Skip navigation

Subject Retriever: Government Resources

100 Government Resources resources found!

Legend: place your cursor over an icon to identify:   Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff Free online resource CD-ROM: ask at Reference Desk Library use only available in Special Collections Learn how to use this resource

Article Databases

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceCatalog of U.S. Government Publications
This catalog provides access to U.S. government publications in full-text and other forms, and identifies locations for other forms of documents which are not full-text.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffCongressional Publications (ProQuest)
Provides indexing and some full text for Congressional hearings, legislation, public laws, and legal research. Includes congressional publications, legislative histories (1970-present), and bills. Contains the US Code, voting records, congressional documents, the Congressional Record,the Federal Register (1980 - present) and the CFR. (Formerly LexisNexis Congressional)

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffCQ (Congressional Quarterly) Weekly
In-depth reports on issues looming in Congress, along with a complete wrap up of the previous week's news; includes the status of bills in play, behind the scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates, and roll-call votes.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffEnvironmental Impact Statements: Digests (ProQuest)
Provides indexing and detailed abstracts for all environmental impact statements issued by the federal government each year. EIS extracts key issues, project descriptions, legal mandates, positive impact and negative consequences. A subset of Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffGPO Monthly Catalog (OCLC)
Indexes government publications issued by the Government Printing Office since July 1976. Many records include direct links to the full text of the publication.

Free online resourceNASA History Division
NASA History Division serves two key functions: to disseminate aerospace information as widely as possible and help NASA managers benefit from the study of past accomplishment and difficulties. Pages include both documents, photographs and links.

Free online resourcePublic Papers of the Presidents of the United States
President Clinton's 1996 and 1997 Public Papers. Subsequent Presidential papers, as well as volumes covering previous administrations, will be added on an incremental basis.

Citation Searching

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceFederal Register
The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceDictionary of Military Terms
Department of Defense's "Dictionary of Military and Associated Terms." Includes NATO terms, acronyms, and abbreviations.

Free online resourceDuhaime's Law Dictionary
Duhaime's Law Dictionary is designed to offer one-stop shopping to all of us who occasionally need to know what a certain legal word means, because our rights stand to be affected by a reference to it, or because of employment or academic research requirements.

Digital collections

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceCensus of Agriculture
Full text Census statistics on agriculture 1840- in five and ten year increments.

Free online resourceCyberCemetery [Archive of government websites that have ceased operation]
The CyberCemetery is an archive of government websites that have ceased operation (usually websites of defunct government agencies and commissions that have issued a final report).

Free online resourceGovernment Documents A-to-Z Digitization Project [University of North Texas]
The A-to-Z Project offers access to digitized pre-1960 government documents. The project is being done alphabetically, starting with the call number A, which includes agricultural documents. By popular demand, the A-to-Z Collection also contains vintage War Department field manuals and technical manuals.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffHomeland Security Digital Library
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier research collection of open-source resources related to homeland security policy, strategy and organizational management. (Off-campus access requires UMBC login.)

Free online resourceMaryland Department of Natural Resources: Digital Repository of DNR Documents
Full text (pdf) versions of DNR publications, reports, surveys produced for the Maryland and Federal government.

Free online resourceMaryland State Documents Online
The electronic repository includes full text of several types of publications: annual reports, audit reports, performance reports, fact sheets, statistical reports, bulletins, newsletters. Links to other electronic repositories containing Maryland documents are also listed.

Free online resourceMeasuring America: Decennial Censuses 1790-2000
Census data present here ranges from our most recent census to the historical decennial census conducted throughout the decades. Some of the data were scanned as an effort to make historical census information available to the public. The display of data will continue as historical census records become available.

Free online resourcePublic Library of Law
Free legal site: Maryland case law from 1997. Supreme Court cases from 1754, most Federal Circuit Courts from 1950 and state appellate cases from 1997. Keyword searching but no citation searching. Includes links to statutes, codes and constitutions, and paid sites and document packages.

Handbooks

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceOccupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook includes detailed profiles of hundreds of occupations and describes: What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes BLS employment projections for the 2010–20 decade.

