Skip navigation

Subject Retriever: English

47 English resources found!

Legend: place your cursor over an icon to identify:   Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff Free online resource CD-ROM: ask at Reference Desk Library use only available in Special Collections Learn how to use this resource

Article Databases

Back to Subject Retriever

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffAcademic Search Complete (Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more.

Free online resourceAmerican FactFinder
American FactFinder is the Census Bureauís online tool for accessing a wide variety of population, economic, geographic, and housing information about the United States.

Free online resourceGale Literary Index
A master index to every literary series published by Gale. Search by a literary work's title or look for authors by name, birth date, death date, or nationality.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffHumanities International Complete (Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database providing full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. The database includes more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records with full text for more than 1,200 journals.

Free online resourceHumanities Text Initiative Modern English Collection
Classic works from British and American writers.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffJSTOR
Electronic archive of selected core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of all titles indexed from Volume 1 to most current available (embargo periods apply). UMBC subscribes to Arts & Science I - X; Health & General Science; Ecology & Botany; and Life Sciences.
JSTOR eBOOKS are now available. Use Advanced Search and Narrow by = Books. Full text of complete works are available as chapter downloads (pdfs).

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffLION (Literature Online Complete)
Includes more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key criticism and reference resources. Includes the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature 1920-present.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffLiterature Resource Center
Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Dictionary of Literary Biography(DLB) and full-text of 34 literary journals.

CD-ROM: ask at Reference DeskMajor Authors CD-ROM--Virginia Woolf
Searchable electronic text of all of Woolf's fiction, diaries, letters, and correspondence is combined with 12,000 fully annotated digital facsimiles of her manuscripts.
Requires CD: request at Reference Desk or Reserve Desk: call#PR6045.O72A12 1997

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffMLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association - Ebsco) Learn how to use this resource
Subjects within the MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. Indexed materials include journal articles, books and dissertations dating back to the 1920's.

Free online resourceNew York Times Book Reviews
Full-text of book reviews, author interviews and book news published in the New York Times.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffProject Muse
Searchable full-text of select journals in the humanities and social sciences. UMBC subscribes to its Basic Undergraduate Collection.

Access Free Sample Books on Project MUSE Beta Site



Free online resourceTreasures in Full: Shakespeare in Quarto
On this site you will find the British Library's 93 copies of the 21 plays by Shakespeare printed in quarto before the theatres were closed in 1642. Includes background information, text comparisons, commentary on the plays and the historical context.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffWeb of Science
Multidisciplinary database incorporating the Science Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and the Social Science Citation Index. Indexes over 8,000 high impact research journals, many of them peer-reviewed, and provides access to cited and citing references. Additional searchable resources on the Web of Science homepage through the "Additional Resources" tab.

EndNote Basic citation management software also available through Web of Science

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffWorld Shakespeare Bibliography Online 1963-2006
The Bibliography provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical produc-tions & reviews, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials produced 1963-2006.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceAcronym Finder
Dictionary of over 1,000,000 acronyms, abbreviations, and initalisms. Also provides over 850,000 USA and Canadian postal codes.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffOxford English Dictionary
The OED describes English as it is today, but also records the history and development of the language through descriptive techniques and quotations. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).

Free online resourcePhrase Finder
Provides access to phrases and sayings, their meanings and origins, euphemisms, quotes from Shakespeare, proverbs and more.

Free online resourceRoget's Thesaurus
Searchable thesaurus of the English language. Includes historical usage examples.

Handbooks

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourcePurdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
The Purdue Writing Lab offers over 200 free resources including: Writing and Teaching Writing, Research, Grammar and Mechanics, Style Guides, ESL (English as a Second Language), Job Search and Professional Writing

Primary source collections

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceJoseph L. Sanders correspondence
One box of letters written by Roger Zelanzy to Joseph L. Sanders, 1980-1995

Web Sites

Back to Subject Retriever

Free online resourceCritical Theory and Cultural Studies
It is offered by the EServer, an arts and humanities e-publishing co-op, based at Iowa State University where hundreds of writers, editors and scholars publish their works. Contains texts in sociology, literary theory, film/video studies, and cultural anthropology.

