Skip navigation

Subject Retriever: Political Science

74 Political Science resources found!

Legend: place your cursor over an icon to identify:   Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff Free online resource CD-ROM: ask at Reference Desk Library use only available in Special Collections Learn how to use this resource

Article Databases

Back to Subject Retriever

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffAcademic Search Complete (Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffAlternative Press Index [API] (EBSCO) Learn how to use this resource
API is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. Coverage begins in 1991.
Paper index available from 1971- 1991 in Reference. UMBC holds the Alternative Press backfile in Special Collections.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffAnnual Reviews
Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 29 focused disciplines within the Biological, Medical, Physical, and Social Sciences. All Annual Reviews series are ranked within the top ten publications for their respective disciplines.

Free online resourceCatalog of U.S. Government Publications
This catalog provides access to U.S. government publications in full-text and other forms, and identifies locations for other forms of documents which are not full-text.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffColumbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings and journal articles.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffCongressional Publications (ProQuest)
Provides indexing and some full text for Congressional hearings, legislation, public laws, and legal research. Includes congressional publications, legislative histories (1970-present), and bills. Contains the US Code, voting records, congressional documents, the Congressional Record,the Federal Register (1980 - present) and the CFR. (Formerly LexisNexis Congressional)

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffCQ (Congressional Quarterly) Weekly
In-depth reports on issues looming in Congress, along with a complete wrap up of the previous week's news; includes the status of bills in play, behind the scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates, and roll-call votes.

Free online resourceLeague of Women Voters of Maryland
The League of Women Voters, a nonpartisan political organization, encourages informed and active participation in government, works to increase understanding of major public policy issues, and influences public policy through education and advocacy. The site includes current and back issues of the League's publications, current awareness tools for issues of interest, a calendar of bills under review in the Legislature and links to other sites concerning government in Maryland.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffLeft Index (Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource
A complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Coverage from the 1980's on.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffMilitary & Government Collection (Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource
The Military & Government Collection offers current news and historical analysis pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Sources include periodicals, academic journals, and other content.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffNational Newspapers (Proquest)
Indexes, abstracts and provides full text for the following:
Baltimore Sun: 1990 - present
Christian Science Monitor: 1988 - present
New York Times + Book Review & Magazine: 1999 - present
Wall Street Journal: 1984 - present
Washington Post: 1987 - present
Does not include pictures or graphics


Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffPublic Affairs Information Service (PAIS International) (ProQuest)
PAIS International indexes citations to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature and research reports back to 1972. PAIS Archive contains the records from PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin 1915-1976.

Free online resourcePublic Papers of the Presidents of the United States
President Clinton's 1996 and 1997 Public Papers. Subsequent Presidential papers, as well as volumes covering previous administrations, will be added on an incremental basis.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffSocial Sciences Citation Index®
Social Sciences Citation Index (ISI Web of Science) provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 2,100 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines, plus individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,500 of the world's leading science and technology journals.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffWeb of Science
Multidisciplinary database incorporating the Science Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and the Social Science Citation Index. Indexes over 8,000 high impact research journals, many of them peer-reviewed, and provides access to cited and citing references. Additional searchable resources on the Web of Science homepage through the "Additional Resources" tab.

EndNote Basic citation management software also available through Web of Science

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffWorldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations and public administration / policy.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceLawyers Directory from Martindale
Over one million lawyers and law firms around the world; lists practice areas; date admitted to Bar; law school; college; honors and publications; and birthdate. Also includes State Bar Association profiles.

Digital collections

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceOpen CRS: CRS Reports for the People
American taxpayers spend nearly $100 million a year to fund the Congressional Research Service, a "think tank" that provides reports to members of Congress on a variety of topics relevant to current political events. Yet, these reports are not made available to the public in a way that they can be easily obtained. A project of the Center for Democracy & Technology, Open CRS provides citizens access to CRS Reports that are already in the public domain and encourages Congress to provide public access to all CRS Reports.

News Sources

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceAmerican Presidency Project
The American Presidency Project archives contain 87,393 documents related to the study of the Presidency. It has both current information and a document archive of primary sources including the Papers of the Presidents, State of the Union addresses, election statistics, speeches, more.

Free online resourceBBC News - Country Profiles
The site provides information on the history, economy,and politics of countries and territories. Each profile includes an overview, map, facts, current leader, and information on the media. Links provide access to key stories and clips from the BBC archives. Good supplement to the CIA Fact Book, and State Department files.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffCQ Researcher Online
CQ Researcher (formerly Editorial Research Reports).In-depth coverage of health, social trends, national and international topics. Includes maps, charts, statistics. Published weekly.

Free online resourceFreedom in the World [annual report]
Freedom in the World offers comparative assessment of global political rights and civil liberties including narrative reports on 193 countries and 15 related and disputed territories.