News Sources

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourcee-CFR [Electronic Code of Federal Regulations]
he Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (e-CFR) is a currently updated version of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). It is not an official legal edition of the CFR. The e-CFR is an editorial compilation of CFR material and Federal Register amendments produced by the National Archives and Records Administration's Office of the Federal Register (OFR) and the Government Printing Office. The OFR updates the material in the e-CFR on a daily basis.

Primary source collections

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceFDsys: GPO's Federal Digital System
(FDsys) provides public access to Government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies and preserved as technology changes. Collections currently available on FDsys are: Compilation of Presidential Documents (1993-),Congressional Bills (103rd Cong-) Congressional Documents (104th Cong-),Congressional Hearings (105th Cong-), Congressional Record (1994-), Congressional Reports (104th Cong-), Federal Register (1994-), Public and Private Laws (104th Cong-)

Free online resourceGovernment Documents A-to-Z Digitization Project [University of North Texas]
The A-to-Z Project offers access to digitized pre-1960 government documents. The project is being done alphabetically, starting with the call number A, which includes agricultural documents. By popular demand, the A-to-Z Collection also contains vintage War Department field manuals and technical manuals.

Free online resourceHANSARD 1803–2005 [British Parliamentary papers]
This site is generated from the Official Report of debates in Parliament. Information presented here is generated from the publicly available XML files. Files can be browsed by year, by House, by named person, official Acts, bills, etc.

Free online resourceMaryland Judiciary Case Search
This website provides public access to the case records of the Maryland Judiciary. Information is available on all civil, traffic, and criminal cases in the state. This information includes defendant name, city and state, case number, date of birth, plaintiff name (civil cases only), trial date, charge, and case disposition.

Free online resourceMaryland State Documents Online
The electronic repository includes full text of several types of publications: annual reports, audit reports, performance reports, fact sheets, statistical reports, bulletins, newsletters. Links to other electronic repositories containing Maryland documents are also listed.

Statistics

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceAmerican FactFinder
American FactFinder is the Census Bureau’s online tool for accessing a wide variety of population, economic, geographic, and housing information about the United States.

Free online resourceBaltimore City Government Portal
Primary page for Baltimore City government including departments & agencies, directory, statistics. Includes Baltimore City Budget, Charter, Codes, and Public Laws.

Free online resourceCounty and City Databook: 2007
demographic and vital statistics; employment, education, government, housing, production and weather data for states, counties, and all cities of 25,000+. Older editions in print.

Free online resourceData.gov
Data.gov allows the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. The data catalogs will continue to grow as datasets are added.

Free online resourceFedstats
Search for online statistical publications from more than 100 agencies in the US Federal Government.

Free online resourceHistorical US Census Data
Population, demographics, and economic data for all states and counties, from the United States decennial census, 1790 - 1970.

Free online resourceInternational Data Base (IDB)
Country rankings and global population trends, links to historical population estimates, population clocks, and estimates of population, births, and deaths

Free online resourceMaryland State Data Center
The SDC monitors development trends, analyzes social, economic data and prepares population, housing, employment, labor force, and income projections. Includes current & historical census data, statistical abstracts, tract maps, zip code maps, more

Free online resourceMaryland Vital Statistics Reports
Vital Statistics from the Maryland Vital Statistics Administration. Includes reports for 1995-2004 and historical trend data. Reports are for births, deaths, marriage, divorce, population, by county. Access or download each report for complete data

Free online resourceOpenBaltimore: City of Baltimore's Open Data Catalog
OpenBaltimore provides public access to City data in an effort that supports government transparency. Current data on crime, citations, employee salaries, boundaries & maps, calendars, and more is available.

Free online resourceStatistical Abstract of the United States (US Census version)
Basic summary statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the U.S., various regions, the states, MSAs, and cities of 100,000 or more residents. Also includes historical statistics under "Earlier Editions."

Free online resourceStatistics Canada
Provides statisitics on Canada on social indicators, including population, agriculture, construction, education, health, justice, labour, trade, transportation and more.

