free online resourceMaryland History and Culture Bibliography
The Maryland History and Culture Bibliography consists of citations to articles, books, and doctoral dissertations about various aspects of Maryland's history and culture, divided into a set of standard subject categories. The citations are gathered from scholarly journals, local and state history-related newsletters and magazines, subject indexes to monographs and journals, publishers' catalogs, and electronic databases, among other sources.

Free online resourceMaryland Inventory of Historic Properties
The Maryland Inventory of Historic Properties (MIHP) was scanned by the Maryland State Archives, working closely with the Maryland Historical Trust, and includes documentation on all standing structures inventoried through June 2004. The only exception to this is Baltimore City; these inventory forms are not currently included in this version.

Free online resourceNational Archives and Records Administration
NARA is an independent Federal agency that helps preserve our nation's history by overseeing the management of all Federal records. Our mission is to ensure access to the essential evidence of citizen's rights, Federal actions & the national experience

Free online resourceNational Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)
The National Historical Geographic Information System provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2010.

Free online resourceNational Security Archive at George Washington University
The National Security Archive is an independent non-governmental research institute and library that collects and publishes declassified documents, providing access to critical declassified records on national security, military history, foreign policy

Free online resourceNSA Declassified Documents
NSA/CSS periodically releases declassified documents or indexes to these documents to the public. Full text docs listed on this page include those related to Vietnam (Tonkin Gulf) UFO projects, Cuban Missile Crisis, Kennedy assassination, more.

Free online resourceNSA Historical Publications
Full-text pamphlets and monographs published by the National Security Agency. Topics range from slavery through Prohibition, World War II, Cold War, Korea, Vietnam, cryptology, misc.

Free online resourceOffice of National Drug Control Policy
Provides statistics on drug use in the United States, including high schools in various cities across the United States; international information on drugs is included

Free online resourcePAL: Perspectives in American Literature
The major movements and various authors in American literature. Nearly 400 authors, major and minor, are included. Primary works, extensive selected bibliographies, and sometimes major themes, summaries of relevant articles. Includes appendixes.

Free online resourceRichmond Daily Dispatch (1860-1865)
Searchable full text of 1384 issues of the paper available online, ranging in date from November 1860 through December 1865. Links in the navigation bar above provide access to a brief Civil War period history and chronology.

Free online resourceSocial Security Administration Archives/Museum
The Social Security Administration Historian's Office, located in Baltimore County, maintains a large website with online finding aids to its Archives, a virtual tour of its Museum, and many online primary source documents, photos, videos and soundclips

Free online resourceUSA.gov
From the webpage: "As the U.S. government's official web portal, USA.gov makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web." Formerly FirstGov

Back to Subject Retriever
Have Questions?
Ask a Librarian

Research Help

Subject Guides

Research Guides & Tutorials

Ask a Librarian

Contact a Subject Librarian

Information Literacy

Glossary of Library Terms

Database Webinars

FAQs