Free online resourceFreedom of the Press
Index to statistics, news and commentary on press freedom in the world. Online editions available from 2002-, historical data from 1980.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffNational Newspapers (Proquest)
Indexes, abstracts and provides full text for the following:
Baltimore Sun: 1990 - present
Christian Science Monitor: 1988 - present
New York Times + Book Review & Magazine: 1999 - present
Wall Street Journal: 1984 - present
Washington Post: 1987 - present
Does not include pictures or graphics


Free online resourceThe White House
Current issues forum, blog and information on all aspects of the incumbent president are included. Photos, documents, briefing digests, links to other government offices.

Primary source collections

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceFDsys: GPO's Federal Digital System
(FDsys) provides public access to Government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies and preserved as technology changes. Collections currently available on FDsys are: Compilation of Presidential Documents (1993-),Congressional Bills (103rd Cong-) Congressional Documents (104th Cong-),Congressional Hearings (105th Cong-), Congressional Record (1994-), Congressional Reports (104th Cong-), Federal Register (1994-), Public and Private Laws (104th Cong-)

Statistics

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceFollow the Money: The Institute on Money in State Politics
The Institute on Money in State Politics is a national nonpartisan, nonprofit organization dedicated to accurate, comprehensive and unbiased documentation and research on campaign finance at the state level.

Free online resourceFreedom in the World [annual report]
Freedom in the World offers comparative assessment of global political rights and civil liberties including narrative reports on 193 countries and 15 related and disputed territories.

Free online resourceHistorical US Census Data
Population, demographics, and economic data for all states and counties, from the United States decennial census, 1790 - 1970.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffICPSR Archive
Search and request data sets relevant to political science, sociology, women's studies, etc. from the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research.

Free online resourceSourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Online version of Bureau of Justice Statistics annual publication. Includes data on crime, criminals, victimization, courts, corrections, law enforcement, and more. Print version in 1st floor GovDocs, call# J29.9/6:

Free online resourceU.S. International Trade Statistics
U.S. trade statistics by country and by product (SITC codes). Data is available by month and cumulatively by year since 1996. Definitions of terms are available at linked websites.

Web Sites

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceAvalon Project at Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History, & Diplomacy
The Avalon Project provides digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. Coverage includes documents from ancient history to the present.

Free online resourceBackground Notes
Background Notes provide demographic, social, political and diplomatic information on countries of the world. They are updated/revised as they are received from regional bureaus and are added to the State Dept. Website. Includes links to regional sites.

Free online resourceBaltimore Decoded: Baltimore Code of Public Laws
Baltimore Decoded provides the Baltimore Code of Public Laws and City Charter in easy to understand language. The official version is available at Baltimore City Charter & Codes

Free online resourceBiographical Directory of the United States Congress
Biographical information for members of the United States Congress.

Free online resourceCIA - The World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

Free online resourceCOMAR (Code of Maryland Regulations)
The official compilation of Maryland State Agency regulations (administrative law). Updates biweekly with regulations proposed but not yet adopted are published in the Maryland Register.

Free online resourceCongress.org
Directory of congressional members (House and Senate) and their committee assignments, biographical information and contact information.

Free online resourceCountry Studies
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world. Formerly called US Army Area Handbooks

Free online resourceDialogue
Dialogue is an award-winning weekly radio program that explores the world of ideas through conversations with renowned public figures, scholars, journalists, and authors. This site includes streaming audio of all Dialogue programs since 1998, searchable by subject and year. Presented by the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars

Free online resourceFerdinand C. Latrobe papers
This collection contains a multitude of materials written by Ferdinand C. Latrobe and relating to Mr. Latrobe. Latrobe was Mayor of Baltimore for seven terms, spanning the last quarter of the nineteenth century.

Free online resourceFilibusted
Tracks current senate filibusters and those responsible. Includes a log of cloture votes and offers historical data on filibusters of the last century.

Free online resourceFindlaw Constitutional Law Center
Findlaw Constitutional Law Center is an educational resource site dedicated to the U.S. Constitution and Supreme Court. It includes historical documents, biographies of Supreme Court Justices and Supreme Court decisions, and current and upcoming cases.

Free online resourceForeign Relations of the United States
The Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. Published by the Department of State. Select volumes.

Free online resourceForeign Relations of the United States (Archive)
The Foreign Relations of the United States series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication. Produced by the U of Wisc and the U of Ilinois at Chicago

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffGallup Brain [Gallup Poll News Service]
Current and historical data from one of the leading public opinion research firms.

Free online resourceGPO Access Document Search
Search the US Budget, Congressional documents, Economic Indicators, Economic Report of the President, Federal Register, GAO documents, Public Laws, United States Code, and others. GPO Access.

Free online resourceHouse and Senate Roll Call Votes
House and Senate bills with roll call votes. Includes links to summaries, full-text and related bills. 101st Congress to current session

Free online resourceHuman Rights - Country Reports from US Dept. of State
Submitted annually to the US Congress; covers internationally recognized individual, civil, political, and worker rights, as set forth in the [United Nations] Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

Free online resourceHuman Rights Watch: World Report
Human Rights Watch summarizes human rights conditions worldwide. Individual reports are available by country or topic, annual World Reports are available from 1989-

Free online resourceImages of American Political History
A collection of over 500 public domain images of American political history.