Free online resourceUniform Crime Reports
Online version of annual publication. Also known as Crime in the United States. Special sections on hate crime and terrorism in the US. include statistics on arrests for various criminal offenses at the national, regional and state level. Statistics for years before 1995 are available through the ICPSR Archive. Print version in Lower Level GovDocs, call# J1.14/7:

Free online resourceUSGS Water Data for Maryland and Other States
The U.S. Geological Survey's (USGS) National Water Information System (NWIS) is a comprehensive and distributed application that supports the acquisition, processing, and long-term storage of water data. NWISWeb serves as the publicly available portal to a geographically seamless set of much of the water data maintained within NWIS. NWISWeb pages provide access to water data from over 1.5 million sites in all 50 States and additional border and territorial sites. The data are organized within the categories listed to the left.

Free online resourceWorld Factbook from the CIA
Country profiles including history, land, people, climate, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and disputes.

Web Sites

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceAvalon Project at Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History, & Diplomacy
The Avalon Project provides digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. Coverage includes documents from ancient history to the present.

Free online resourceBackground Notes
Background Notes provide demographic, social, political and diplomatic information on countries of the world. They are updated/revised as they are received from regional bureaus and are added to the State Dept. Website. Includes links to regional sites.

Free online resourceBaltimore City Government Portal
Primary page for Baltimore City government including departments & agencies, directory, statistics. Includes Baltimore City Budget, Charter, Codes, and Public Laws.

Free online resourceBiographical Directory of the United States Congress
Biographical information for members of the United States Congress.

Free online resourceCFR (Code of Federal Regulations)
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is a codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the Executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government.

Free online resourceCOMAR (Code of Maryland Regulations)
The official compilation of Maryland State Agency regulations (administrative law). Updates biweekly with regulations proposed but not yet adopted are published in the Maryland Register.

Free online resourceCongress.org
Directory of congressional members (House and Senate) and their committee assignments, biographical information and contact information.

Free online resourceCONSTITUTION FINDER
This database offers constitutions, charters, amendments, and other related documents. Nations of the world are linked to their constitutional text posted on the Web. Historical versions are offered where available. Includes states and territories.

Free online resourceData.gov
Data.gov allows the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. The data catalogs will continue to grow as datasets are added.

Free online resourceDocuments Data Miner 2 (DDM2)
Library Management System for United States Government Documents, including list of classes, shipping lists, shelf lists, marc and url locator, inactive/discontinued documents, superceded list, depository directory and other tools.

Free online resourceDuhaime's Law Dictionary
Duhaime's Law Dictionary is designed to offer one-stop shopping to all of us who occasionally need to know what a certain legal word means, because our rights stand to be affected by a reference to it, or because of employment or academic research requirements.

Free online resourcee-CFR [Electronic Code of Federal Regulations]
he Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (e-CFR) is a currently updated version of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). It is not an official legal edition of the CFR. The e-CFR is an editorial compilation of CFR material and Federal Register amendments produced by the National Archives and Records Administration's Office of the Federal Register (OFR) and the Government Printing Office. The OFR updates the material in the e-CFR on a daily basis.

Free online resourceFederal Goverment: Legislative Branch
The Legislative Branch includes the Senate and the House of Representatives, supported by 12 agencies. Information on current House and Senate members, current legislation and voting are available here along with supplementary training material.

Free online resourceFederal Government: Executive Branch
The Executive Branch includes 15 Departments (Agriculture - Veterans Affairs) and dozens of Independent Agencies, Government Corporations, Boards, Commissions and Committees. Current Information on each of these individual units and their functions can be found here.

Free online resourceFederal Government: Judicial Branch
The Federal Judicial System includes the Supreme Court, the Federal Appeals Courts, the District Courts and various Special Courts (Tax, Bankruptcy, Federal Claims, etc.) Links provide access to each level, including biographies of Supreme Court Justices, current and recent Supreme Court decisions and related information.

Free online resourceFederal Register
The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.

Free online resourceFindlaw Constitutional Law Center
Findlaw Constitutional Law Center is an educational resource site dedicated to the U.S. Constitution and Supreme Court. It includes historical documents, biographies of Supreme Court Justices and Supreme Court decisions, and current and upcoming cases.

Free online resourceForeign Relations of the United States
The Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. Published by the Department of State. Select volumes.