Free online resourceEnglish Short Title Catalogue (ESTC)
the English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) provides bibliographic records for all known British printed material before 1801, held by the British Library and over 2000 institutions worldwide. The file will be made freely available to researchers as of Oct.

Free online resourceEuropeana
Multi-lingual online collection of more than 4 million digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections. Funded by the European Commission and the member states.

Free online resourceGeoffrey Chaucer
Harvard site for the study of Chaucer. Includes life, chronology and bibliography on Chaucer as well as links to aspects of life during the time of Chaucer.

Free online resourceJohn Keats: A Comprehensive Study of His Life
Areas covered are: biographies, writings about him and his work, manuscript images, poetry and letters.

Free online resourceLibrary of Southern Literature
Bibliography of one hundred literary texts of the South published to 1920. From the University of North Carolina.

Free online resourceLiterary Encyclopedia and Literary Dictionary
Lives and works of writers, major and minor. Provides topical essays. International in coverage.

Free online resourceLiterary Resources on the Net
Includes access to literary periods, theory, bibliography and history of the book.

Free online resourceLord Byron: A Comprehensive Study of his Life and Work
Site dedicated to aspects of Lord Byron's works and life. Selected poetry, letters, contemporary and critical opinion, bibliography.

Free online resourceNew Chaucer Society
This Washington University site contains material about Chaucer and late medieval literature and culture. Includes links to other Chaucerian resources and an online bibliography of texts, biographical, historical and cultural materials.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffOld English Corpus
The Corpus comprises over 3000 different texts (all surviving OE material, excluding some variant texts).

Free online resourceOn-Line Books page
Index and full text of more than 11,000 English works in various formats.

Free online resourcePAL: Perspectives in American Literature
The major movements and various authors in American literature. Nearly 400 authors, major and minor, are included. Primary works, extensive selected bibliographies, and sometimes major themes, summaries of relevant articles. Includes appendixes.

Free online resourcePoetry Portal
This gateway covers the writing of poetry, interpretation of it, theoretical issues of and connections to other art forms or ideas.

Free online resourcePoetry Society of America
Includes access to 'Crossroads' the publication of PSA, and links to resources for readers and writers. Listing of MFA programs, writers' conferences.

Free online resourcePrinceton Dante Project
The Princeton Dante Project combines a traditional approach to the study of Dante's Comedy with new techniques of compiling and consulting data, images, and sound.

Free online resourceProject Bartleby
Bartleby provides access to full text collections of fiction, poetry, nonfiction and reference tools.

Free online resourceProject Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg provides full-text online copies of out-of-copyright works (published pre-1923). Classic books from the start of this century and previous centuries.

Free online resourcePurdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
The Purdue Writing Lab offers over 200 free resources including: Writing and Teaching Writing, Research, Grammar and Mechanics, Style Guides, ESL (English as a Second Language), Job Search and Professional Writing

Free online resourceRomantic Chronology
Coverage is from time periods of 1660-1851 covering poiltical, literary and social aspects of life in Britain, Europe and the United States, and as well as significant events elsewhere in the world.

Free online resourceRomantic Circles
A refereed scholarly Website devoted to the study of Romantic-period literature and culture. Includes study devoted to Lord Byron, Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, Percy Bysshe Shelley, John Keats and their contemporaries and historical contexts.

Free online resourceThe Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation
Based on the print version, this site provides commonsense on grammar and punctuation.

Free online resourceThe Ultimate Writer's Guide
A guide for writing essays that includes information about the easy structure, style and grammar.

Free online resourceVictorian Women Writers Project
Literary works of british women writers of the late 19th century, including their poetry, novels, chldren's books, political pamphlets; religius tracts, and essays. Full-text and images are included.

Free online resourceWired for books
Provides readings and interviews of literature and poetry, including some classics.

Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and StaffWomen Writers Online
Searchable, full-text digital archive of texts by pre-Victorian women writers (includes Renaissance Women Online).

Back to Subject Retriever
Have Questions?
Ask a Librarian

Research Help

Subject Guides

Research Guides & Tutorials

Ask a Librarian

Contact a Subject Librarian

Information Literacy

Glossary of Library Terms

FAQs