Free online resourceIndependent Media Center [Baltimore]
The Independent Media Center is a global network of collectively run media outlets for the creation of radical, accurate tellings of truth. The IMC provides a forum for presenting media, including articles, audio, video and photographs via the Internet.

Free online resourceIntercounty Connector (ICC) 1997 Public Hearing Transcripts
All public and private testimony, miscellaneous submissions from citizens, maps, displays, handouts, written testimony, and more, submitted during the period of public comment on the Draft Environmental Impact Statement (DEIS). Requires Acrobat Reader.

Free online resourceLeague of Women Voters of Maryland
The League of Women Voters, a nonpartisan political organization, encourages informed and active participation in government, works to increase understanding of major public policy issues, and influences public policy through education and advocacy. The site includes current and back issues of the League's publications, current awareness tools for issues of interest, a calendar of bills under review in the Legislature and links to other sites concerning government in Maryland.

Free online resourceLegislative Source Book
Published by the Law Librarians' Society of Washington D.C., this source includes links to Internet and Online Sources of Legislative and Regulatory Information, links to House and Senate documents and hearings, and legislative telephone numbers.

Free online resourceLegistalker: online activity of members of Congress
very day, Congress relies more and more on the Internet to communicate with the world. Legistalker makes it easy for you to stay on top of what your elected officials say and how they vote. The ever-growing database is updated every 20 seconds, and relies on data from Twitter, YouTube, Capitol Words, literally hundreds of different news sources, and others.

Free online resourceMaryland Appellate Court Opinions
Opinions of the Maryland Court of Appeals and the Maryland Court of Special Appeals.

Free online resourceMaryland General Assembly [Homepage]
Current and archived sessions of the Assembly. Includes bill information and status, hearing schedules, proceedings, rosters and committee lists, Md statutes, documents and indexes. Legislative information is updated daily during the Session.

Free online resourceMaryland Manual On-Line
Presents an overview of the organizational structure and staffing of the executive, legislative and judicial branches of Maryland government, including budgets, organizational charts, historical evolution of agencies, and their origin and functions.

Free online resourceMaryland State Law Library
Holdings of the Maryland State Law Library in Annapolis. Also contains journal citations to articles on Maryland law as well as links to Internet resources.

Free online resourceNational Conference of State Legislatures
The National Conference of State Legislatures is a bipartisan organization that serves the legislators and staffs of the nation's 50 states, its commonwealths and territories.

Free online resourceOpenSecrets.org from the Center For Responsive Politics
The Center for Responsive Politics is a non-partisan, non-profit research group based in Washington, D.C. that tracks money in politics, and its effect on elections and public policy. Campaign finance issues, PACS information, debate info, more.

Free online resourceOyez: U.S. Supreme Court Media
On this day in history cases; featured trials Search cases by subject. Includes brief biographies and portraits of all justices on the Supreme Court. Virtual tour of the Supreme Court.

Free online resourcePublic Agenda
Public Agenda is a nonprofit organization that explores public opinion and produces citizen education materials. Their goal is to provide polling and other data to clarify public attitudes about complex policy issues.

Free online resourceRadical Literature Collection at UMBC
The Radical Literature Collection includes books, pamphlets, and other publications on and by Communist, Socialist, Labor and other left- and right-of-center political organizations and individuals.

Free online resourceRoper Center Survey Archive
An on-line catalog of studies collcted by the Roper Center. While no opinion data are directly available through this service, researchers interested in secondary analysis of survey data files can determine studies relevant to their areas of interest.

Free online resourceSIPRI: Stockholm International Peace Research Institute
Search the databases of the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute. Databases include: Facts on International Relations and Security Trends, SIPRI Arms Industry Database, SIPRI Arms Transfers Database, SIPRI Multilateral Peace Operations Database, SIPRI Military Expenditure Database.

Free online resourceState and Local Government on the Net
Directory of official state county and local government websites.

Free online resourceThomas Legislative Database from Library of Congress
Congressional news; bill summary, status and full-text; Congressional Record 1994 - pres.; committee information; historical documents and debates; essays on the legislative process; and more.

Free online resourceUnannotated Code of Maryland and Maryland Court Rules
The laws and court rules of Maryland, current through the most recent Regular and Special Sessions, plus updates. For Maryland agency regulations, see COMAR

Free online resourceUnited States House of Representatives
Primary webpage of the House of Representatives, including current office holders, legislation, voting histories, directories, educational resources, legislative archive

Free online resourceUnited States Senate
Primary website of the Senate, including current senators, voting satistics, nominations, sessions of Congress, FAQs, more.

Free online resourceWeb guide to U.S. Supreme Court Research
This web guide provides a selection of annotated links to the most reliable, substantive sites for U.S. Supreme Court research.

Back to Subject Retriever
Have Questions?
Ask a Librarian

Research Help

Subject Guides

Research Guides & Tutorials

Ask a Librarian

Contact a Subject Librarian

Information Literacy

Glossary of Library Terms

Database Webinars

FAQs