Free online resourceForeign Relations of the United States (Archive)
The Foreign Relations of the United States series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication. Produced by the U of Wisc and the U of Ilinois at Chicago

Free online resourceGenealogy Guide [MD State Law Library]
The Maryland State Law Library's new Genealogy web pages include infromation on finding death records, obituaries, graves, cemeteries, and burial records, wills and probate, internet sources on genealogy, and law and genealogy.

Free online resourceGlobal Terrorism Database
The Global Terrorism Database (GTD) is an open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2011 (with annual updates planned for the future). The GTD includes systematic data on domestic as well as international terrorist incidents that have occurred during this time period and now includes more than 104,000 cases.

Free online resourceGovTrack
Use GovTrack to track bills in Congress or to research pending legislation.

Free online resourceGPO Access Document Search
Search the US Budget, Congressional documents, Economic Indicators, Economic Report of the President, Federal Register, GAO documents, Public Laws, United States Code, and others. GPO Access.

Free online resourceGPO Access: Legislative Branch Resources
A comprehensive guide and access to the major areas of legislation: Senate and House calendars, history of bills, congressional reports, committe prints, copies of signed bills, more.

Free online resourceGrants/Funding - Department of Health and Human Services
Information about HHS and selected other Federal grant programs.

Free online resourceHistoric Government Publications from World War II: a digital library
SMU Central University Libraries, part of GPO's Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP), have digitized hundreds of historical World War II publications and photographs and made them available to the public.

Free online resourceHospital Compare - a quality tool from Medicare
Welcome to Hospital Compare. In this tool you will find information on how well hospitals care for patients with certain medical conditions or surgical procedures, and results from a survey of patients about the quality of care they received during a recent hospital stay. This information will help you compare the quality of care hospitals provide. Talk to your doctor about this information to help you, your family and your friends make your best hospital care decisions.

Free online resourceHouse and Senate Roll Call Votes
House and Senate bills with roll call votes. Includes links to summaries, full-text and related bills. 101st Congress to current session

Free online resourceInternal Revenue Service [Tax forms and information]
This is the homepage of the IRS. Download tax forms, brochures, and get information on all aspects of tax law.

Free online resourceLeague of Nations Photo Archive
Site holds photographs from the League of Nations

Free online resourceLibrary of Congress
The Library of Congress provides access to a variety of different collections and digital archives.

Free online resourceMaryland Appellate Court Opinions
Opinions of the Maryland Court of Appeals and the Maryland Court of Special Appeals.

Free online resourceMaryland Department of Assessments and Taxation: Real Property Data Search
This allows you to search the Real Property database and display property records for all counties in Maryland. Search by address or property account holder.

Free online resourceMaryland Department of Assessments and Taxation: Taxpayer Services Division
The Division is the custodian of records (both foreign and domestic) of corporations, limited liability companies, limited liability partnerships, limited partnerships, limited liability limited partnerships, and trade names for other businesses. It also maintains records on the filing of security interests (UCC filings) and the assessment of taxable personal property for these businesses. Rate Stabilization Property Notices for electric companies are filed with this office. Includes information on existing businesses and has forms for starting a business or altering an existing one.

Free online resourceMaryland General Assembly [Homepage]
Current and archived sessions of the Assembly. Includes bill information and status, hearing schedules, proceedings, rosters and committee lists, Md statutes, documents and indexes. Legislative information is updated daily during the Session.

Free online resourceMaryland Geological Survey Online
The online site of the Survey offers maps, GIS datat sets, publications, current awareness resources, links to other resources and more.

Free online resourceMaryland Judiciary
Primary access page to the Maryland court system. Includes information and links to District Court, Circuit Court, Appellate Courts, Orphans’ Court and more. Includes histories, court statistics, information and forms.

Free online resourceMaryland Manual On-Line
Presents an overview of the organizational structure and staffing of the executive, legislative and judicial branches of Maryland government, including budgets, organizational charts, historical evolution of agencies, and their origin and functions.

Free online resourceMaryland Register
Published every two weeks, the Maryland Register serves as the temporary supplement to the Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR). Any change to the text of regulations published in COMAR, whether by adoption, amendment, repeal, or emergency action, must first be published in the Register.

Free online resourceMaryland State Archives
The Maryland State Archives is the historical agency for Maryland and serves as the central depository for government records of permanent value. Records date from the founding of the colony in 1634 to the 1990s. Open to the public. Located in Annapolis.

Free online resourceMaryland State Data Center
The SDC monitors development trends, analyzes social, economic data and prepares population, housing, employment, labor force, and income projections. Includes current & historical census data, statistical abstracts, tract maps, zip code maps, more

Free online resourceMaryland State Documents at UMBC
Search for Maryland State documents held at UMBC. Maryland Documents are located on the lower level in ranges 13 and 14. For assistance call 410-455-2346 or visit the Reference desk.

Free online resourceMaryland State Law Library
Holdings of the Maryland State Law Library in Annapolis. Also contains journal citations to articles on Maryland law as well as links to Internet resources.

Free online resourceMaryland.gov
The Maryland Portal is a gateway to aid users in accessing State, Local and Federal government goods and services.

Free online resourceNational Archives and Records Administration
NARA is an independent Federal agency that helps preserve our nation's history by overseeing the management of all Federal records. Our mission is to ensure access to the essential evidence of citizen's rights, Federal actions & the national experience

Free online resourceNational Archives Records [on Footnote]
Digitized collections from the National Archives. Collections are varied: Continental Congress, Civil War pensions, FBI documents, Southern Claims Commission, Brady photographs, others. see also http://www.nara.gov/

Free online resourceNSA Declassified Documents
NSA/CSS periodically releases declassified documents or indexes to these documents to the public. Full text docs listed on this page include those related to Vietnam (Tonkin Gulf) UFO projects, Cuban Missile Crisis, Kennedy assassination, more.

Free online resourceNSA Historical Publications
Full-text pamphlets and monographs published by the National Security Agency. Topics range from slavery through Prohibition, World War II, Cold War, Korea, Vietnam, cryptology, misc.

Free online resourcePublic Library of Law
Free legal site: Maryland case law from 1997. Supreme Court cases from 1754, most Federal Circuit Courts from 1950 and state appellate cases from 1997. Keyword searching but no citation searching. Includes links to statutes, codes and constitutions, and paid sites and document packages.

Free online resourceSEC Filings & Forms (EDGAR)
Electronic archive of reports filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission by publicly traded companies.

Free online resourceState and Local Government on the Net
Directory of official state county and local government websites.

Free online resourceSupreme Court of the United States
Information on the Supreme Court of the United States, biographies of the current and previous justices, history, traditions, procedures, current docket, and full-text of cases & opinions from 1991-.

Free online resourceThe State of Maryland Video Collection
Maryland's Official YouTube Channel. Uploaded videos from a variety of state and local sources on topics of interest in Maryland. Updated daily.

Free online resourceU.S. Commission on National Security in the 21st Century
U.S. Commission on National Security/21st century, phase III, cites need to provide security from terrorism by increasing investment in science education, redesign of departments within the U.S., needed human capital, and the role of Congress. NOTE: site works best in Internet Explorer

Free online resourceUnannotated Code of Maryland and Maryland Court Rules
The laws and court rules of Maryland, current through the most recent Regular and Special Sessions, plus updates. For Maryland agency regulations, see COMAR

Free online resourceUnited States Code
The United States Code is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is prepared by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the United States House of Representatives.

Free online resourceUnited States Copyright Office
Copyright basics, registration procedures, application forms, frequently asked questions, etc.

Free online resourceUSA.gov
From the webpage: "As the U.S. government's official web portal, USA.gov makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web." Formerly FirstGov

Free online resourceWeb guide to U.S. Supreme Court Research
This web guide provides a selection of annotated links to the most reliable, substantive sites for U.S. Supreme Court research.

Free online resourceWorld Factbook from the CIA
Country profiles including history, land, people, climate, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and disputes.

Back to Subject Retriever
Have Questions?
Ask a Librarian

Research Help

Subject Guides

Research Guides & Tutorials

Ask a Librarian

Contact a Subject Librarian

Information Literacy

Glossary of Library Terms

FAQs